Faculty & Staff

Department Chair

 

Jaime G. A. Grinberg
Chair
973-655-4427
University Hall 2129
grinbergj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Michigan State University; MA, Eastern Michigan University; BA, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Israel)
Research/Interests: Teacher education; historical, cultural, political and social contexts of schooling; teaching; educational leadership; professional development

 

Staff

Brenda Godbolt
Secretary
973-655-5170
University Hall 2128B
godboltb@mail.montclair.edu

 

Faculty

 

Zoe Burkholder headshot

Zoe Burkholder
973-655-3481
University Hall 2140
burkholderz@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD New York University; MA University of California, Berkeley; BA University of Virginia, Charlottesville
Research/Interests: Social construction of race in schools; history of educational antiracist activism; teachers and schools in the long civil rights movement

 

Nicole Barnes
973-655-3028
University Hall 2110
barnesn@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD Rutgers University, New Brunswick; MEd Rutgers University, New Brunswick; BS Rutgers University, New Brunswick
Research/Interests: Educational assessment, classroom assessment, teachers' data use, self-and co-regulated learning during assessment tasks, and teaching and learning in urban schools

 

Helenrose Fives
973-655-7162
University Hall 2135
fivesh@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park; M.A., Trinity College; B.A., The Catholic University of America
Research/Interests: Research focuses on the intersection of teacher beliefs and practices with an emphasis on understanding the interrelationship between teachers' beliefs (specifically efficacy, knowledge, and ability beliefs) and the process of teaching and learning to teach. Interests include developing a better understanding of the teaching learning process with particular focus on the teaching as persuasion metaphor

 

Maughn Gregory
973-655-7049
University Hall 2197 
gregorym@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Iberoamericana University; MA, University of Hawaii; JD, J. Ruben Clark Law School
Research/Interests: Philosophy and education; critical thinking

  

Kathryn Herr
973-655-6845
University Hall 2161 
herrk@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Ohio State University; MSW, Fordham Graduate School of Social Services, BS, Millersville University
Research/Interests: Qualitative and action research, equity issues in schools, fit/lack of fit between diverse student bodies and schools, issues of gender, youth studies; adolescents

 

David Kennedy
973-655-5170
University Hall 2129 
kennedyd@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, University of Kentucky; MS, Eastern Montana College; BA, Luther College
Research/Interests: Community of inquiry; history of childhood

 

 

Tamara Lucas
973-655-7128
University Hall 3141
lucast@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, MA, Stanford University; MA, San Francisco State University; BA, Centre College of Kentucky
Research/Interests: Culturally and linguistically responsive teaching, the preparation of teachers to teach culturally and linguistically diverse students, the education of English language learners

 

Jamaal Matthews
973-655-3027
University Hall 2133 
matthewsj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Michigan; MS, Mercy College; BA, Columbia University
Research/Interests: Self-regulated learning; achievement motivation; ethnic minority youth and urban education; adolescent identity development; early childhood cognitive and social development

 

Elizabeth Rivera Rodas
973-655-7094
University Hall 2131 
rodase@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: PhD, Rutgers University; MS, Hunter College, CUNY; BA, Barnard College, Columbia University
Research/Interests: Quantitative research; economics of urban education; teacher quality; educational inequality; residential and school segregation; school finance.

 

Alina Reznitskaya
973-655-4080
University Hall 2193 
reznitskayaa@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, MEd, MS, BS, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Research/Interests: Development and assessment of argumentation and reasoning

 

Pablo Tinio
973-655-3128
University Hall 2112 
tiniop@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: PhD, University of Vienna; MA, Rutgers University; MA, Kean University; BA, Kean University
Research/Interests: Creativity and aesthetics within school systems and cultural institutions

 

Mark Weinstein
973-655-7041
University Hall 2195 
weinsteinm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, The City University of New York; MA, The City College of New York; BA, Brooklyn College
Research/Interests: Philosophy of education, methods of inquiry

 

Adjunct Faculty

Debra Amato
amatod@mail.montclair.edu

Daniel Fisherman
fishermand@mail.montclair.edu

Mark Hyman

Monica Glina
glinam@mail.montclair.edu

Robert Levin
levinro@mail.montclair.edu

Margo Kourkoutas Morea
moream@mail.montclair.edu

Sabrina Misirhiralall
misirhiralas@mail.montclair.edu

Evan Mooney
mooneye@mail.montclair.edu

Alison Price-Rom
priceroma@mail.montclair.edu

Lavina Sequeira
sequeiral@mail.montclair.edu