State House Leadership

Photo of Governor Phil Murphy

Governor Philip Murphy

Philip Dunton Murphy is an American financier, diplomat, and politician currently serving as the 56th Governor of New Jersey. Murphy was the United States Ambassador to Germany from 2009 to 2013 during which time he dealt with fallout from the United States diplomatic cables leak matter. He served as finance chairman for the Democratic National Committee in the mid-late 2000s under Howard Dean. Prior to that Murphy had a 23-year career at Goldman Sachs.

Photo of Lieutenant Governor Sheila Oliver

Lieutenant Governor Sheila Oliver

Sheila Y. Oliver currently serving as the second Lieutenant Governor of New Jersey, since 2018. Oliver previously served in the New Jersey General Assembly from 2004 to 2018, where she represented the 34th legislative district while also serving as the Speaker of the New Jersey General Assembly for two terms, from January 12, 2010, to January 14, 2014, as a member of the Democratic Party.

Photo of Senate President Steven Sweeney

Senate President Steven Sweeney

Stephen M. "Steve" Sweeney serves as the President of the New Jersey Senate. He has served in the New Jersey State Senate since 2002, where he represents the 3rd Legislative District. On November 23, 2009, Sweeney was selected as Senate President-designate, replacing former Gov. Richard Codey.

Photo of Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin

Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin

Craig J. Coughlin served in the New Jersey General Assembly since 2010, where he represents the 19th Legislative District. He has served as the Speaker of the New Jersey General Assembly since 2018.