Undefeated Cross Country Team Celebrates Anniversary

Members of the 1971 undefeated cross country team. Front row from the left: Jonathan Frankel; Robert Mayer ’74, ’84 MA; E. Greg Weiss ’73; Kevin McGrath ’72, ’81 MA; and Guy Pilsbury ’78. Back row from the left: Michael Sinnott ’74; Allen Johnson ’75; James Fairbanks ’75, ’78 MA; and John Fisher ’76.

In the eight-decade history of Montclair State athletics, many teams have had memorable seasons but only a few were perfect. The 1971 men’s cross country team was one such team and they recently reunited for their 40th anniversary and were honored at a ceremony in the Panzer Athletic Center.

The team finished the season with a perfect 15-0 record to become just the fourth team in Montclair State history to have an undefeated season (the 1947, 1960, and 1964 football teams were the other three). Since then, two other teams have gone undefeated at Montclair State – the 1982 football squad (8-0-2) and the 1989 men’s lacrosse team (15-0).