University Holidays

HolidayDate
Labor Day Monday, September 4, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23, 2017
Holiday Closing* Friday, November 24, 2017
Holiday Closing* Monday, December 25, 2017 - Monday, January 1, 2018
Martin Luther King's Birthday Monday, January 15, 2018
President's Day** Monday, February 19, 2018
Good Friday Friday, March 30, 2018
Memorial Day Monday, May 28, 2018
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4, 2018

*Holiday Closings

The Holiday Closing includes the day after Thanksgiving and, for the winter break, begins Monday, December 25, 2017, and continues through Monday, January 2, 2018. Included in that period are the Christmas Day and New Year’s Day holidays which are celebrated on December 25 and January 1 respectively.

For CWA and AFT bargaining unit employees, the remaining four days plus the day after Thanksgiving are covered by compensatory time credit earned for work on State holidays and use of other appropriate leave balances.

For CWA, those holidays include:

  • Columbus Day (October 9, 2017)
  • Election Day (November 7, 2017)
  • Veterans’ Day (Observed November 10, 2017)

CWA Holiday Agreement 2017

For AFT, required work on two holidays from the following list:

  • Columbus Day (October 9, 2017)
  • Election Day (November 7, 2017)
  • Veterans’ Day (Observed November 10, 2017)
  • Martin Luther King’s Birthday (For AFT Library employees only) (Januray 15, 2018)
  • Presidents’ Day (February 19, 2018)

AFT Holiday Agreement 2017

Also, three additional days covered by provisions of the Statewide Agreement, including work on additional holidays, or by applying other appropriate earned leave balances exclusive of sick leave.

**Presidents' Day

University classes will be held on this holiday, as is the case with Columbus Day, Election Day, and Veterans’ Day. These are work days for all managers. Arrangements will be made to provide other essential services on these days.