NSF-TUES grant for Drs. Goodey, Siekierka, Dyer and Talgar

Dr. Nina Goodey, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Dr. John Siekierka, Director of the Sokol Institute of Pharmaceutical Life Sciences , Dr. James Dyer, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, and Dr. Cigdem Talgar, Acting Director of the Research Academy for University Learning have been awarded a NSF-TUES grant (DUE-1245630) ($166,475) titled "Incorporation of Research Skills into the Undergraduate Biochemistry Curriculum to Create Extraordinary Scientists for the Modern Research Environment".  The grant will provide the support to fundamentally transform the existing biochemistry laboratory curriculum at MSU to create education environments that simulate research and produce extraordinary scientists for the modern research environment. The effects of inquiry learning in biochemistry laboratory and the role of an advisory council in this process will be evaluated on ability to design experiments and critical thinking. The grant will run until January of 2016.