Long-Tenured MSU Hall of Fame Members Hold Reunion

Montclair State Athletic Hall of Fame members James McGilvray (left) and Milt Mirsky (right), both from the Class of 1941, reunited recently in the newly-named Peter M. Altieri Hall of Fame Room

Two of Montclair State longest-tenured Athletic Hall of Fame members recently gathered to renew a friendship and reminisce about their playing days as alumni James McGilvray ’41 and Milt Mirsky ’41 met in the newly-named Peter M. Altieri Hall of Fame Room in the Panzer Athletic Center.

Both men were among the earliest inductees into the Montclair State Athletic Hall of Fame. Mirsky, who starred in four sports, was enshrined as part of the second class in 1972 while track and field standout McGilvray was inducted in 1976.

Mirsky was what would be considered today the rarest of athletes participating in football, basketball and baseball while also competing on the track and field team. On the gridiron he scored nine career touchdowns and was part of New Jersey collegiate football history when Montclair State played the first night football game at Sprague Field on October 3, 1941 under portable lights. Mirsky also competed at a high level on the basketball court scoring a school-record 850 points (11.0 points per game) as Montclair State posted went 53-27 during his four years.

McGilvray and Mirsky would combine to help the track and field team to an outstanding record as Montclair lost just one dual meet in three years. McGilvray set the school record in the 880-yard run and was part of the mile relay team that posted a time of 3:29.1 during the 1940-41 campaign. Mirsky also set a record in the high jump with a leap of six-feet, one-inch.

Mirsky and McGilvray both remained close to the University having served on the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee. Mirsky also served as the master of ceremonies for inductions while McGilvray became the presenter of the James J. Poet Sportsmanship Award, named after fellow classmate, Hall of Fame member, teammate and friend James J. Poet ’41.