Students programming in Scratch

Staff Directory

Full Time Faculty

George Antoniou

George Antoniou
Professor
Richardson Hall
antonioug@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4250

Research Interests

Electrical and Computer Engineering (Digital Signal and Image Processing, Control Systems, Digital Systems)

James Benham

James Benham
Associate Professor
Richardson Hall
benhamj@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7249

Research Interests

Compiler Construction and Theory; Object-Oriented Software Development; Encryption and data security

Constantine Coutras

Constantine Coutras
Chairperson
Richardson Hall
coutrasc@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7239

Research Interests

Computer Networking; Performance evaluation of Computer Communication protocols; Wireless Networks; Network Security; Computer Science Education

Boxiang Dong

Boxiang Dong
Assistant Professor
dongb@mail.montclair.edu

Research Interests

Data mining and cybersecurity

Anna Feldman

Anna Feldman
Professor
Conrad J. Schmitt Hall 240B
feldmana@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7500

Katherine Herbert

Katherine Herbert
Associate Professor
Richardson Hall
herbertk@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-5398

Research Interests

Bioinformatics; Data Quality; Data Cleaning; Data Integration; Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery; Information Retrieval

H Mark Hubey

H Mark Hubey
Professor
Richardson Hall
hubeyh@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-5269

Research Interests

Mathematical Epistemology; Signal-Data-Information-Knowledge-Intelligence; Testing of Knowledge: Competence via Performance; Metrics for Measuring Knowledge; Information Quality; Knowledge Quality, Information Retrieval, Similarity Measures, Concepts; Mathematical and Computational Linguistics; Mathematical Ethics;

John Jenq

John Jenq
Associate Professor
Richardson Hall
jenqj@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7237

Research Interests

Parallel processing ; Computational finance; Intelligent web-base systems ; Scientific computation with AI approaches

Hubert Johnson

Hubert Johnson
Associate Professor
Richardson Hall
johnsonh@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7238

Research Interests

Software Engineering

Christopher Leberknight

Christopher Leberknight
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Richardson Hall
leberknightc@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-3204

Dawei Li
Assistant Professor
lida@mail.montclair.edu

Ali Moghani
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
moghania@mail.montclair.edu

Jing Peng

Jing Peng
Professor
Richardson Hall
pengj@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7975

Research Interests

Reinforcement learning and its applications to control and multi-agent systems where my doctoral studies originated. In general terms, reinforcement learning is concerned with computational approaches to learning from reward. Here I consider how a learning agent can learn as quickly as possible from limited interaction with other agents and its environment. ; Image retrieval, in particular content-based retrieval where I consider indexing schemes that allow flexible retrieval metrics to be created on the fly so that very large databases can be accessed efficiently and accurately. ; Classification and data mining, where I am particularly interested in adaptive metric nearest-neighbor techniques and compact subspace representation for building robust classifiers from limited training data.

Stefan Robila

Stefan Robila
Professor
Richardson Hall
robilas@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4230

Research Interests

Remote Sensing; Hyperspectral Sensors and Data; Computer Security; Distributed Processing of Remote Sensed Data; Information Hiding in Images; Information Assurance; Energy Efficiency in Data Centers; Computational Sensing;

Bharath Kumar Samanthula

Bharath Kumar Samanthula
Assistant Professor
Richardson Hall
samanthulab@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-5161

Research Interests

Information Security; Personal Privacy; Applied Cryptography; Cloud Computing; Big Data Analytics;

Aparna Varde

Aparna Varde
Associate Professor
Richardson Hall
vardea@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4292

Research Interests

Data Mining – Scientific Data Mining, Text Mining, Cloud Mining, Big Data Analytics; Artificial Intelligence – Machine Learning, Decision Support, Cloud Intelligence; Database Systems – Web Databases, Spatial Data Management, Cloud Data Processing ; Environmental Management (Doctoral Program) – Green IT, Sustainability, Geo-informatics

Dajin Wang

Dajin Wang
Professor
Richardson Hall
wangd@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7615

Research Interests

Interconnection Networks; Fault-tolerant Computing; Parallel and Distributed Computing; Wireless Mobile and Sensor Networks; Algorithmic Robotics

Jiayin Wang

Jiayin Wang
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
wangji@mail.montclair.edu

Research Interests

Her research interests include big data, cloud computing, mobile computing, and wireless networks. She is working on resource management scheduling and performance evaluation in big data computing systems.

Michelle Zhu

Michelle Zhu
Professor
Richardson Hall 309
zhumi@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4289

Research Interests

Parallel and Distributed Computing (MPI, OpenMP, OpenACC and CUDA GPU), Distributed Systems, Software Engineering, Computational Statistics with R, Data Structure, Operating System, Scientific Visualization, Computer Architecture

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email Office
Olaide Agboola agboolao@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Katsiaryna Aharodnik aharodnikk@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Yuksel Aslandogan aslandogany@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Tamer Avcilar avcilart@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Edward Banduk banduke@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Gary Buhler buhlerg@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Lihua Gu gul@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Katrina Kao kaok@mail.montclair.edu RICH 323
Igor Kaplun kapluni@mail.montclair.edu N/A
James Kennedy kennedyja@mail.montclair.edu RICH 301
Minas Kousoulis kousoulism@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Chon Lintakoon lintakoonc@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Keith Lisa lisak@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Lukasz Maciak maciakl@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Richard Myers myersr@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Charles Njogu njoguc@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Farshad Ravanshad ravanshadf@mail.montclair.edu N/A
James Williams Jr. williamsj@mail.montclair.edu RICH 322
Wei Zhang zhangw@mail.montclair.edu N/A

Staff

Name Email Office Ext
Dr. Carl Bredlau
Professor Emeritus
bredlauc@mail.montclair.edu RICH 301 N/A
Susan Brunda
Secretarial Assistant III
brundas@mail.montclair.edu RICH N/A
Herman Dolezal
Instructional Specialist
dolezalh@mail.montclair.edu RICH 7248
Angela Pena
Department Administrator
penaan@mail.montclair.edu RICH 7796
Joseph Youn
Director of Computer Operations for Research and Education
younj@mail.montclair.edu RICH 110 5414