Faculty & Staff

Kathy A. Gainor
Interim Chair
973-655-7216
University Hall 3161
gainork@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Michigan State University; MA, Boston College; BA, Waynesburg College
Research/Interests: Multicultural and culturally responsive counseling practice, spirituality and counseling practice, career counseling and development, counselor training and pedagogy
Website: http://montclair.edu/~gainor

 

Lucille A. Gesualdi
Department Administrator
973-655-6844
University Hall 3165
gesualdil@mail.montclair.edu

Education: MA Educational Leadership/Ed-Trainer

 

Eunice Grippaldi
Program Administrator, Educational Leadership Programs
973-655-7718
University Hall 3194
grippaldie@mail.montclair.edu

Education: MA Educational Leadership

 

Kathleen M. Mangano
Clinical Specialist, Counseling Programs
973-655-3455
University Hall 2170
manganok@mail.montclair.edu

Education: MA Community Counseling

 

Mary Andreoli
Department Secretary
973-655-7216
University Hall 3162
andreolim@mail.montclair.edu

 

Susan Fuller
Program Assistant, PhD Counselor Education Program
973-655-3133
University Hall 3189
fullersu@mail.montclair.edu

 

Faculty

Muninder Kaur Ahluwalia headshot

Muninder Kaur Ahluwalia
973-655-7622
University Hall 3185
ahluwaliam@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, New York University; MA, New York University; BA, New York University
Research/Interests: Multicultural counseling training, issues of identity and self amont south Asians, discrimination, and Asian American women, and methodological issues in qualitative research

 

Vanessa Alleyne headshot

Vanessa Alleyne
973-655-6996
University Hall 3171 
alleynev@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Columbia University; MPhil, Columbia University; MEd, Harvard University; BS, Wheelock College
Research/Interests: Addiction treatment outcomes, multiculturalism and racial identity, group processes, forensic evaluation

 

Amanda Baden
973-655-7336
University Hall 3211
badena@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Michigan State University; MEd, University of Georgia; BA, Pennsylvania State University
Research/Interests: Multicultural counseling competence, racial and cultural identity, counseling adoption triad members, transracial/international adoption, licensed psychologist (NY)

 

Katrina Bulkley headshot

Katrina Bulkley
973-655-5189
University Hall 3196 
bulkleyk@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Stanford University; MA, University of North Carolina; BA, Weslayan University
Research/Interests: School governance and school reform, charter schools and school privatization

 

Denise Geier
973-655-7216
University Hall 2201
geierd@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Rutgers University; MA, Georgian Court University; BA, Montclair State College
Research/Interests: Online courses, including Curriculum and Instructional Strategies, and Organizational Theory, Supervision, and Instruction, for several institutions

 

Harriet Glosoff headshot

Harriet Glosoff
973-655-3482
University Hall 3189 
glosoffh@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, American University; MA, University of Maryland-College Park; BA, State University of New York
Research/Interests: Professional ethics; Spirituality and cultural issues in counseling, supervision, and counselor education; Preparing counselors as social justice advocates; Best practices in counseling supervision

 

Michael D. Hannon
973-655-7611
University Hall 3190 
hannonmi@mail.montclair.edu

Education: PhD, The Pennsylvania State University; EdS, Rider University; MEd, University of Delaware; BS University of Delaware
Research/Interests: Wellness of racial/ethnic minority fathers and families of children with autism; urban school counseling

 

Leslie Kooyman headshot

Leslie Kooyman
973-655-7186
University Hall 3213 
kooymanl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, University of North Carolina, Charlotte; MA, University of North Carolina, Charlotte; BS, University of Santa Clara
Research/Interests: High-risk sexual behavior of gay men and men who have sex with men (MSM),HIV/AIDS prevention, gay men and aging, acculturative stress of international students, GLBT issues, counselor developmen

 

Dana Heller Levitt headshot

Dana Heller Levitt
973-655-2097
University Hall 3169
levittd@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Counselor Education, University of Virginia; MEd, Counselor Education, University of Virginia; BA, Psychology, James Madison University
Research/Interests: Ethics, Religious/Cultural Issues in Counseling, Pedagogy, Counselor Education, Body Image/Eating Disorders, Gender Issues

 

Sandra Lopez-Baez
973-655-3186
University Hall 3192 
lopezbaezs@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Kent State University; MA, Marshall University; BA, University of Puerto Rico
Research/Interests: Diversity, Multiculturalism, Social justice, Internationalization of the Counseling Profession, Training of Mental Health Counselors globally

 

Suzanne McCotter
973-655-3096
University Hall 3143 
mccotters@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, University of Georgia; MLS, Rutgers University; BA, Rutgers
Research/Interests: Instructional supervision, professional development, teacher reflection

 

Kim O'Halloran
973-655-5168
University Hall 3132
ohallorank@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, New York University; MEd, Rutgers University; BA, Rutgers University
Research/Interests: Factors that facilitate undergraduate and graduate retention and persistence in higher education; organizational issues in higher education; college student learning and development; best practice in graduate preparation programs

