Skip to Content

commencement demo page

Important Dates

Sunday, January 1

Wednesday, April 5

Thursday, April 27

  • Deadline to register to participate in the Commencement Ceremony: marchingorder.com/graduate/grad_login.asp
  • 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.
    Graduate Fair and cap/gown pick up (excludes doctoral students) – Student Center Ballroom

Friday, April 28

  • 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    Graduate Fair and cap/gown pick up (excludes doctoral students) – Student Center Ballroom

Monday, May 8

Tuesday May 9 – Friday, May 19

Commencement Ceremony name pronunciation card and ticket pick up – Graduate School, 4th Floor

Tuesday, May 9: 8:30am-8:00 pm Monday, May 15: 8:30 am-6:00 pm
Wednesday, May 10: 8:30 am-4:30 pm Tuesday, May 16: 8:30 am-4:30 pm
Thursday, May 11: 8:30 am-6:00 pm Wednesday, May 17: 8:30 am-6:00 pm
Friday, May 12: 8:30 am-4:30 pm Thursday, May 18 & Friday, May 19: 8:30 am-4:30 pm

Monday, May 22

Commencement Ceremony – New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Newark N.J.

  • Student line-up start time: 5:30 p.m.
  • Ceremony start time: 7 p.m.

Important Reminders

  • Remember—to bring your regalia and reader card with you.
  • Attire—Wear flat and comfortable shoes.
  • Travel Advisory—Anticipate heavy traffic into Newark, so plan accordingly for arrival to the venue no later than 5:30 p.m.
  • Coats—There will/will not be a coat check available when you check in.
  • Meeting location—Prior to the ceremony, plan where you and your guests will meet after the event. The ceremony will last approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes.
  • Never leave your belongings unattended.
  • Please turn off all electronic devices during the ceremony.
  • Please do not bring food or beverages into the theater.
  • Please be courteous and do not leave the theater until the ceremony is completed.

Tickets

New Jersey Performing Arts Center requires all guests to have tickets to enter, including infants and children. Guests will not be permitted to enter NJPAC without a ticket. Each graduate student will be able to obtain up to three tickets for the Commencement Ceremony with the possibility of receiving a fourth ticket if registration and space allows. Graduates do not need a ticket.