Faculty & Staff

Susana Juniu

Chair
 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, Temple University; MS, Temple University; BS, Temple University
Research/Interests — Qualitative and Quantitative Research, Psychosocial aspects of Leisure Behavior, and Educational Technology
Office — University Hall 4143
Phone — (973) 655-5253
Emailjunius@mail.montclair.edu

Eduardo Saavedra

Department Administrator
 
Eduardo Saavedra headshot
Office — University Hall 4141
Phone — (973) 655-5254
Emailsaavedrae@mail.montclair.edu

Angel Herbert

Secretary
 
Angel Herbert headshot
Office — University Hall 4136
Phone — (973) 655-5253
Emailherberta@mail.montclair.edu

Faculty

Melissa G. Fraser Alexander

 
Melissa Fraser Alexander headshot Education — PhD, Michigan State University; MS Michigan State University; BS and BA, Miami University
Research/Interests — Social skill development within Special Olympics and developing life skills in adapted physical education
Office — University Hall 4113
Phone — (973) 655-4067
Emailalexanderm@mail.montclair.edu

Rose Cofone

 
No Photo Available Education — EMBA, Baruch College; MA, Montclair State University; BS, St. Peter’s University
Research/Interests — Teaching science-based courses to pre-nursing students in human biology, anatomy and physiology and contemporary Nutrition.
Office — University Hall 4133
Phone — (973) 655-5253
Emailcofoner@mail.montclair.edu

Domenica Desiderioscioli

 
Education — EdD, New York University; MS, Brooklyn College
Research/Interests — History and philosophy of physical education and health, teacher education, management and fencing
Office — University Hall 4137
Phone — (973) 655-4466
Emaildesideriosd@mail.montclair.edu

Michele M. Fisher

 
Michele Fisher headshot Education — DPE, Springfield College; MS, East Stroudsberg University; BS, Elizabethtown College
Research/Interests — Cardiovascular and environmental aspects of exercise physiology, Prevention/management of coronary heart disease
Office — University Hall 4109
Phone — (973) 655-7120
Emailfisherm@mail.montclair.edu

Fredrick A. Gardin

Athletic Training Education Program Coordinator
 
Fredrick Gardin headshot Education — BS, Appalachian State University, Health Education; MAEd, East Carolina University, Health Education; PhD, University of South Carolina, Physical Education and Athletic Training
Research/Interests — Dr. Gardin joins Montclair State University with clinical experiences in secondary schools, youth sports, sport camps, and professional sports. Dr. Gardin has experience as a preceptor for variety of schools and is a formally trained educator.
Office — University Hall 4105
Phone — (973) 655-7156
Emailgardinf@mail.montclair.edu

Robert Gilbert

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, BA, University of Massachusetts
Research/Interests — Sports psychology and peak performance, motivational speaking
Office — University Hall 4115
Phone — (973) 655-5239
Emailgilbertr@mail.montclair.edu

Tan Leng Goh

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, University of Utah; MS, California State University, Long Beach; BEng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Research/Interests — Children and physical activity interventions in K-12 schools and community settings
Office — University Hall 4101
Phone — (973) 655-5396
Emailgoht@mail.montclair.edu

Marsha Grant-Ford

 
Marsha Grant-Ford headshot Education — BS,East Stroudsburg University - Health & Physical Major with Athletic Training/Aquatics Concentration; MEd, University of Virginia - Athletic Training/Sports Medicine; PhD, Temple University - Kinesiology with Athletic Training Concentration
Research/Interests — clinical experiences at the secondary school, sport/gymnastic camps, physician practice, professional sports, and all three NCAA division levels. She has educational degrees from three (CAAHEP now CAATE) accredited programs and has taught in five others (including MSU).
Office — University Hall 4024
Phone — (973) 655-5243
Emailgrantfordm@mail.montclair.edu

