University Senate

The Senate was created in 1977 as the voice of the University community to ensure representation and participation of faculty, professional staff, students and administration in academic shared governance. The Senate meets once a month and affords members of the University community an opportunity to address significant issues.

The Executive Board of the Senate includes: the current President, immediate past President, Vice President, Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, Academic Affairs Council Chair, Administrative Affairs Council Chair, Student Affairs Council Chair, and the Negotiation Agent Liaison.  The Senate consults and collaborates with the campus community and the Administration as needed.

The Senate is composed of 37 voting members who are elected for a three-year term. The voting members are:

  • 12 members-at-large
  • 3 members elected from each of the following:  College of Science and Mathematics, College of the Arts, and School of Business
  • 4 members elected from the College of Education and Human Services
  • 5 members elected from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • 4 professional staff
  • 1 librarian
  • 2 students, one undergraduate and one graduate student

There are also 22 nonvoting members, giving the Senate membership a total of 59. The nonvoting members are:

  • 1 faculty representative to the Board of Trustees, ex officio
  • 1 Local 1904 AFT President, ex officio
  • 7 Vice Presidents, ex officio
  • 8 Deans, ex officio
  • 1 administrative professional representative
  • 1 Chairpersons council representative
  • 3 students other than the two voting students. Student representatives are the SGA President, the Board of Trustees nonvoting student member, the GSO President, one at-large undergraduate full-time student, and one at-large undergraduate part-time student.