University Authors Recognized at Reception

Photo: Mike Peters

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Willard Gingerich (right) says a few words at the reception for Montclair State University authors.

In what has become an annual celebration, Montclair State University faculty, staff, and administrators gathered in the Periodicals Reading Room of the Sprague Library on April 18 to recognize members of the University community who have had books published in the past year and to view their work.

A total of 39 new works by University authors were on display representing the output of faculty and staff of all the colleges and schools, 22 academic departments, one academic program, and entities such as the Sprague Library, the George Segal Gallery, and University Communications.

“It is always gratifying to see the results of the energy and activity that our colleagues exert in their ‘spare time’,” quipped Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Willard Gingerich in his welcome remarks. “You know, of course, how much spare time some people think we have in the academy, but this is what we are doing with that time,” he added gesturing to the books.

Library Services Dean Judith Lin Hunt, who together with the Provost was co-sponsor of the event, said that among the new publications this year were books in Italian, Spanish, and Russian; a fully electronic book; and in addition to the scholarly texts and creative works, five exhibition catalogs from the George Segal Gallery; three books featuring the photographs of Mike Peters, University photographer; and a children’s book by Bill Berlin, chair of the Department of Political Science and Law, and his wife.

In addition to the works on display, the 2011 edition of the University Authors brochure with a synopsis and cover image of each of the new works was available to take away, as was a new brochure featuring University authors of over 160 peer-reviewed journal publications. Both brochures are available at the Sprague Library and are viewable below by clicking on the icons.

Congratulations to all University authors!