Lacrosse Teams Sweep Skyline Conference Titles, Earn NCAA Berths

The men and women’s lacrosse teams dominated the Skyline Conference, sweeping the league’s championship for the third consecutive season. The men’s team, under first-year head coach Chris Kivlen, captured its fourth straight title, downing Kean University 17-10 in the championship game.

Senior All-American Tyler Meth, who became the all-time leading goal scorer in program history, was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player as the Red Hawks advanced to the NCAA Tournament. Meth also was named the Skyline Conference Player of the Year with Kivlen earning the league’s Coach of the Year honors.

Meanwhile the Montclair State women’s team collected a 14-6 record and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship. The Red Hawks, under Skyline Coach of the Year Nicol Parcelluzzi, defeated Farmingdale State, 14-12 in the conference championship game to claim an automatic berth to the NCAAs. The women then made the most of their appearance in the national tournament edging York (Pennsylvania) College, 14-13 in the first round—just the second NCAA Tournament victory in program history.