Greek Council

The Greek Council is a governing board composed of Fraternity and Sorority members representing each of the Greek Letter Organizations at Montclair State University.

The purpose of the Greek Council is to promote unity and cooperation amongst the students of our campus, beginning with the leaders -- the Fraternity and Sorority members.

The Greek Council is active in promoting leadership by hosting events and doing the following:

  • Planning cross-council programs and philanthropies
  • Weekly meetings with all chapters
  • Hosting Greek Week
  • Hosting Greek Life Awards Banquet

The Greek Council believes that the existing community here at MSU is strong and can and will only grow stronger. It is our hope that you will join us in this pursuit. We are passionate about our brothers and sisters and equally as passionate about the leadership and service they offer MSU and the community.

Greek Life Awards

The Office of Greek Life and the Greek Council honor and celebrate the Greek Community's accomplishments every year. We are happy to recognize and honor individual, council and chapter recipients for all they have done for the Montclair State Greek Life community. 


2016-2017 Award Winners

  • Outstanding Scholarship Award: Sigma Sigma Sigma 
  • Outstanding Leadership Award: La Unidad Latina, Lambda Upsilon Lambda Fraternity Inc. 
  • Philanthropic Excellence Award: Sigma Delta Tau
  • Outstanding Community Service Award: Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority Inc. 
  • Outstanding Public Relations Award: Lambda Sigma Upsilon Latino Fraternity Inc. 
  • Educational Program of the Year: Sigma Lambda Upsilon/Senioritas Latinas Unidas Sorority Inc., Just Do It 
  • Outstanding Program of the Year: Sigma Delta Phi, Date Auction
  • Outstanding Campus Advisor: Kellen Smith-Washington
  • Amanda "Ducky" Quesada Award: Sara Gonzalez
  • Greek Leader of the Year: Kira Casas, Theta Kappa Chi
  • Greek Leader of the Year: Chris Barrosso, Alpha Chi Rho
  • Presidents of the Year: Danielle Laing (Alpha Kappa Alpha), Sarah Bombino (Delta Phi Epsilon), Douglas Arouh (Delta Chi), Samantha Burns (Theta Kappa Chi), Daniel Cyckowski (Phi Sigma Pi), and Erica Morales (Lambda Theta Alpha)
  • Senior of Distinction: Christine Ponella, Alpha Iota Chi
  • Council of the Year: The United Greek Coalition (UGC)
  • Chapter of the Year: Sigma Lambda Upsilon/Senioritas Latinas Unidas Sorority Inc.

2015-2016 Award Winners

  • Outstanding Scholarship Award: Chi Upsilon Sigma National Latin Sorority, Incorporated
  • Outstanding Leadership Award: Sigma Sigma Sigma
  • Philanthropic Excellence Award: Theta Kappa Chi, Theta Tea Party
  • Outstanding Community Service Award: Chi Upsilon Sigma National Latin Sorority, Incorporated
  • Outstanding Public Relations Award: Sigma Lambda Upsilon, Senioritas Latinas Unidas Sorority, Incorporated
  • Educational Program of the Year: Theta Delta Sigma Society Incorporated, Holocaust Remberance Day
  • Outstanding Program of the Year: Delta Phi Epsilon, Deepher Dude
  • Outstanding Campus Advisor: Brian Edwards
  • Amanda "Ducky" Quesada Award: Marissa Gally, Theta Kappa Chi
  • Greek Leader of the Year: Carolina Focella, Sigma Sigma Sigma
  • Greek Leader of the Year: Kelsea Rowan, Theta Delta Sigma Society Incorporated
  • Presidents of the Year: Amanda San Lucas (Delta Phi Epsilon), Kelsea Rowan (Theta Delta Sigma), Jaden Jackson (Alpha Chi Rho), Samantha Conley (Delta Xi Delta), Christian Gonzales (Lambda Upsilon Lambda), Lynese Rawlins (Alpha Kappa Alpha)
  • Senior of Distinction: Orlando Castillo, Lambda Theta Phi Latin Fraternity Incorporated
  • Council of the Year: The Local Council
  • Chapter of the Year: La Unidad Latina, Lambda Upsilon Lambda Fraternity Incorporated

2014-2015 Award Winners

  • Outstanding Scholarship Award: Sigma Delta Tau
  • Outstanding Leadership Award: Lambda Theta Alpha Latin Sorority, Incorporated
  • Philanthropic Excellence Award: Pi Kappa Alpha, Pike Hike
  • Outstanding Community Service Award: Chi Upsilon Sigma National Latin Sorority, Incorporated
  • Outstanding Public Relations Award: Sigma Pi
  • Educational Program of the Year: Phi Sigma Pi, Dinner Etiquette
  • Outstanding Program of the Year: Mu Sigma Upsilon Sorority, Incorporated, R.A.C.E
  • Outstanding Campus Advisor: Julie Fleming
  • Amanda "Ducky" Quesada Award: Natalie Piccinich, Phi Sigma Pi
  • Greek Man of the Year: Michael Ladines, Theta Xi
  • Greek Woman of the Year: Aashna Jariwala, Theta Kappa Chi
  • Council of the Year: National Panhellenic Conference
  • Chapter of the Year: Sigma Sigma Sigma