Students programming in Scratch

Staff Directory and Research Interests

Staff

NameTitleLocationPhoneEmail
Klodiana ShkembiProgram Associate 973-655-4166shkembik@montclair.edu
George GroverDepartment Administrator 973-655-7349groverg@montclair.edu

Full Time Faculty

George Antoniou profile photo

George Antoniou

Professor

Phone
973-655-4250
Email
antonioug@montclair.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering (Digital Signal and Image Processing, Control Systems, Digital Systems)
Vaibhav Anu profile photo

Vaibhav Anu

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-4362
Email
anuv@montclair.edu
Dr. Anu is interested in software development planning, analysis, and management, and particularly in improving software quality by improving the processes and practices involved in software development.

The primary focus of Dr. Anu's research is on development and empirical validation of effective methods for verification and validation (V&V) of software artifacts.

Dr. Anu's Research Interests include:
Software Engineering, Requirements Engineering, Human Error in Software Engineering, Software Inspections, Software Quality Improvement, Empirical Software Engineering, Software Engineering Education, Human Factors in Cybersecurity
Lora Billings profile photo

Lora Billings

Dean, College of Science and Mathematics

Phone
973-655-5108
Email
billingsl@montclair.edu
Deterministic and Stochastic Dynamical Systems, Theory and Applications of Chaos, and Mathematical Biology and Epidemiology
Youngna Choi profile photo

Youngna Choi

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-7782
Email
choiy@montclair.edu
Econophysics, dynamical systems
Constantine Coutras profile photo

Constantine Coutras

Professor

Phone
973-655-7239
Email
coutrasc@montclair.edu
Computer Networking
Performance Evaluation of Communication Protocols
Digital Signal Processing
Wireless Networks
Network Security
Boxiang Dong profile photo

Boxiang Dong

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-4093
Email
dongb@montclair.edu
Machine learning and cybersecurity
Anna Feldman profile photo

Anna Feldman

Chairperson

Phone
973-655-7500
Email
feldmana@montclair.edu
Computational linguistics; Natural Language Processing; Corpus Linguistics.

Eric Forgoston profile photo

Eric Forgoston

Professor

Phone
973-655-7242
Email
forgostone@montclair.edu
Applied Mathematics, Deterministic and Stochastic Dynamical Systems, Mathematical Biology, Mathematical Epidemiology, Fluid Mechanics
Katherine Herbert profile photo

Katherine Herbert

Professor

Phone
973-655-5398
Email
herbertk@montclair.edu
Data Sciences in Scientific Data Sets
Bioinformatics,
Data Quality,
Data Cleaning,
Data Integration,
Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery,
Jerry Illanovsky profile photo

Jerry Illanovsky

Instructional Specialist

Phone
973-655-7257
Email
illanovskyj@montclair.edu
MS Information Management from Stevens Institute of Technology, NJ graduated May 2003.
BS Computer Science from Monmouth University, NJ graduated January 1985.
Andrada Ivanescu profile photo

Andrada Ivanescu

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-7233
Email
ivanescua@montclair.edu
Functional data analysis
John Jenq profile photo

John Jenq

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-7237
Email
jenqj@montclair.edu
Parallel processing
Computational finance
Intelligent web-base systems
Scientific computation with AI approaches
Hubert Johnson profile photo

Hubert Johnson

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-7238
Email
johnsonh@montclair.edu
Software Engineering
Daeyoung Kim profile photo

Daeyoung Kim

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-7249
Email
kimda@montclair.edu
Cybersecurity
Mobile systems and applications
Christopher Leberknight profile photo

Christopher Leberknight

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-3204
Email
leberknightc@montclair.edu
Digital democracy (online censorship), Cyber Security, Modeling and Analysis of Technological and Social Networks
Rui Li profile photo

Rui Li

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-7248
Email
liru@montclair.edu
1. Intelligent Machines: Human-Machine Interaction, Machine Perception, Sensor Fusion, Interactive Autonomous Systems, Affective Computing.
2. Multimedia Computing: Extended Reality, Immersive 3D Virtual Environment with Interactivity, 3D Dynamic Visualization, 3D Parametric and Physiological Modeling, 3D Serious Game Development, Computer Graphics and Animation.
Andrew McDougall profile photo

Andrew McDougall

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-4294
Email
mcdougalla@montclair.edu
Time Series Analysis, Data Analysis, Dynamical Graphics
Jing Peng profile photo

Jing Peng

Professor

Phone
973-655-7975
Email
pengj@montclair.edu
Reinforcement learning and its applications to control and multi-agent systems where my doctoral studies originated. In general terms, reinforcement learning is concerned with computational approaches to learning from reward. Here I consider how a learning agent can learn as quickly as possible from limited interaction with other agents and its environment.

