Faculty & Staff

Susana Juniu
Chair
973-655-5253
University Hall 4143 
junius@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Temple University; MS, Temple University; BS, Temple University
Research/Interests: Qualitative and Quantitative Research, Psychosocial aspects of Leisure Behavior, and Educational Technology

 

Eduardo Saavedra headshot

Eduardo Saavedra
Department Administrator
973-655-5254
University Hall 4141 
saavedrae@mail.montclair.edu

 

Angel Herbert headshot

Angel Herbert
Secretary
973-655-5253
University Hall 4136
herberta@mail.montclair.edu

 

Faculty

Melissa Fraser Alexander headshot

Melissa G. Fraser Alexander
973-655-4067
University Hall 4113
alexanderm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Michigan State University; MS Michigan State University; BS and BA, Miami University
Research/Interests: Social skill development within Special Olympics and developing life skills in adapted physical education

 

Rose Cofone
973-655-5253
University Hall 4133 
cofoner@mail.montclair.edu

Education: EMBA, Baruch College; MA, Montclair State University; BS, St. Peter’s University
Research/Interests: Teaching science-based courses to pre-nursing students in human biology, anatomy and physiology and contemporary Nutrition

 

Domenica Desiderioscioli
973-655-4466
University Hall 4137 
desideriosd@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, New York University; MS, Brooklyn College
Research/Interests: History and philosophy of physical education and health, teacher education, management and fencing

 

Michele M. Fisher
973-655-7120
University Hall 4109 
fisherm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: DPE, Springfield College; MS, East Stroudsberg University; BS, Elizabethtown College
Research/Interests: Cardiovascular and environmental aspects of exercise physiology, Prevention/management of coronary heart disease

 

Fredrick Gardin headshot

Frederick A. Gardin
Athletic Training Education Program Coordinator
973-655-7156
University Hall 4105 
gardinf@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, University of South Carolina, Physical Education and Athletic Training; MAEd, East Carolina University, Health Education; BS, Appalachian State University, Health Education 
Research/Interests: Dr. Gardin joins Montclair State University with clinical experiences in secondary schools, youth sports, sport camps, and professional sports. Dr. Gardin has experience as a preceptor for variety of schools and is a formally trained educator.

 

Robert Gilbert
973-655-5239
University Hall 4115
gilbertr@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, BA, University of Massachusetts
Research/Interests: Sports psychology and peak performance, motivational speaking

 

Tan Leng Goh
973-655-5396
University Hall 4101
goht@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, University of Utah; MS, California State University, Long Beach; BEng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Research/Interests: Children and physical activity interventions in K-12 schools and community settings

 

Marsha Grant-Ford headshot

Marsha Grant-Ford
973-655-5243
University Hall 4024 
grantfordm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Temple University - Kinesiology with Athletic Training Concentration; MEd, University of Virginia - Athletic Training/Sports Medicine; BS,East Stroudsburg University - Health & Physical Major with Athletic Training/Aquatics Concentration
Research/Interests: Clinical experiences at the secondary school, sport/gymnastic camps, physician practice, professional sports, and all three NCAA division levels. She has educational degrees from three (CAAHEP now CAATE) accredited programs and has taught in five others (including MSU).

 

Klara Gubacs-Collins
973-655-5497
University Hall 4121 
gubacsk@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, University of Massachusetts; MA, Montclair State University; BS, Hungarian University of Physical Education
Research/Interests: Non-traditional approaches to teaching games in the activity modules, including badminton, tennis, soccer, speedball, volleyball, european handball, teacher education, sociology of sport and physical education

 

Peter Hosick
973-655-3510
University Hall 4119
hosickp@mail.montclair.edu

Education: PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; MS, Appalachian State University; BS, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Research/Interests: Inflammation and the body’s response to exercise in both athletes and people with chronic illness

 

Robert Horn
973-655-6832
University Hall 4107
hornr@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Liverpool John Moores University; MS, West Chester University; BS, University of Liverpool
Research/Interests: The role of relative motion in the perception of demonstrated task dynamics and observational motor learning

 

Steven Leigh
973-655-7452
University Hall 4111 
leighst@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; MS, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; BS, Loughborough University, England
Research/Interests: Sports performance enhancement, and injury prevention and rehabilitation, with an emphasis on throwing sports and shoulder and elbow injury prevention.

