Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

 

Amanda Birnbaum
Chair
973-655-4154
University Hall 4161
birnbauma@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Minnesota; MPH, Columbia University; BA, University of Bridgeport
Research/Interests: Adolescent health promotion interventions, social environmental aspects of adolescent physical activity and eating patterns, girls' health, and behavioral epidemiology

 

Staff

Ann Schurmann
Department Administrator
973-655-7681
University Hall 4159 
schurmanna@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: MPH, Columbia University; BA Boston University

 

Claudia Guy headshot

Claudia Guy
973-655-4154
University Hall 4162
guyc@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

 

Faculty

Joseph Donnelly
973-655-7119
University Hall 4166 
donnellyj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Southern Illinois; MS, Southern Illinois; BS, Southern Illinois
Research/Interests: Aspect of prevention & program planning within alcohol and substance abuse, stress reduction as it scientifically relates within health education

 

Joan C. Ficke
973-655-6987
University Hall 4016
fickej@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, MA, New York University; BA, Montclair State University
Research/Interests: Health policy, health counseling, health education, and women's health issues

 

Eva Goldfarb
973-655-7116
University Hall 4175 
goldfarbe@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Pennsylvania; MA, University of Pennsylvania; BA, Trinity College
Research/Interests: Human sexuality, curriculum development and program evaluation

 

Hannah Helmy
973-655-3754
University Hall 4153
helmyh@montclair.edu
Profile Page

 

Education: PhD, University of South Florida; MPH, University of South Florida; BA, Miami University 
Research/Interests: Sexual and reproductive health inequities, particularly among youth; structural vulnerability, risk, and health; reproductive governance; family planning service delivery, workforce sustainability, and diversity

 

Mary Jo Belenski headshot

Mary Jo John
973-655-7122
University Hall 4157
belenskim@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, EdM, Rutgers, The State University; BA, Fairleigh Dickinson University
Research/Interests: Allied health professions, dental health education, curriculum development and student internship programs

 

Lisa D. Lieberman headshot

Lisa D. Lieberman
973-655-5179
University Hall 4203 
liebermanl@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD University of Michigan; MA Kent State University; BA Kent State University
Research/Interests: Program development and evaluation in adolescent risk reduction; teen pregnancy and HIV prevention; maternal/child health; tobacco control

 

Stephanie A. N. Silvera
973-655-2125
University Hall 4171 
silveras@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Yale University; MS, Rutgers University; BA, Rutgers College
Research/Interests: Cancer epidemiology, specifically diet and lifestyle as risk factors for cancer, with a focus on racial/ethnic disparities in cancer outcomes

 

Specialists 

Kurt Conklin
973-655-4154
University Hall 4162
conklink@mail.montclair.edu

 

Education: MPH, Temple University; MA, Temple University; BA, SUNY New Paltz Research/Interests: Human sexuality, history of sexuality education in U.S. public schools, immigrant health, health-promoting transportation alternatives to automobiles. 

 

Melanie Shefchik
973-655-3257
University Hall 4153 
shefchikm@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: MA, Montclair State University; BS, Montclair State University;AS, Nursing, SUNY Rockland
Research/Interests: Health Education, Chronic Disease Prevention, Breastfeeding Support and Promotion, Public Health Nutrition, and Worksite Wellness Interventions

Adjunct Faculty

  • Madeleine Halter
  • Jonathan Moss
  • Tyree Oredein
  • Melanie Croce-Galis
  • Kathleen Skrobala
  • Phoebe Farber
  • John Biegel
  • Jeffrey Issler
  • Jody Inglis
  • Joshua Klein
  • Ryan McKee
  • Danielle Lawrence
  • Dawn Diamond
  • Wendy Kerr
  • Andriana Herrera
  • Kristen Henry
  • Timothy Purnell
  • Nora Gelperin
  • Elizabeth Riggs
  • Carrie Carpenter
  • Danielle Fabrizio
  • Rachel Nahan