Women's Lacrosse Routs Sage to Close Out Regular Season

Box Score

Albany, NY (4/24/10) - The Montclair State women's lacrosse team capped off a perfect Skyline Conference schedule as the Red Hawks roared past The Sage College, 19-1 on Saturday afternoon.The contest was the final regular-season conference tilt for both teams and the Red Hawks rolled to a 19-1 Skyline Conference victory to finish league action with a perfect 8-0 mark and now stand at 10-4 overall. Sage finishes the 2010 season with a 1-12 overall record and a 1-7 record in conference play.

Sophomore midfielder Cora Delfini (New Egypt, NJ/New Egypt) led the Red Hawks with her three goals and three assists as they held a 12-0 lead at the break. She leads MSU on the year with her 34 goals and 15 assists for 49 points, while sophomore midfielder Jessica Curran (Yorktown Heights, NY/Lakeland) added one goal with four assists, giving her 12 goals and a team-high 18 assists this season.  Junior Kayla Henderson (Landing, NJ/Roxbury) added three goals with an assist, while senior attacker Lauren Adams (Jackson, NJ/Jackson Memorial) chipped three goals and assist on the day.

Sage's sophomore Ginelle Butler (Malta, NY/Ballston Spa) collected a goal for the Gators giving her 13 goals on the season and a team-leading 17 points for the 2010 campaign.

MSU'ss freshman goalie Tiffani Henderson (Landing, NJ/Roxbury) earned the win in goal after making five saves. Sage freshman goalie Courtney Reed (Mechanicville, NY/Mechanicville) recorded nine saves in the contest and finishes the season with a school-record 148 saves.

Montclair now turns its attention to the Skyline Conference Tournament, which gets underway on Tuesday, April 27. MSU, the top seed in the tournament, receives a first-round bye and will face the winner of the Kean / Mt. St. Vincent contest in the semifinals on Thursday, April 29 at Sprague Field beginning at 7:00 pm.

The Skyline Championship Game is scheduled for Saturday, May 1 with the winner receivng and automatic berth into the NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship.