Record Funds Raised at Annual Scholarship Dinner

Record-breaking gala honored business leaders Annette Catino’78 and Judith Schumacher-Tilton, and biopharmaceutical industry-leader Bristol-Myers Squibb

Hundreds of Montclair State University alumni, friends, benefactors and community members gathered to raise funds for student scholarships and to honor prominent New Jersey business leaders Annette Catino ’78 and Judith Schumacher-Tilton, and the global biopharmaceutical company Bristol-Myers Squibb at the Montclair State University Foundation 2017 Annual Scholarship Dinner on March 4, 2017.

The sold-out gala event broke records by raising $800,000 in support of Montclair State University’s Second Century Scholarship Fund, which provides financial assistance to hundreds of students of limited economic means. The scholarships will help today’s students – and tomorrow’s leaders – pursue and complete their studies at Montclair State.

“This event is the University’s most important yearly effort to raise general scholarship funds for our students,” said Montclair State University President Susan A. Cole in her remarks welcoming the guests. “You are generously contributing to that effort, for which we are extremely grateful.”

After her remarks, Cole introduced special guest New Jersey Lieutenant Governor Kim Guadagno, who also addressed the audience.

The presentation of the awards followed. Bristol-Myers Squibb, represented by CEO Giovanni Caforio, MD, received the Rose and John J. Cali Award for Business Leadership and Community Engagement; Catino received the Margaret and Herman Sokol Award for Alumni Achievement and Civic Leadership; and Schumacher-Tilton received the inaugural Mary Mochary and Michael Kasser Award for Philanthropic Leadership.

The awards highlighted an evening program that featured performances of selections from West Side Story by students in Montclair State’s nationally recognized Department of Theatre and Dance and John J. Cali School of Music. The performances were followed by a dinner.

Distinguished Honorees

A patient-centered global biopharmaceutical company focused on discovering, developing and delivering innovative medicines, Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) places a premium on investing in the future. It is continuously exploring new approaches to treat diseases with significant unmet medical need and helping to develop the next generation of scientists, engineers and other life science professionals.

For more than a decade, BMS has supported centers for science teaching and learning at three universities, including Montclair State. Through these partnerships, it has created professional development opportunities for elementary and high school teachers to help them enhance classroom experience and build the skills they need to teach tomorrow’s innovators.

Since opening its doors in 2005, the Montclair State University Bristol-Myers Squibb Center for Science Teaching and Learning has delivered on this approach. It has provided an array of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) programs and trainings for more than 80 schools and districts in New Jersey.

“We are grateful to be honored by Montclair State University and proud to partner with the University to provide exceptional learning opportunities in STEM education,” Caforio said. “I am proud to work for a company that has made a significant, long-term commitment to science education and to Montclair State University. Together, we share a steadfast commitment to people…to education…and to the greater New Jersey community.”

A 1978 graduate of Montclair State, Annette Catino is president and chief executive officer of QualCare Alliance Network, Inc. (QANI) a CareAllies company, and senior vice president of Health Plan Services at CareAllies, Inc. A veteran health care executive and distinguished entrepreneur with more than 35 years of experience in the health care industry, she also serves as CEO of several wholly-owned subsidiaries of QANI.

Catino is well-regarded for her health care expertise. She serves on many corporate boards and is the recipient of numerous awards and honors including being named among the Top 50 Most Powerful People in Health Care every year since 2010 by NJBIZ, and as one of the Top 25 Leading Women Entrepreneurs and Business Owners by New Jersey Monthly and Own It Ventures.

“Montclair State University opened up a whole new world for me,” said Catino. “The prospects I have had the opportunity to pursue would not have been possible without my education. So to receive this award from my alma mater means a great deal to me.”

Montclair resident Judith Schumacher-Tilton is president of Schumacher Chevrolet Auto Group, New Jersey’s largest volume Chevy dealer with locations in Clifton, Little Falls and Denville. She chaired the General Motors Women’s Dealer Advisory Council for three years, and currently serves on the Tri-State Chevrolet LMA Board.

Schumacher-Tilton was nominated as 2012 TIME Dealer of the Year – becoming New Jersey’s first-ever female to compete for this very prestigious award. In recognition of her dealerships’ performance and her extensive community service, she went on to win the title of Northeast Regional TIME Dealer of the Year and was among the four finalists for the national title which was published in TIME magazine.

Locally, Schumacher-Tilton serves on the Montclair State University Foundation Board, the Boys and Girls Club of Clifton Trustee Board, the Lakeland Bank Advisory Board and Passaic County 200 Club Trustee Board.

“I would like to thank Montclair State University for this incredible honor,” said Schumacher-Tilton. “As a lifelong Montclair resident and being part of this wonderful community for three generations, it has always been important to our family to give back in any way that we can. Montclair State University has done so much to enrich the lives of so many young adults, giving them the opportunity to follow their passions and dreams through higher education. Receiving this honor is very special to both me and my family.”

The 2017 Annual Scholarship Dinner was co-chaired by Paul Aguggia, Michael Capone, Kevin Cummings, Francis Cuss, Mimi Feliciano, Robert Leib, John J. Mazur, Thomas J. Shara, Robert Silver, Stephen R. Tilton Jr. and Stephen R. Tilton Sr.