Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

The Department of Sociology has eight full-time faculty members and a number of affiliated faculty from diverse backgrounds as well as varied areas of expertise.

 

Jay Livingston headshot   Jay Livingston
Professor and Chair
Ph.D. (Psychology and Social Relations), Harvard University
Interests: Culture; Social Psychology; Crime and Deviance
303 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-4131; livingstonj@mail.montclair.edu
 Yasemin Besen-Cassino headshot Yasemin Besen-Cassino
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Sociology), State University of New York, Stony Brook
Interests: Work and Labor; Youth; Gender; Quantitative Methodology; Ethnography
305 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7229; beseny@mail.montclair.edu
Christopher Donoghue
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Sociology), Fordham University, New York
Interests: Ethnic and Racial Prejudice; Social Psychology of Education, Aging and Health
312 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7227; donoghuec@mail.montclair.edu
 Benjamin Hadis headshot Benjamin F. Hadis
Professor and Director, Minor in International Studies
Ph.D. (Sociology), University of California, Los Angeles
Interests: Development/Globalization; Population; Theory; Race and Ethnicity; Methods
306 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7276; hadisb@mail.montclair.edu
Marietta Morrissey headshot   Marietta Morrissey
Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Ph.D. (Sociology), Michigan State University
Interests: State and Economic Development in Latin America and the Caribbean
401 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-4314; morrisseym@mail.montclair.edu
  Sangeeta Parashar
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Sociology), University of Maryland, College Park
Interests: Demography; Development/Globalization; Sociology of Health
310 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7168; parashars@mail.montclair.edu
 Janet Ruane headshot Janet Ruane
Professor
Ph.D. (Sociology), Rutgers University
Interests: Research Methods; Popular Culture; Applied Sociologyy; Deviance and Social Control
309 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7169; ruanej@mail.montclair.edu
  Vikash Singh
Assistant Professor
Ph. D. (Sociology), Rutgers University
Interests: Theory; Cultural Sociology; Sociology of Religion; Globalization
309 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-5263; singhv@mail.montclair.edu
Yong Wang headshot   Yong Wang
Associate Professor
Ph. D. (Sociology), Iowa State University
Interests: Theory; Cultural Sociology; Text Analysis; Statistics
311 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7170; wangy@mail.montclair.edu
Gilbert Zicklin headshot   Gilbert Zicklin
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Sociology), University of California, Davis
Interests: Sexuality; Family; LGBTQ Studies
313 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-4168; zickling@mail.montclair.edu