State Authorization

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education programs and is intended to make it easier for students to take online courses offered by postsecondary institutions based in another state. Additional benefits include expanded access to educational offerings and enhancement to the overall quality of distance education.

Students from all 50 states are eligible to apply to our online programs. As a SARA state approved institution, Montclair State University offers distance education programs to students in the 47 SARA member states and is not subject to approval or exempt in the non-SARA states of California, Florida, and Massachusetts. For more information about NC-SARA, please visit