Faculty & Staff

Department Chair

Susana Juniu
University Hall 4143 
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, Temple University; MS, Temple University; BS, Temple University
Research/Interests: Qualitative and Quantitative Research, Psychosocial aspects of Leisure Behavior, and Educational Technology


Eduardo Saavedra headshot

Eduardo Saavedra
Department Administrator
University Hall 4141 


Angel Herbert headshot

Angel Herbert
University Hall 4136



Melissa Fraser Alexander headshot

Melissa G. Fraser Alexander
University Hall 4113
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Michigan State University; MS Michigan State University; BS and BA, Miami University
Research/Interests: Social skill development within Special Olympics and developing life skills in adapted physical education


Domenica Desiderioscioli
University Hall 4137 
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, New York University; MS, Brooklyn College
Research/Interests: History and philosophy of physical education and health, teacher education, management and fencing


Michele M. Fisher
University Hall 4109 
Profile Page

  Education: DPE, Springfield College; MS, East Stroudsberg University; BS, Elizabethtown College
Research/Interests: Cardiovascular and environmental aspects of exercise physiology, Prevention/management of coronary heart disease


Fredrick Gardin headshot

Frederick A. Gardin
University Hall 4105 
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of South Carolina, Physical Education and Athletic Training; MAEd, East Carolina University, Health Education; BS, Appalachian State University, Health Education 
Research/Interests: Dr. Gardin joins Montclair State University with clinical experiences in secondary schools, youth sports, sport camps, and professional sports. Dr. Gardin has experience as a preceptor for variety of schools and is a formally trained educator.


Robert Gilbert
University Hall 4115
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, BA, University of Massachusetts
Research/Interests: Sports psychology and peak performance, motivational speaking


Tan Leng Goh
University Hall 4101
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Utah; MS, California State University, Long Beach; BEng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Research/Interests: Children and physical activity interventions in K-12 schools and community settings


Marsha Grant-Ford headshot

Marsha Grant-Ford
University Hall 4024 
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Temple University - Kinesiology with Athletic Training Concentration; MEd, University of Virginia - Athletic Training/Sports Medicine; BS,East Stroudsburg University - Health & Physical Major with Athletic Training/Aquatics Concentration
Research/Interests: Clinical experiences at the secondary school, sport/gymnastic camps, physician practice, professional sports, and all three NCAA division levels. She has educational degrees from three (CAAHEP now CAATE) accredited programs and has taught in five others (including MSU).


Klara Gubacs-Collins
University Hall 4121 
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, University of Massachusetts; MA, Montclair State University; BS, Hungarian University of Physical Education
Research/Interests: Non-traditional approaches to teaching games in the activity modules, including badminton, tennis, soccer, speedball, volleyball, european handball, teacher education, sociology of sport and physical education


Peter Hosick
University Hall 4119

  Education: PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; MS, Appalachian State University; BS, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
Research/Interests: Inflammation and the body’s response to exercise in both athletes and people with chronic illness


Robert Horn
University Hall 4107
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, Liverpool John Moores University; MS, West Chester University; BS, University of Liverpool
Research/Interests: The role of relative motion in the perception of demonstrated task dynamics and observational motor learning


Steven Leigh
University Hall 4111 
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; MS, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; BS, Loughborough University, England
Research/Interests: Sports performance enhancement, and injury prevention and rehabilitation, with an emphasis on throwing sports and shoulder and elbow injury prevention


Carolyn Masterson
University Hall 4139 
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, Columbia University; MA, Columbia University; BS, College of Mt. St. Joseph
Research/Interests: Curriculum and teaching of health and physical education, management of health and physical education, supervision of students in field experiences


Evan Matthews
University Hall 4133
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Delaware; MS, Bloomsburg University; BS, Slippery Rock University
Research/Interests: Exercise physiology and cardiovascular health with emphasis examining the effects of dietary sodium


David Middlemas headshot

David A. Middlemas
University Hall 4135
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, Rutgers University Educational Statistics and Measurement; MA, University of Nebraska at Kearney Sports Medicine; BS, Muhlenberg College of Natural Science and Mathematics
Research/Interests: Dr. Middlemas joined the faculty at MSU in 2000 as associate professor and Director of the Athletic Training Education Program. He came to MSU from William Paterson University where he was Program Director. Dr. Middlemas's experience as an athletic training educator includes teaching in both internship and accredited athletic training education programs.


Kristin Scrabis-Fletcher
University Hall 4103
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, MPhil, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA University of Maryland; BA Pennsylvania State University
Research/Interests: Examining socio-cultural factors that influence student experience and learning in physical education are rooted in her experiences as a middle school health and physical education teacher


William Sullivan
University Hall 4117
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, MA, MEd, Columbia University BA, Southern Illinois University
Research/Interests: Research: effect of different exercise instructions on muscle recruitment patterns, blood volume shifts during exercise, analysis of popularity and universality of the summer Olympic sports
Interests: exercise physiology and physiology & biomechanics of strength and conditioning exercises



Rose Cofone
University Hall 2155

  Education: MA, Montclair State University; MBA, Baruch College; BS, St. Peter's University

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email
Marvin Alexander alexanderma@mail.montclair.edu
Lee Cabell leecabell@shu.edu
Marc Camporeale camporealem@mail.montclair.edu
Rosemarie Cappiello cappiellor@mail.montclair.edu
Shauna Caulfield scaulfield@glenridge.org
Robert Chesney chesneyr@mail.montclair.edu
Simone Coonrod coonrods@mail.montclair.edu
Adam Feit feita@mail.montclair.edu
Linda Flynn flynnl@mail.montclair.edu
Beth Gottung gottungb@mail.montclair.edu
Karen Hoscik hosickk@mail.montclair.edu
Karen Harvey harveyk@mail.montclair.edu
Dana Jacko jackod@mail.montclair.edu
Jill Kellett kellettj@mail.montclair.edu
Anita Kubicka kubickaa@mail.montclair.edu
Dolores Laratta larattad@mail.montclair.edu
Pamela Licht lichtp@mail.montclair.edu
Daniel McBride mcbrided@mail.montclair.edu
John McCarthy mccarthyj@mail.montclair.edu
Scott McKay scott.mckay@ubs.com
Brian McLaughlin mclaughlinb@mail.montclair.edu
Shyella Mayk mayks@mail.montclair.edu
James Merlo merloj@mail.montclair.edu
Patrick Naughter naughterp@mail.montclair.edu
Katherine Ortolani ortolanik@mail.montclair.edu
Natalie Pfeifer pfeifern@mail.montclair.edu
John Porcelli porcellij@mail.montclair.edu
Tara Rienecker rieneckert@mail.montclair.edu
Stephanie Sabaliaurkas sabaliaurkas@mail.montclair.edu
Eduardo Saavedra saavedrae@mail.montclair.edu
Matthew Schinelli schinellim@mail.montclair.edu
Cindy Smerdon smerdonc@mail.montclair.edu
Eddie Stawinski stawinskie@mail.montclair.edu
Timothy Sullivan sullivant@mail.montclair.edu
Curtis Sylvester sylvesterc@mail.montclair.edu
Robert Symons symonsr@mail.montclair.edu
Kayleigh Thies thiesk1@mail.montclair.edu
Todd Tumelty tumelty@mail.montclair.edu
Maria Vira viram@mail.montclair.edu
Doris Walker-Bennett dbennett32@comcast.net