CART co-sponsors Pulitzer Prize winning author Junot Diaz for a literary reading

Junot Diaz's literary reading will be followed by a book signing on Thursday, Sept. 30th at 7:30pm

Sprague Library is among the co-sponsors of the event.

The following books by Junot Diaz are available at Sprague Library:

1. Drown.  PS 3554.1259 D76 1996

2. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao PS 3554.IZ59 B75 2007.

Event:  Literary Reading and Book Signing, Junot Diaz, Author of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Date:  Thursday, September 30, 2010
Time:  7:30 PM
Place:   Conference Center, University Hall (7th Floor)

Junot Díaz was born in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic and is the author of Drown and The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao which won the John Sargent Sr. First Novel Prize, the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize and the 2008 Pulitzer Prize. His fiction has appeared in The New Yorker, African Voices, Best American Short Stories (1996, 1997, 1999, 2000), in Pushcart Prize XXII and in The O'Henry Prize Stories 2009.  He has received a Eugene McDermott Award, a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, a Lila Acheson Wallace Readers Digest Award, the 2002 Pen/Malamud Award, the 2003 US-Japan Creative Artist Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, a fellowship at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University and the Rome Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He is the fiction editor at the Boston Review and the Rudge (1948) and Nancy Allen professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  Recently he was elected to serve on the Pulitzer Prize Board.

The Junot Diaz Planning Committee:

Esmilda Abreu
Claudia Bogris
Michele Campagna
Milton Fuentes
Marta Lopez-Luaces
Katherine McCaffrey
Marie Sparks

Many thanks to our current co-sponsors:  Office of the Provost, Office of the Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Office of Education and Community Outreach, College of the Arts, Psychology Department, Anthropology Department, Center for Student Involvement, Department of Spanish and Italian, Equity and Diversity, Honors Program, New Student Experience, Office of Residential Education and Services, President's Commission on Affirmative Action and Diversity, Center for Non-Violence, Multicultural Psychology Scholars, History Department, and the Latino/a Caucus.
If you are interested in co-sponsoring this event, please contact Milton Fuentes at