Faculty & Staff

Suzanne McCotter

Chair
 
Suzanne McCotter headshot Education — PhD, University of Georgia; MLS, Rutgers University; BA, Rutgers
Research/Interests — Instructional supervision, professional development, teacher reflection
Office — University Hall 3161
Phone — (973) 655-7216
Emailmccotters@mail.montclair.edu

Lucille A. Gesualdi

Department Administrator
 
No Photo Available

Education — MA Educational Leadership/Ed-Trainer

Office — University Hall 3165
Phone — (973) 655-6844
Emailgesualdil@mail.montclair.edu

Eunice Grippaldi

Program Administrator, Educational Leadership Programs
 
No Photo Available

Education — MA Educational Leadership

Office — University Hall 3194
Phone — (973) 655-7718
Emailgrippaldie@mail.montclair.edu

Kathleen M. Mangano

Clinical Specialist, Counseling Programs
 
No Photo Available

Education — MA Community Counseling

Office — University Hall 2170
Phone — (973) 655- 3455
Emailmanganok@mail.montclair.edu

Mary Andreoli

Department Secretary
 
No Photo Available
Office — University Hall 3162
Phone — (973) 655-7216
Emailandreolim@mail.montclair.edu

Kim Booth 

Program Assistant, PhD Counselor Education Program
 
No Photo Available
Office — University Hall 3162
Phone — (973) 655-3133
Emailboothk@mail.montclair.edu

Faculty

Muninder Kaur Ahluwalia

 
Muninder Kaur Ahluwalia headshot Education — PhD, New York University; MA, New York University; BA, New York University
Research/Interests — Multicultural counseling training, issues of identity and self among south asians, discrimination, and asian american women, and methodological issues in qualitative research
Office — University Hall 3185
Phone — (973) 655-7622
Emailahluwaliam@mail.montclair.edu

Vanessa Alleyne

 
Vanessa Alleyne headshot Education — PhD, Columbia University; MPhil, Columbia University; MEd, Harvard University; BS, Wheelock College
Research/Interests — Addiction treatment outcomes, multiculturalism and racial identity, group processes, forensic evaluation
Office — University Hall 3171
Phone — (973) 655-6996
Emailalleynev@mail.montclair.edu

Amanda Baden

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Michigan State University; MEd, University of Georgia; BA, Pennsylvania State University
Research/Interests — Multicultural counseling competence, racial and cultural identity, counseling adoption triad members, transracial/international adoption, licensed psychologist (NY)
Office — University Hall 3211
Phone — (973) 655-7336
Emailbadena@mail.montclair.edu

Katrina Bulkley

 
Katrina Bulkley headshot Education — PhD, Stanford University; MA, University of North Carolina; BA, Weslayan University
Research/Interests — School governance and school reform, charter schools and school privatization
Office — University Hall 3196
Phone — (973) 655-5189
Emailbulkleyk@mail.montclair.edu

Kathy A. Gainor

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Michigan State University; MA, Boston College; BA, Waynesburg College
Research/Interests — Multicultural and culturally responsive counseling practice, spirituality and counseling practice, career counseling and development, counselor training and pedagogy
Office — University Hall 3152
Phone — (973) 655-7186
Emailgainork@mail.montclair.edu

Denise Geier

 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, Rutgers University; MA, Georgian Court University; BA, Montclair State College
Research/Interests — Online courses, including Curriculum and Instructional Strategies, and Organizational Theory, Supervision, and Instruction, for several institutions
Office — University Hall 2201
Phone — (973) 655-7216
Emailgeierd@mail.montclair.edu

Harriet Glosoff

 
Harriet Glosoff headshot Education — PhD, American University; MA, University of Maryland-College Park; BA, State University of New York
Research/Interests — Professional ethics; Spirituality and cultural issues in counseling, supervision, and counselor education; Preparing counselors as social justice advocates; Best practices in counseling supervision
Office — University Hall 3189
Phone — (973) 655-3482
Emailglosoffh@mail.montclair.edu

Michael D. Hannon

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, The Pennsylvania State University; EdS, Rider University; MEd, University of Delaware; BS University of Delaware
Research/Interests — Wellness of racial/ethnic minority fathers and families of children with autism; urban school counseling
Office — University Hall Room 3190
Phone — (973) 655-7611
Emailhannonmi@mail.montclair.edu

Leslie Kooyman

 
Leslie Kooyman headshot Education — PhD, University of North Carolina, Charlotte; MA, University of North Carolina, Charlotte; BS, University of Santa Clara
Research/Interests — High-risk sexual behavior of gay men and men who have sex with men (MSM),HIV/AIDS prevention, gay men and aging, acculturative stress of international students, GLBT issues, counselor development
Office — University Hall 3213
Phone — (973) 655-7182
Emailkooymanl@mail.montclair.edu

Dana Heller Levitt

 
Dana Heller Levitt headshot Education — PhD, Counselor Education, University of Virginia; MEd, Counselor Education, University of Virginia; BA, Psychology, James Madison University
Research/Interests — Ethics, Religious/Cultural Issues in Counseling, Pedagogy, Counselor Education, Body Image/Eating Disorders, Gender Issues
Office — University Hall 3169
Phone — (973) 655-2097
Emaillevittd@mail.montclair.edu