 

Joseph Oluwole headshot

Joseph Oluwole
973-655-5406
University Hall 3154
oluwolej@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, The Pennsylvania State University; JD, The Ohio State University; BA, Michigan State University
Research/Interests: Legal issues in public schools (including the constitutional and statutory rights of teachers, students and administrators; whistle blowing; educational equity and the law; the No Child Left Behind Act and ethics

 

Gloria Pierce headshot

Gloria Pierce
973-655-7185
University Hall 3183
pierceg@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Columbia University; MA, Teachers College; Columbia University; MA, Fairleigh Dickinson University; BA, Douglass College, Rutgers, The State University
Research/Interests: Holistic approaches to counseling, ecotherapy & ecofeminist therapy, gender/ women's issues, feminist counseling, feminist pedagogy, faculty development, organization development & management education; cultural analysis

 

 

Edina L. Renfro-Michel
973-655-5381
University Hall 3215 
renfromichee@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD Mississippi State University; MEd University of New Orleans; BA University of New Orleans
Research/Interests: Counselor supervision, adult child attachment, technology in counselor education

 

Angela Sheely-Moore headshot

Angela I. Sheely-Moore
973-655-7389
University Hall 3158 
sheelya@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, University of North Texas; MA, University of North Carolina at Charlotte; BA, North Carolina Central University
Research/Interests: School counseling for economically disadvantaged children and their families, school-based play therapy and filial therapy, multicultural counseling

 

Matthew Shurts headshot

Matthew Shurts
973-655-7190
University Hall 3230
shurtsm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, MS, EdS, The University of North Carolina at Greensboro; BA, Wake Forest University
Research/Interests: Premarital and pre-union counseling, romantic relationship development, counselor education pedagogy Clinical Specializations: Include premarital and pre-union counseling, marriage and family counseling, emergency/crisis assessment

 

Frances C. Stromsland
973-655-7486
University Hall 2201 
stromslandf@mail.montclair.edu

Education: EdD, Seton Hall University; EdM Rutgers University; BA Montclair State College
Research/Interests: Teaching and instructional practices that integrate purposeful digital curriculum tools, applications, and resources; ethically based service leadership training and support

 

Emile Talarico photo

Emile Talarico
973-655-3207
University Hall 2191 
talaricoe@mail.montclair.edu

Education: EdD, NOVA Southeastern University; MA, in Educational Supervision, Kean University; and BA, Teacher Certification, Monmouth College
Research/Interests: Curriculum and Instruction

 

Chris Torres
973-655-7402
University Hall 3156
torresch@mail.montclair.edu

Education: PhD, New York Univeristy; MA, Mercy College; BA, Yale University
Research/Interests: Teacher Turnover, Charter Schools and “No Excuses” charter schools, Charter Management Organizations (CMOs), Clinical Practice in Teacher Education, Teacher Development, Professionalization of Teaching, Teachers’ Careers

 

Specialists

Denise B. Geier
Instructional Specialist
973-655-7216
University Hall
geierd@mail.montclair.edu

Education: EdD, Rutgers University

Kathleen Mary Mangano
Clinical Specialist
973-655-3455
University Hall
manganok@mail.montclair.edu

Education: MA, Montclair State University; BS, Montclair State University

 

Frances C. Stromsland
Instructional Specialist
973-655-7216
University Hall 
stromslandf@mail.montclair.edu

Education: EdD, Seton Hall University; EdM, Rutgers University; BA, Montclair State College

 

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email
Abruscato, Joseph jabrus3840@aol.com
Andrisani, Vito    andrisaniv@mail.montclair.edu
Carrick, Gayle carrickg@mail.montclair.edu
Carrigan, Michael carriganm@mail.montclair.edu
Coffin, Steven  coffins@mail.montclair.edu
Da Giau, Bette Bjdagiau@optonline.net
DiMezza, Linda   dimezzal@mail.montclair.edu
Falkenstein, Rick rickfalkenstein@gmail.com
Gambino, Tom gambinot@mail.montclair.edu
Grace, Thomas gracet@mail.montclair.edu
Jones, H.  joneshea@mail.montclair.edu
Johnson, Christine  johnsonch@mail.montclair.edu
Kanter, Randall kanterr@mail.montclair.edu
Lombardy, Robert lombardyr@mail.montclair.edu
Matteis, Charles matteisc@mail.montclair.edu
McClain, Gary mcclaing@mail.montclair.edu
Miskowicz, Susanne miskiewiczs@mail.montclair.edu
Notari, Cheryl notaric@mail.montclair.edu
Parmelee, Janet parmeleej@mail.montclair.edu
Plotts, Timothy plottst@mail.montclair.edu
Reynolds, Larrie   reynoldsl@mail.montclair.edu
Sampson, Charles sampsonc@mail.montclair.edu
Seidenfeld, Sue seidenfelds@mail.montclair.edu
Viglione, Vincent  viglionev@mail.montclair.edu