Women's Lacrosse Wins 2nd Straight Skyline Championship; Red Hawks Headed to NCAA Tournament

Box Score

Montclair, NJ (4/30/11) – Senior midifielder Kayla Henderson (Landing, NJ / Roxbury) scored six goals and was named Most Valuable Player as top-seeded Montclair State won its second straight Skyline Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship with a 17-7 victory over No. 2 seed Ramapo College at Sprague Field on Saturday afternoon. It is the second straight title game meeting for two clubs as MSU posted as 17-6 win in the 2010 championship game.

Sophomore Kailee Beal (Landing, NJ / Roxbury) added four goals, an assist and five draws as the Red Hawks (12-4) claimed the conference crown for the fifth time in six years while also earning the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship. Selections for the NCAA will be announced on Sunday, May 8 with the first round slated for Wednesday, May 11.

Senior midfielder Jenna Pfarr (Cranford, NJ / Cranford) had three goals and Adrianna Tepedino (Freehold, NJ / Freehold Township) two goals and two assists for the Roadrunners (12-4), who had their seven-game winning streak snapped with the loss. Ramapo advanced to the final by knocking off No. 3 seed Farmingdale State, 15-11 on Friday.

Montclair State wasted little time getting on the board in game as Beal scored unassisted 14 seconds into the contest. It was the start of a five-goal, game-opening run by MSU as Cora Delfini (New Egypt, NJ / New Egypt) scored two minutes later and freshman Kelly Schoneveld (Denville, NJ / Morris Knolls) tallied twice, the second coming with 20:55 to play as the Red Hawks led 4-0. Beal capped the run with her second off a Schoneveld assist.

Ramapo would get on the board with 11:35 to play as Pfarr scored off a free-position attempt. Montclair countered with goals from Henderson and Beal for a 9-2 lead however Amanda Baretta (Roseland, NJ / West Essex) and Tepedino answered with goals before the half as Montclair State led 9-4.

Henderson’s third goal to open the second half pushed the lead to six, but Pfarr scored consecutive goals just under two minutes later as the Roadrunners closed the gap to 10-6 with 25:26 to play. Schoneveld and Tepedino traded goals to keep the margin at four before Montclair scored final six goals, including three by Henderson, who increased her season total to 59 goals.

Schoneveld finished with three goals and two assists while Delfini collected three goals in addition to five draws and six ground balls. Henderson also had five draws as the Red Hawks won 21 of the 26 draws contested. Sophomore goalkeeper Tiffani Henderson (Landing, NJ / Roxbury) stopped eight shots for MSU, which also outshot the Roadrunners 35-26.

Colleen Steel (Wyckoff, NJ / Ramapo) had a goal and two assists for Rampo while Kristen Jakubik (Cranford, NJ / Cranford) had three caused turnovers and three ground balls. Senior Diana Silva (Howell, NJ / Howell) made nine saves.

The championship also continued Montclair State’s dominance in the Skyline Conference since joining the league in 2006. In the last six years, Montclair has won five regular-season and tournament titles and has posted an overall mark of 50-2 in the league which includes regular-season (39-1) and post-season contests (11-1).