Montclair State Selected to Host 2012, 2013 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championships

Montclair, NJ (6/29/10) - Montclair State University has been selected as the host for the 2012 and 2013 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship. MSU will host the Division III championship in 2012 and the combined Division II and Division III championships at Sprague Field in 2013.

The 2012 championship will be held on Saturday and Sunday, May 19-20. The dates for the 2013 combined championship are May 18-19.

It will be the second time that Montclair State will be the host venue for an NCAA Championship. In 2009, Montclair was the site of the Division III Softball Championship at the MSU Softball Stadium.

"Montclair State University is enthusiastic and proud to host the 2012 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship and the combined 2013 NCAA Divisions II and III Women's Lacrosse Championships,” said MSU Director of Athletics Holly Gera.  “Bringing this level of competition to our campus is very exciting and we look forward to the opportunity to show some Montclair State hospitality to the student athletes, coaches and spectators of these great events."

The 2012 championship will mark the seventh time that the Division III Final Four will take place in New Jersey. Stevens Institute played host the last time in 2006 while The College of New Jersey, a 12-time national champion, has hosted the event four times (1991, 1995, 2000, 2005). Rowan University was the host for the 2002 championship.

The 2013 Division II championship will be the first to be contested in the Garden State.

The history of Montclair State women’s lacrosse dates back to 1981. After a period of discontinuation, the sport returned to varsity status in 1997.

Since the 2006 campaign, Montclair has gone 58-31 - a .651 winning percentage, while dominating the Skyline Conference. MSU has posted a 31-1 league record the last five years, including the 2009 campaign when it went a perfect 8-0 during the regular season and added two more victories in the Skyline Tournament to capture its fourth crown.

The championship earned Montclair an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Tournament, its third appearance during that span.