Skip to Content
Photo of folliage on campus in fall.

Affiliate Faculty

Photo of Cary Federman

Cary Federman
Associate Professor, Department of Justice Studies
Ph.D. (Political Science), The University of Virginia
Research Interests: Law and Psychiatry, capital punishment, prisons, serial killers

Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7966; federmanc@mail.montclair.edu

Photo of Benjamin Hadis

Benjamin Hadis
Professor, Department of Sociology
Ph.D. (Sociology), University of California, Los Angeles
Research Interests: Development/Globalization; Population; Theory; Race and Ethnicity; Methods

306 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7276; hadisb@mail.montclair.edu

Headshot of Arnaud Kurze, faculty member.

Arnaud Kurze
Assistant Professor, Department of Justice Studies
Ph.D. (Political Science), George Mason University
Research Interests: Transitional Justice, Social Movements and Human Rights

Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7960; kurzea@mail.montclair.edu

Photo of Pankaj Lal

Pankaj Lal
Associate Professor, Earth and Environmental Studies
Ph.D. (Forest Economics and Policy), University of Florida, Gainesville FL
Research Interests: Environmental Economics and Policy, Bioenergy, Climate Change, Modeling and Analysis of Forest and Agriculture Markets, Collective Resource Management and Conservation 

Center for Life and Environmental Sciences; (973) 655-3137; lalp@mail.montclair.edu

Photo of Zsolt Nyiri

Zsolt Nyiri
Assistant Professor, Political Science and Law
Ph.D., University Connecticut
Research Interests: European Politics, Public Opinion, Transatlantic Relations, Public Diplomacy, Muslims in the West, Global Governance

Dickson Hall; (973) 655-4238; nyiriz@mail.montclair.edu

Photo of Sangeeta Parashar

Sangeeta Parashar
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology
Ph.D. (Sociology), University of Maryland, College Park
Research Interests: Social Demography; Development/Globalization; Gender, Health and Population Policy; Methods

310 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7168; parashars@mail.montclair.edu

Luis San Vicente Portes
Professor, Department of Economics
Ph.D. (Economics), Georgetown University
Research Interests: Macroeconomics, International Economics, Business cycles, Inequality, Migration, Remittances.

Feliciano School of Business; (973) 655-2126; portesl@mail.montclair.edu

Photo of Tony Spanakos

Tony Spanakos
Chair, Political Science & Law
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Research Interests: Brazil, Venezuela, BRICS, Comparative Politics, Political Economy, Populism, Democratization, Security, Foreign Policies of Developing Countries, Political Theory

Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7575; spanakost@mail.montclair.edu

Maisa Taha
Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology
Ph.D. (Linguistic Anthropology), The University of Arizona
Research Interests: Language and power, migration and multicultural politics, and discourses of diversity

Dickson Hall; (973) 655-4119; taham@mail.montclair.edu

Photo of Neeraj Vedwan

Neeraj Vedwan
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
PhD, University of Georgia; BA: National Dairy Research Institute (India)
Office: 141 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7503;vedwann@mail.montclair.edu

Photo of Yong Wang

Yong Wang
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology
Ph. D. (Sociology), Iowa State University
Research Interests: Theory; Cultural Sociology; Text Analysis; Statistics
311 Dickson Hall; (973) 655-7170; wangy@mail.montclair.edu