Montclair State University Presents First Theatre Night Awards

Presenters Include Stars of Broadway and TV and Alumni of Montclair State

Montclair, New Jersey --- The Golden Globes played second fiddle to the first Theatre Night Awards held on Friday, January 9 at Montclair State University. More than 500 students, teachers, and family members were in attendance to see 25 awards presented to high school non-musical plays for outstanding achievement in all areas of theatre production.

Award presenters included award-winning actors Jordan Baker, Elaine Bromka, and Frankie Faison, producers Jane Mandel and Dan Whitten, and several Montclair State alumni who are working professionals. The event was emceed by author and Montclair State Distinguished Visiting Professor Neil Baldwin.

Thirty schools from all over New Jersey participated in the event by submitting DVDs of 2008 productions that were evaluated by committees of Montclair State theatre majors, alumni and faculty.

Nominated high school students performed "memorable moments" from their productions. Montclair State students and alumni also provided musical entertainment and comic sketches.

Among the winners:
Outstanding Production of a Classic Winner: Hoboken High School, The Odyssey

Outstanding Production of a Modern Play Winner: Summit High School, The Laramie Project

Outstanding Production of a Comedy Winner: Passaic Valley High School, Moon Over Buffalo

Outstanding Production of a Drama Winners: St. Joseph's Regional High School, The Crucible and Pt. Pleasant High School, The Crucible

Outstanding Overall Production Winner: Hoboken High School, The Odyssey

Released: January 14, 2009