Faculty & Staff

David Kennedy

Chair
 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, University of Kentucky; MS, Eastern Montana College; BA, Luther College
Research/Interests — Community of inquiry; history of childhood
Office — University Hall 2129
Phone — (973) 655-5170
Emailkennedyd@mail.montclair.edu

Brenda Godbolt

Secretary
 
No Photo Available
Office — University Hall 2128B
Phone — (973) 655-5170
Emailgodboltb@mail.montclair.edu

Faculty

Zoe Burkholder

 
Zoe Burkholder headshot Education — PhD New York University; MA University of California, Berkeley; BA University of Virginia, Charlottesville
Research/Interests — Social construction of race in schools; history of educational antiracist activism; teachers and schools in the long civil rights movement
Office — University Hall 2140
Phone — (973) 655-3481
Emailburkholderz@mail.montclair.edu

Nicole Barnes

 
Nicole DiDonato headshot Education — PhD Rutgers University, New Brunswick; MEd Rutgers University, New Brunswick; BS Rutgers University, New Brunswick
Research/Interests — Self-regulated learning; collaborative learning; authentic tasks/assessments; teaching and learning in urban schools
Office — University Hall 2110
Phone — (973) 655-3028
Emailbarnesn@mail.montclair.edu

Helenrose Fives

 
No Photo Available Education — Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park; M.A., Trinity College; B.A., The Catholic University of America
Research/Interests — Research focuses on the intersection of teacher beliefs and practices with an emphasis on understanding the interrelationship between teachers' beliefs (specifically efficacy, knowledge, and ability beliefs) and the process of teaching and learning to teach. Interests include developing a better understanding of the teaching learning process with particular focus on the teaching as persuasion metaphor
Office — University Hall 2135
Phone — (973) 655-7162
Emailfivesh@mail.montclair.edu

Maughn Gregory

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Iberoamericana University; MA, University of Hawaii; JD, J. Ruben Clark Law School
Research/Interests — Philosophy and education; critical thinking
Office — University Hall 2197
Phone — (973) 655-7049
Emailgregorym@mail.montclair.edu

Jaime G. A. Grinberg

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Michigan State University; MA, Eastern Michigan University; BA, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Israel)
Research/Interests — Teacher education; historical, cultural, political and social contexts of schooling; teaching; educational leadership; professional development
Office — University Hall 2137
Phone — (973) 655-4427
Emailgrinbergj@mail.montclair.edu

Kathryn Herr

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Ohio State University; MSW, Fordham Graduate School of Social Services, BS, Millersville University
Research/Interests — Qualitative and action research, equity issues in schools, fit/lack of fit between diverse student bodies and schools, issues of gender, youth studies; adolescents
Office — University Hall 2161
Phone — (973) 655-6845
Emailherrk@mail.montclair.edu

Tamara Lucas

 
Tamara Lucas headshot Education — PhD, MA, Stanford University; MA, San Francisco State University; BA, Centre College of Kentucky
Research/Interests — Culturally and linguistically responsive teaching, the preparation of teachers to teach culturally and linguistically diverse students, the education of English language learners
Office — University Hall 3141
Phone — (973) 655-7128
Emaillucast@mail.montclair.edu

Jamaal Matthews

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, University of Michigan; MS, Mercy College; BA, Columbia University
Research/Interests — Self-regulated learning; achievement motivation; ethnic minority youth and urban education; adolescent identity development; early childhood cognitive and social development
Office — University Hall 2133
Phone — (973) 655-3027
Emailmatthewsj@mail.montclair.edu

Jeremy N. Price

 
No Photo Available Education — Ph.D., Michigan State University; H.D.E. (Sec)., H.DJourn., B.Comm., Rhodes University, South Africa.
Research/Interests — Teacher education for social justice; action research, youth identities and schooling, transformative pedagogies, educational policy and teaching
Office — University Hall 2139
Phone — (973) 655-7039
Emailpricej@mail.montclair.edu

Alina Reznitskaya

 
Education — PhD, MEd, MS, BS, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Research/Interests — Development and assessment of argumentation and reasoning
Office — University Hall 2193
Phone — (973) 655-4080
Emailreznitskayaa@mail.montclair.edu

Pablo Tinio

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, University of Vienna; MA, Rutgers University; MA, Kean University; BA, Kean University
Research/Interests — Creativity and aesthetics within school systems and cultural institutions
Office — University Hall 2112
Phone — (973) 655-3128
Emailtiniop@mail.montclair.edu

Mellie Torres

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, New York University; MAT, Montclair State University; MPP, University of Michigan; BS, Seton Hall University
Research/Interests — Effect of social and academic identity among minority Latin@ students
Office — University Hall 2131
Phone — (973) 655-5170
Emailtorresme@mail.montclair.edu

Mark Weinstein

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, The City University of New York; MA, The City College of New York; BA, Brooklyn College
Research/Interests — Philosophy of education, methods of inquiry
Office — University Hall 2195
Phone — (973) 655-7041
Emailweinsteinm@mail.montclair.edu