Broadcaster of the Year Award Goes to N.J. Burkett

Veteran WABC-TV news correspondent receives the DuMont Television Center’s award for significant contributions to broadcasting

Broadcasting professor Marc Rosenweig (left), along with College of the Arts Dean Geoffrey Newman (right) present WABC-TV News Correspondent N.J. Burkett with the 2008 Allen B. DuMont Broadcaster of the Year Award.

Award-winning WABC-TV news correspondent N.J. Burkett received The Allen B. DuMont Broadcaster of the Year Award at a ceremony held at the Center on October 3, 2008. The Broadcaster of the Year Award is given to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the field of broadcasting.

A New Jersey native, Burkett is celebrating his 20th year at WABC-TV as a member of the Eyewitness News Team. His distinctive storytelling, production skills and award-winning foreign reporting have added a unique dimension to WABC-TV's coverage of metropolitan New York.

Over his 25 year career, Burkett has reported on stories ranging from the Iraq War and the ongoing battles between Israel and the Palestinians to natural disasters, race relations and police misconduct. Burkett shared the George Foster Peabody Award and the Alfred I. duPont Award with his colleagues at ABC News for coverage of the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. Burkett broke the biggest story of 2007 in New York when he was the first to report that three police officers had been indicted in the fatal shooting of unarmed motorist Sean Bell.

Established in 1985, the Broadcaster of the Year Award has honored noted individuals in the field such as Fox News Chairman Roger Ailes, Roz Abrams, formerly of Eyewitness News and Bob McGrath of Sesame Street. The selection of candidates is based on recommendations by faculty and staff of the Department of Broadcasting and the DuMont Television Center.

Watch the special edition of Carpe Diem featuring an interview with N.J. Burkett.