Photo of College Hall at Montclair State University


Board of Trustees

The purpose of the Board of Trustees of Montclair State University is to hold the University in trust for the public, representing the public interest in governance, policies and development of the University within the spirit and intent of the laws and regulations governing the Board and the University.


Voting Members

  • Ms. Rose C. Cali
  • Ms. Mary Comito
  • Dr. Francis M.C. Cuss, Chair
  • Mr. Jean Marc de Grandpre
  • Mr. George J. Hiltzik
  • Mr. Lawrence R. Inserra, Jr., Secretary
  • Mr. Douglas L. Kennedy
  • Mr. Ralph A. LaRossa
  • Mr. William T. Mullen
  • Mr. Preston D. Pinkett III
  • Mr. Kent Sluyter, Vice Chair
  • Ms. Fathia Balgahoom, Student

Non-voting Members

  • Dr. Susan A. Cole, President
  • Ms. Faith Victor, Student

Faculty Representative

  • Dr. Elizabeth Emery

Officers of the University

  • Susan A. Cole, President
  • Joseph A. Brennan, Vice President for Communications and Marketing
  • Shawn M. Connolly, Vice President for University Facilities
  • Colleen Coppla, Vice President for Development
  • Candace C. Fleming, Vice President for Information Technology
  • Mark J. Fleming, University Counsel
  • Willard P. Gingerich, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Wendy W. Lin-Cook, Vice President for Enrollment Management
  • Donna McMonagle, Vice President for Finance and Treasurer
  • Karen L. Pennington, Vice President for Student Development and Campus Life
  • David Vernon, Vice President for Human Resources


  • Lora Billings, PhD
    • Dean, College of Science and Mathematics
  • Daniel A. Gurskis, MFA
    • Dean, College of the Arts
  • Kimberly Hollister, PhD
    • Dean, Feliciano School of Business
  • Tamara F. Lucas, PhD
    • Dean, College of Education and Human Services
  • Peter Kingstone, PhD
    • Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Janice Smolowitz, DNP, EdD, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, DCC
    • Dean, School of Nursing
  • Scott Herness, PhD
    • Vice Provost for Research and Dean, The Graduate School
  • David Hood, PhD
    • Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean, University College
  • Judith Lin Hunt, DLS
    • Dean, Library Services
  • Margaree Coleman-Carter, PhD
    • Dean of Students

University Senate

The University Senate provides a forum for the faculty, administrators, librarians, administrative professionals, professional staff, clinical/instructional specialists and students to discuss and recommend policy on academic, administrative and student affairs issues to the Administration. The University Senate is a forum for all represented and non-represented groups and individuals to voice their issues and concerns to the community.

Next Page