Faculty & Staff

Department Chair

 

Amanda Birnbaum
Chair
973-655-4154
University Hall 4161
birnbauma@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Minnesota; MPH, Columbia University; BA, University of Bridgeport
Research/Interests: Adolescent health promotion interventions, social environmental aspects of adolescent physical activity and eating patterns, girls' health, and behavioral epidemiology

 

Staff

Ann Schurmann
Department Administrator
973-655-7681
University Hall 4159 
schurmanna@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: MPH, Columbia University; BA Boston University



Barbara May-Hyzer headshot

Barbara May-Hyzer
Lab Coordinator
973-655-4130
University Hall 4163 
hyzerb@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: MA, New York University; BA, Mercyhurst College



Claudia Guy headshot

Claudia Guy
973-655-4154
University Hall 4162
guyc@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

 

Faculty

Ndidi N. Amutah
973-655-4400
University Hall 4192 
amutahn@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD University of Maryland, College Park; MPH The George Washington University, BS Rutgers, The State University of NJ
Research/Interests: Community based participatory research, health disparities, the impact of stress and racism on infant mortality, low birth weight and preterm birth in women of color, HIV/AIDS, the social determinants of health.

 

Yeon Bai headshot

Yeon Bai
973-655-3220
University Hall 4026
baiy@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Indiana University; MS, Eastern Michigan University; BS, Seoul National University
Research/Interests: Nutrition and breast cancer education, nutrition counseling

 

Kathleen Bauer
973-655-7155
University Hall 4020 
bauerk@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, MS, Rutgers, The State University; BS, Northern Illinois University
Research/Interests: Nutrition and breast cancer education, nutrition counseling

 

Mary Jo Belenski headshot

Mary Jo Belenski
973-655-7122
University Hall 4157
belenskim@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, EdM, Rutgers, The State University; BA, Fairleigh Dickinson University
Research/Interests: Allied health professions, dental health education, curriculum development and student internship programs

 

Renata Blumberg
973-655-3428
University Hall 4012
blumbergr@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: B.A., Columbia College, Columbia University; M.A., University of California, Davis; Ph.D., University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Research/Interests: Interdisciplinary and international perspective on food systems and sustainability

 

Lauren Dinour
973-655-5395
University Hall 4107
dinourl@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: PhD, The Graduate Center, City University of New York; MPH, Hunter College, City University of New York; BS, Cornell University
Research/Interests: State-level school food legislation, nutrition-related policies, nutritional sciences

 

Joseph Donnelly
973-655-7119
University Hall 4166 
donnellyj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Southern Illinois; MS, Southern Illinois; BS, Southern Illinois
Research/Interests: Aspect of prevention & program planning within alcohol and substance abuse, stress reduction as it scientifically relates within health education

 

Charles Feldman
973-655-6987
University Hall 4016
feldmanc@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, MA, BA, New York University
Research/Interests: Ancient food studies, Food transformation, Status and performance

 

Joan C. Ficke
973-655-6987
University Hall 4016
fickej@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, MA, New York University; BA, Montclair State University
Research/Interests: Health policy, health counseling, health education, and women's health issues

 

Eva Goldfarb
973-655-7116
University Hall 4175 
goldfarbe@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Pennsylvania; MA, University of Pennsylvania; BA, Trinity College
Research/Interests: Human sexuality, curriculum development and program evaluation

 

Mark Kaelin headshot

Mark Kaelin
973-655-7123
University Hall 4201 
kaelinm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, BA, Montclair State University
Research/Interests: Epidemiology education

 

Lisa D. Lieberman headshot

Lisa D. Lieberman
973-655-5179
University Hall 4203 
liebermanl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD University of Michigan; MA Kent State University; BA Kent State University
Research/Interests: Program development and evaluation in adolescent risk reduction; teen pregnancy and HIV prevention; maternal/child health; tobacco control

 

Doreen Liou headshot

Doreen Liou
973-655-4416
University Hall 4022
lioud@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, MEd, MS, Columbia University; BS, New York University
Research/Interests: Psychosocial theories in health behavior, nutrition education

 

Meena Mahadevan
973-655-7574
University Hall 4173
mahadevanm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, The Pennsylvania State University; MHE, University of Georgia
Research/Interests: Nutritional Aspects of Substance Abuse and HIV/AIDS, Dietary Acculturation

 

Douglas Murray
973-655-7642
University Hall 4207
murraydo@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD., MS, Auburn University; BS, City University of Seattle; AOS, Culinary Institute of America
Research/Interests: Sustainable food production and foodservice operations, food saftey, quality management, and customer satisfaction

 

Stephanie A. N. Silvera
973-655-2125
University Hall 4171 
silveras@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Yale University; MS, Rutgers University; BA, Rutgers College
Research/Interests: Cancer epidemiology, specifically diet and lifestyle as risk factors for cancer, with a focus on racial/ethnic disparities in cancer outcomes

 

John J. Specchio
973-655-5291
University Hall 4014 
specchioj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, MS, BS, Rutgers, The State University
Research/Interests: Food safety, food packaging, food analysis for contaminants

 

Shahla Wunderlich headshot

Shahla M. Wunderlich
973-655-4373
University Hall 4018
wunderlichs@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; MS, American University of Beirut (Lebanon); BS, Pahlavi University (Iran)
Research/Interests: Clinical nutrition assessment of older adults, maternal/child nutrition, global food studies and eating behaviors. nutrition and aging

 

Specialists 

Kurt Conklin
973-655-4154
University Hall 4162
conklink@mail.montclair.edu

 

Education: MPH, Temple University; MA, Temple University; BA, SUNY New Paltz

 

Melanie Shefchik
973-655-3257
University Hall 4153 
shefchikm@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: MA, Montclair State University; BS, Montclair State University
Research/Interests: Public health educator that represents the public health program at events on and off-campus