Photo of students in an MPH classroom.

Montclair State University Standards

The Montclair State University education community has articulated standards that define the knowledge, skills, and dispositions we seek to develop in candidates in our programs for teachers and other school professionals. We developed two sets of standards — one for teachers in initial programs, and one for teachers in advanced programs and for school professionals. The University standards for initial teacher programs, which underwent several revisions based on faculty input, received formal endorsement from the Teacher Education Policy Committee in fall 2003 and were revised in 2011 and 2016. The University Standards for Advanced Teacher Programs and Programs for Other School Professionals were revised in 2007-08.

The Montclair State University standards reflect the principles and commitments articulated in our conceptual framework. They provide guidance for all aspects of our preparation of educators, including the admissions process, curriculum, instruction, field experiences, and assessment of candidate performance.

Integration of Discipline-Based Standards and MSU Standards

Because the Montclair State University standards apply to all programs across disciplines, they do not specify the disciplinary knowledge required of teachers and other educators. Instead, University Standards 1a and 1b state in general terms that candidates must have subject matter knowledge and pedagogical content knowledge. The details of this discipline-based knowledge are articulated in the standards of specialized professional associations (SPAs). Candidates develop this knowledge through courses in their major departments.

To highlight the integral relationship between discipline-based standards and Montclair State University standards, we have combined the standards for particular professional associations with the University standards below.

  • NCTE Standards for Candidates‌ in English Language Arts 2003
  • NCSS Standards for Candidates‌ in Social Studies 2004
  • ACTFL Standards for Candidates‌ in Foreign Languages 2002
  • TESOL Standards for Candidates‌ in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages 2009
  • NCTM Standards for Candidates‌ in Secondary Mathematics 2003
  • NSTA Standards for Candidates‌ in Science 2004