 

Carolyn Masterson
973-655-5420
University Hall 4139 
mastersonc@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Columbia University; MA, Columbia University; BS, College of Mt. St. Joseph
Research/Interests: Curriculum and teaching of health and physical education, management of health and physical education, supervision of students in field experiences

 

David Middlemas headshot

David A. Middlemas
973-655-7090
University Hall 4135
middlemasd@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Rutgers University Educational Statistics and Measurement; MA, University of Nebraska at Kearney Sports Medicine; BS, Muhlenberg College of Natural Science and Mathematics
Research/Interests: Dr. Middlemas joined the faculty at MSU in 2000 as associate professor and Director of the Athletic Training Education Program. He came to MSU from William Paterson University where he was Program Director. Dr. Middlemas's experience as an athletic training educator includes teaching in both internship and accredited athletic training education programs.

 

Kristin Scrabis-Fletcher
973-655-5334
University Hall 4103
scrabisfletk@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, MPhil, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA University of Maryland; BA Pennsylvania State University
Research/Interests: Examining socio-cultural factors that influence student experience and learning in physical education are rooted in her experiences as a middle school health and physical education teacher

 

William Sullivan
973-655-7089
University Hall 4117
sullivanw@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, MA, MEd, Columbia University BA, Southern Illinois University
Research/Interests: Research: effect of different exercise instructions on muscle recruitment patterns, blood volume shifts during exercise, analysis of popularity and universality of the summer Olympic sports. Interests: exercise physiology and physiology & biomechanics of strength and conditioning exercises.

 

Specialists

Rose Cofone
Instructional Specialist
973-655-7216
University Hall 3161
cofoner@mail.montclair.edu

Education: MA, Montclair State University; MBA, Baruch College; BS, St. Peter's University

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email
Marvin Alexander alexanderma@mail.montclair.edu
Marc Camporeale camporealem@mail.montclair.edu
Rosemarie Cappiello cappiellor@mail.montclair.edu
Shauna Caulfield scaulfield@glenridge.org
Robert Chesney chesneyr@mail.montclair.edu
Simone Coonrod coonrods@mail.montclair.edu
Adam Feit afeit@gmail.com
Linda Flynn flynnl@mail.montclair.edu
Beth Gottung gottungb@mail.montclair.edu
Karen Hoscik hosickk@mail.montclair.edu
Karen Harvey harveyk@mail.montclair.edu
Dana Jacko jackod@mail.montclair.edu
Jill Kellett kellettj@mail.montclair.edu
Anita Kubicka KubickaA@mail.montclair.edu
Dolores Laratta larattad@mail.montclair.edu
Pamela Licht lichtp@mail.montclair.edu
Daniel McBride mcbrided@mail.montclair.edu
John McCarthy mccarthyj@mail.montclair.edu
Scott McKay scott.mckay@ubs.com
Brian McLaughlin mclaughlinb@mail.montclair.edu
Shyella Mayk mayks@mail.montclair.edu
James Merlo merloj@mail.montclair.edu
Patrick Naughter naughterp@mail.montclair.edu
Katherine Ortolani ortolanik@mail.montclair.edu
Natalie Pfeiffer pfeiffern3@mail.montclair.edu
John Porcelli porcellij@mail.montclair.edu
Tara Rienecker rieneckert@mail.montclair.edu
Stephanie Sabaliaurkas sabaliaurkas@mail.montclair.edu
Eduardo Saavedra saavedrae@mail.montclair.edu
Matthew Schinelli schinellim@mail.montclair.edu
Cindy Smerdon smerdonc@mail.montclair.edu
Eddie Stawinski stawinskie@mail.montclair.edu
Timothy Sullivan sullivant@mail.montclair.edu
Curtis Sylvester sylvesterc@mail.montclair.edu
Robert Symons symonsr@mail.montclair.edu
Todd Tumelty tumelty@mail.montclair.edu