Sandra Lopez-Baez

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Kent State University; MA, Marshall University; BA, University of Puerto Rico
Research/Interests — Diversity, multiculturalism, social justice, internationalization of the counseling profession, training mental health counselors globally
Office — University Hall, Room 3192
Phone — (973) 655-3186
Emaillopezbaezs@mail.montclair.edu

Kim O'Halloran

 
Kim O'Halloran headshot Education — PhD, New York University; MEd, Rutgers University; BA, Rutgers University
Research/Interests — Factors that facilitate undergraduate and graduate retention and persistence in higher education; organizational issues in higher education; college student learning and development; best practice in graduate preparation programs
Office — University Hall 3132
Phone — (973) 655-5168
Emailohallorank@mail.montclair.edu

Joseph Oluwole

 
Joseph Oluwole headshot Education — PhD, The Pennsylvania State University; JD, The Ohio State University; BA, Michigan State University
Research/Interests — Legal issues in public schools (including the constitutional and statutory rights of teachers, students and administrators; whistle blowing; educational equity and the law; the No Child Left Behind Act and ethics
Office — University Hall 3154
Phone — (973) 655-5406
Emailoluwolej@mail.montclair.edu

Gloria Pierce

 
Gloria Pierce headshot Education — EdD, Columbia University; MA, Teachers College; Columbia University; MA, Fairleigh Dickinson University; BA, Douglass College, Rutgers, The State University
Research/Interests — Holistic approaches to counseling, ecotherapy & ecofeminist therapy, gender/ women's issues, feminist counseling, feminist pedagogy, faculty development, organization development & management education; cultural analysis
Office — University Hall 3183
Phone — (973) 655-7185
Emailpierceg@mail.montclair.edu

Edina L. Renfro-Michel

 
Education — PhD Mississippi State University; MEd University of New Orleans; BA University of New Orleans
Research/Interests — Counselor supervision, adult child attachment, technology in counselor education
Office — University Hall 3215
Phone — (973) 655-5381
Emailrenfromichee@mail.montclair.edu

Angela I. Sheely-Moore

 
Angela Sheely-Moore headshot Education — PhD, University of North Texas; MA, University of North Carolina at Charlotte; BA, North Carolina Central University
Research/Interests — School counseling for economically disadvantaged children and their families, school-based play therapy and filial therapy, multicultural counseling
Office — University Hall 3158
Phone — (973) 655-7389
Emailsheelya@mail.montclair.edu

Matthew Shurts

 
Matthew Shurts headshot Education — PhD, MS, EdS, The University of North Carolina at Greensboro; BA, Wake Forest University
Research/Interests — Premarital and pre-union counseling, romantic relationship development, counselor education pedagogy Clinical Specializations: Include premarital and pre-union counseling, marriage and family counseling, emergency/crisis assessment
Office — University Hall 3230
Phone — (973) 655-7190
Emailshurtsm@mail.montclair.edu

Frances C. Stromsland

 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, Seton Hall University; EdM Rutgers University; BA Montclair State College
Research/Interests — Teaching and instructional practices that integrate purposeful digital curriculum tools, applications, and resources; ethically based service leadership training and support
Office — University Hall 2201
Phone — (973) 655-7486
Emailstromslandf@mail.montclair.edu

Emile Talarico

 
Emile Talarico photo Education — EdD, NOVA Southeastern University; MA, in Educational Supervision, Kean University; and BA, Teacher Certification, Monmouth College
Research/Interests — Curriculum and Instruction
Office — University Hall 2191
Phone — (973) 655-3207
Email talaricoe@mail.montclair.edu

Chris Torres

 
Education — PhD, New York Univeristy; MA, Mercy College; BA, Yale University
Research/Interests — Teacher Turnover, Charter Schools and “No Excuses” charter schools, Charter Management Organizations (CMOs), Clinical Practice in Teacher Education, Teacher Development, Professionalization of Teaching, Teachers’ Careers
Office — University Hall 3156
Phone — (973) 655-7402
Emailtorresch@mail.montclair.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email
Abruscato, Joseph jabrus3840@aol.com
Andrisani, Vito    andrisaniv@mail.montclair.edu
Carrick, Gayle carrickg@mail.montclair.edu
Carrigan, Michael carriganm@mail.montclair.edu
Coffin, Steven  coffins@mail.montclair.edu
Da Giau, Bette Bjdagiau@optonline.net
DiMezza, Linda   dimezzal@mail.montclair.edu
Falkenstein, Rick rickfalkenstein@gmail.com
Gambino, Tom gambinot@mail.montclair.edu
Grace, Thomas gracet@mail.montclair.edu
Jones, H.  joneshea@mail.montclair.edu
Johnson, Christine  johnsonch@mail.montclair.edu
Kanter, Randall kanterr@mail.montclair.edu
Lombardy, Robert lombardyr@mail.montclair.edu
Matteis, Charles matteisc@mail.montclair.edu
McClain, Gary mcclaing@mail.montclair.edu
Miskowicz, Susanne miskiewiczs@mail.montclair.edu
Notari, Cheryl notaric@mail.montclair.edu
Parmelee, Janet parmeleej@mail.montclair.edu
Plotts, Timothy plottst@mail.montclair.edu
Reynolds, Larrie   reynoldsl@mail.montclair.edu
Sampson, Charles sampsonc@mail.montclair.edu
Seidenfeld, Sue seidenfelds@mail.montclair.edu
Viglione, Vincent  viglionev@mail.montclair.edu