Aerial Photo of Campus
News and Announcements

Department of Exercise Science and Physical Education Shines at Regional Conference

Posted in: College News and Events, Exercise Science and Physical Education

Michael Perlet & Lauren Miller-Mendonça

The Mid-Atlantic Regional Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine held their annual meeting in Lancaster, Pennsylvania earlier this month and the Department of Exercise Science and Physical Education was well-represented.

Michael Perlet, recent graduate of the Exercise Science and Sport Studies master’s program, received two prestigious awards at the event in relation to his presentation, “Microvascular Reactivity During a Vascular Occlusion Test Following Blood Flow Restriction Resistance Exercise.” Michael’s abstract won first place in the master’s award section, moving him onward to the President’s Cup Competition, which judges all master’s and PhD students who receive awards. Michael won this additional competition, establishing his presentation as the best of any bachelor’s, master’s, or PhD student at the conference.

Winning the President’s Cup Competition will provide Michael with funding to attend the national conference, held in Boston, Massachusetts, early next year. There he will have the opportunity to present his project in competition against all other regional award winners. He is the first Montclair student or alumni to win this award and the College for Community Health is extremely proud of his work and dedication.

Lauren Miller-Mendonça, an undergraduate student in the Exercise Science program, also attended the conference to present her poster titled, “Heart Rate Variability Following Blood Flow Restriction Resistance Exercise and Traditional Resistance Exercise.” Lauren’s presentation won the Institutional Undergraduate Award Representative from Montclair State University.

Additionally, Dr. Peter Hosick, Associate Professor, was elected as Vice President of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Chapter. He will serve in this position through November 2025.

Congratulations to Dr. Hosick, Lauren Miller-Menodca and Michael Perlet!