MFA Students Present "Open Studio 2012" November 16

Benefit sale of small works for student scholarships is part of the event

The Master of Fine Arts (MFA) program is holding its annual Open Studio night November 16, from 6-10 p.m. at the MFA Gallery in Finley Hall, for the general  public to view completed works and works in progress created by the program's 23 MFA candidates, plus works of the program's exceptional group of visiting artists. Admission to the event is free.

The MFA Studio candidates exhibiting include: Jeremy G. Bell, Flavia Berindoague, Kristopher Brian, Stephen Douglas, Amanda J. Hart, Brian Haverlock, Dana Hemes, Natasha Jozi, Angela Kelliher, Marta Kepka, Ronit Levin Delgado, Jamie Levine, Kevin McCaffrey, Jason Roth, John Ryan, Alex Schoenberg, E. Dannielle Slaughter, Christine Soccio, Eric Valosin, John Viggiano, Aneta Wegrzyn, and FeiFei Yang.
Works include painting, sculpture, printmaking, video, photography, installation, and mixed-media selections, with diverse thematic interests.
The evening will include open discussions and dialog with the students regarding their growth in the MFA program as emerging professional artists.
A group of small works by the MFA students, faculty, and visiting artists will be for sale with proceeds going towards student scholarships.

The Open Studio celebrates the Master of Fine Arts program's 12th year in existence. Since its inauguration, the program has invited an exceptional group of artists, curators, and visiting critics--including Roberta Smith, Jerry Saltz, Elizabeth Peyton, Eleanor Heartney, Arthur C. Danto, James Rosenquist, Phillip Pearlstein, William Wegman, Julie Heffernan, and Dana Schutz--to work with the students.
The Open Studio will feature current students from the classes of 2013 and 2014.
For more information, contact Dr. Andrew Atkins, director of the MFA program, at
973-655-7294 or, or Louise Davies, MFA program assistant, at 973-655-4074 or