Congratulations to EAES student and faculty award winners

2 EAES faculty and 14 students were among the awardees honored by the University, the College of Science and Mathematics, and the Department of Earth and Environmental Studies this spring.

Dr. Josh Galster was recognized with the 2017 CSAM Outstanding Teacher award. Dr. Galster was cited for his creativity in the classroom, his commitment to keeping students actively engaged and continuously challenged regardless of the class size, his contributions to the university-wide GNED and Honors programs, as well as multiple CSAM bachelors and graduate programs, and his dedication to advising and mentoring MSU students. Dr. Galster also serves as a facilitator for the national “On the Cutting Edge” Early Career Workshop to help prepare new geoscience faculty, and is a co-PI on a new grant from National Science Foundation for the “STEM Pioneers” program, to recruit and support first-generation college students as they pursue majors and careers in the sciences.

Dr. Stefanie Brachfeld was recognized at the 5th Annual Grant Recognition Reception. Dr. Brachfeld received the 2017 Provost’s Award for the longest continuous and greatest total amount of research funding. Dr. Brachfeld has received 17 externally funded awards over the past 14 years at a total of $2,581,464. This includes equipment grants and research grants that supported collaborative research programs and enhanced research facilities and instrumentation at Montclair State University. Her research has been funded by the National Science Foundation, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Ocean Drilling Program, and Antarctic Drilling Program. Her grants allowed eight Montclair State University students to participate in research expeditions to Antarctica, and provided research experience and training to 33 research advisees.

Matthew Rivas, a senior in the Sustainability Science program, former president of the Environmental Club, and current president of the MSU student chapter of the U.S. Green Building Council, was received the university-wide Outstanding Leadership Award. This award recognizes students who serve in leadership roles on campus and who demonstrate “…outstanding service to others and within the community… and are recognized for momentous achievement at MSU.”

April Kelly, who will graduate with her MS degree in Earth and Environmental Science in May, received two impressive honors this spring. April was recognized with an Outstanding Student Employee Award. This summer, April will work with the National Park Service Geoscientists-In-the-Parks (GIP) Program, and be stationed at Mount Rainer. These are in addition to her 2016 Geological Society of America Student Research grant and the Vivian Award for research-related travel received last spring.

Gita Bhushal Adhikary and J. Mitchell Clay received the 2017 EAES Outstanding Teaching Assistant award. Gita and Mitchell each received multiple nominations and letters of support from EAES faculty and students, all describing their dedication to their students and commitment to being outstanding educators.

J. Mitchell Clay and Beth Wasserman received the 2017 “Hogwarts” Award for Special Service to the Department of Earth and Environmental Studies. Mitchell and Beth were each cited for their willingness to assist wherever and whenever needed, and for serving as ambassadors who raise the department’s visibility and profile both within and outside of the university.

Thomas Donofrio, Jeff Ludwig, Claire Rolling, David Thaller, Jessica Treslar, and Ingrid Witty are new inductees into Gamma Theta Upsilon, the International Geographical Honor Society.

Stephany Benitez,  Melissa Chambers, and Korie Vee are all earning their BS in Earth and Environmental Science degrees With Honors from the Department of Earth and Environmental Studies. Department Honors recognizes students for superior academic achievement, completion of an honors research project, and presentation of the project results in a public forum. 

The EAES faculty and staff offer our heartfelt congratulations to our 2017 Outstanding Juniors and Outstanding Seniors in each of our degree programs. These students are recognized for their superior academic achievement:

  • Jessica Treslar: Bert Boucher Award to the Outstanding Senior in Geography
  • Ingrid Witty: Milstead Award to the Outstanding Junior in Geography
  • Shane Nicols-o’Neill: John V. Thiruvathukal Award to the Outstanding Junior in Earth and Environmental Science
  • Melissa Chambers: Outstanding Senior in Earth and Environmental Science
  • Rachel Fritz: Outstanding Junior in Sustainability Science
  • Amanda Ocampo: Outstanding Senior in Sustainability Science