Klara Gubacs-Collins

 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, University of Massachusetts; MA, Montclair State University; BS, Hungarian University of Physical Education
Research/Interests — Non-traditional approaches to teaching games in the activity modules, including badminton, tennis, soccer, speedball, volleyball, european handball, teacher education, sociology of sport and physical education
Office — University Hall 4121
Phone — (973) 655-5497
Emailgubacsk@mail.montclair.edu

Peter Hosick

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; MS, Appalachian State University; BS, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Research/Interests — Inflammation and the body’s response to exercise in both athletes and people with chronic illness
Office — University Hall 4119
Phone — (973) 655-3510
Emailhosickp@mail.montclair.edu

Robert Horn

 
Robert Horn headshot Education — PhD, Liverpool John Moores University; MS, West Chester University; BS, University of Liverpool
Research/Interests — The role of relative motion in the perception of demonstrated task dynamics and observational motor learning
Office — University Hall 4107
Phone — (973) 655-6832
Emailhornr@mail.montclair.edu

Steven Leigh

 
Education — PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; MS, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; BS, Loughborough University, England
Research/Interests — Sports performance enhancement, and injury prevention and rehabilitation, with an emphasis on throwing sports and shoulder and elbow injury prevention.
Office — University Hall 4111
Phone — (973) 655-7452
Emailleighst@mail.montclair.edu

Carolyn A. Masterson

 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, Columbia University; MA, Columbia University; BS, College of Mt. St. Joseph
Research/Interests — Curriculum and teaching of health and physical education, management of health and physical education, supervision of students in field experiences
Office — University Hall 4139
Phone — (973) 655-5240
Emailmastersonc@mail.montclair.edu

David A. Middlemas

 
David Middlemas headshot Education — BS, Muhlenberg College of Natural Science and Mathematics; MA, University of Nebraska at Kearney Sports Medicine; EdD, Rutgers University Educational Statistics and Measurement.
Research/Interests — Dr. Middlemas joined the faculty at MSU in 2000 as associate professor and Director of the Athletic Training Education Program. He came to MSU from William Paterson University where he was Program Director. Dr. Middlemas's experience as an athletic training educator includes teaching in both internship and accredited athletic training education programs.
Office — University Hall 4135
Phone — (973) 655-7090
Emailmiddlemasd@mail.montclair.edu

Kristin Scrabis-Fletcher

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, MPhil, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA University of Maryland; BA Pennsylvania State University
Research/Interests — Examining socio-cultural factors that influence student experience and learning in physical education are rooted in her experiences as a middle school health and physical education teacher
Office — University Hall 4103
Phone — 973-655-5334
Emailscrabisfletk@mail.montclair.edu

William Sullivan

 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, MA, MEd,Columbia University BA, Southern Illinois University
Research/Interests — Exercise physiology, first aid, and biomechanics of strength and flexibility training
Office — University Hall 4117
Phone — (973) 655-7089
Emailsullivanw@mail.montclair.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email
Dottie Bennett dancedwb@aol.com
Deidre Brewer brewerd@mail.montclair.edu
Simone Coonrod simone@swingingwithsimone.com
John Davis davisj@mail.montclair.edu
Michael Goldberg susiemg@aol.com
Christopher Jones cjones5518@aol.com
Keneth Key Keyk@mail.montclair.edu
Anita Kubicka KubickaA@mail.montclair.edu
Dee Laratta dlarattard@aol.com
Martha Lasky laskymar@aol.com
Daniel McBride 13hands1@nac.net
Scott Mckay scott.mckay@smithbarney.com
Brian McLaughlin mclaughlinb@mail.montclair.edu
Mark Monteyne mark.monteyne@VerizonWireless.com
Kathy Ortolani KathyO51060@aol.com
Thomas Perillo tompajo@aol.com
Eduardo Saavedra saavedrae@mail.montclair.edu
Ben Schaffer ben_schaffer@hotmail.com
Matt Schinelli mschinelli3@hotmail.com