front of CELS building
News and Announcements

Winter Services and Calendar

Thanksgiving to the Opening of Spring 2021 Semester

Posted in: Applied Mathematics & Statistics, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy

snowing on campus

The University will shift to remote classes after the Thanksgiving holiday (November 26, 2020-November 29, 2020). The offices and centers in the College of Science and Mathematics will continue to provide both remote and in person services to students, faculty and staff Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m. through December 24, 2020. The University will be closed for the Winter Break from December 25, 2020 through January 3, 2021.  We will resume all services on Monday, January 4, 2021.

The Dean’s Office (CELS 206)

November 30 – January 18
Monday – Friday, 9:00am – 4:00pm

The Student Success Center (RICH 283)

November 30 – December 11
Monday – Wednesday and Friday, 8:30am – 4:30pm: In-person (rotating coverage)
Monday – Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm – Remote coverage*
December 14 – January 3
Monday – Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm – Remote coverage*
January 4 – 18
Monday – Friday, 8:30am – 4:30pm – In-person (rotating coverage)
Monday – Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm – Remote coverage*

* Remote contact information for the CSAM Student Success Center

CSAM Departments

Applied Mathematics and Statistics
November 30 – January 18
Remote
973-655-7794
Dr. Eric Forgoston, 8am-6pm, forgostone@montclair.edu
Kinga Picerno, 8am-4pm, picernok@montclair.edu
Biology
November 30 – December 14 & January 11 – January 18
In-person office hours
December 15 – January 8
Remote
973-655-4397
Department Chair, Dr. Dirk Vanderklein, vanderkleid@montclair.edu
Chemistry and Biochemistry
November 30 – December 14 & January 11 – January 18
In-person office hours
December 15 – January 8
Remote
973-655-5140
Department Chair, Dr. Saliya DeSilva, desilvas@montclair.edu
Administrative Assistant, Diane Prince, princed@montclair.edu
Undergraduate course enrollment: chemadvising@montclair.edu
Graduate course enrollment: dyerj@montclair.edu
Computer Science
November 30 – December 14
In-person, usual office hours
December 15 – January 18
Remote, contact advisor first, then cs-help@montclair.edu for assistance
Earth and Environmental Studies
November 30 – December 14 & January 11 – January 18
In-person office hours
December 15 – January 8
Remote
973-655-4448
Department Chair, Dr. Greg Pope, popeg@montclair.edu
Associate Chair, Dr. Matt Gorring, gorringm@montclair.edu
Administrative Assistant, Patti Flatley, flatleyp@montclair.edu
Laboratory Specialist, Yoko Sato, satoyo@montclair.edu
Mathematics
General
November 30 – December 14 & January 11 – January 18
Monday and Thursday
CCIS 425N, 973-655-2139
Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday
Remote, email the Department Chair, Ashwin Vaidya, vaidyaa@montclair.edu for assistance
December 15 to January 8
Monday – Friday
Remote, email the Department Chair, Ashwin Vaidya, vaidyaa@montclair.edu for assistance
Advising
November 30 – January 18
Monday – Friday
Remote, email Mr. George Grover, groverg@montclair.edu for assistance
Physics and Astronomy
November 30 – January 18
Remote
973-655-7794
Dr. Marc Favata, 9am-5pm, favatam@montclair.edu
Kinga Picerno, 8am-4pm, picernok@montclair.edu