Image retrieval, in particular content-based retrieval where I consider indexing schemes that allow flexible retrieval metrics to be created on the fly so that very large databases can be accessed efficiently and accurately.

Classification and data mining, where I am particularly interested in adaptive metric nearest-neighbor techniques and compact subspace representation for building robust classifiers from limited training data.
Stefan Robila profile photo

Stefan Robila

Professor

Phone
973-655-4230
Email
robilas@montclair.edu
Remote Sensing
Hyperspectral Sensors and Data
Computer Security
Distributed Processing of Remote Sensed Data
Information Hiding in Images
Information Assurance
Energy Efficiency in Data Centers
Computational Sensing
Computer Science Education
Bharath Kumar Samanthula profile photo

Bharath Kumar Samanthula

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-5161
Email
samanthulab@montclair.edu
Information Security, Personal Privacy, Applied Cryptography, Cloud Computing, Big Data Analytics and Management, Wireless Sensor Networks, Social Media Platforms, Cyber-Physical Systems, Smart Grids and Generative AI
Jiacheng Shang profile photo

Jiacheng Shang

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-4230
Email
shangj@montclair.edu
Cybersecurity, mobile sensing, and cyber-physical systems
Baojun Song profile photo

Baojun Song

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-4265
Email
songb@montclair.edu
Mathematical modeling, dynamical systems, dynamics of infectious diseases, population dynamics, bifurcation analysis, numerical simulations, and mathematical ecology.
Haiyan Su profile photo

Haiyan Su

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-3279
Email
suh@montclair.edu
• Biostatistics
• Empirical likelihood
• Longitudinal mixed-effects models
• Nonparametric and semi-parametric regression
• Survival analysis
Kazi Zakia Sultana profile photo

Kazi Zakia Sultana

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-4363
Email
sultanak@montclair.edu
Dr. Sultana is interested in empirical software engineering focused on software security and software quality. The primary focus of her research is on ensuring software security through secure programming and secure software development process.

Dr. Sultana's Research Interests include:

Empirical Software Engineering
Software Metrics
Software Quality
Software Security
Graph Algorithms
Software Vulnerability Prediction
Data Science in Software Engineering
Software Security Education
Aparna Varde profile photo

Aparna Varde

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-4292
Email
vardea@montclair.edu
Artificial Intelligence - Commonsense Knowledge, Explainable AI, Smart Cities, App Development with HCI, Implicit Requirements in Software Engineering, Collaborative Robotics, Expert Systems

Machine Learning and Data Mining - Predictive Analytics, Decision Support Systems, Domain-Specific Knowledge Discovery, Text Mining and NLP

Database Systems - Big Data Management, Cloud Computing, Web Databases, XML and DSML

Environmental Computing - Clean Energy, Green IT, Urban Policy, Geo-informatics, Sustainability, Drone Data Analysis
Dajin Wang profile photo

Dajin Wang

Professor

Phone
973-655-7615
Email
wangd@montclair.edu
Interconnection Networks
Fault-tolerant Computing
Parallel and Distributed Computing
Wireless Mobile and Sensor Networks
Algorithmic Robotics
Jiayin Wang profile photo

Jiayin Wang

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-3330
Email
wangji@montclair.edu
Her research interests include big data, cloud computing, mobile computing, and wireless networks. She is working on resource management scheduling and performance evaluation in big data computing systems.
Weitian Wang profile photo

Weitian Wang

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-5269
Email
wangw@montclair.edu
Collaborative Robotics
Human-Robot Interaction
Artificial Intelligence
Smart Cyber-Physical Systems
Human Factors and Cognitive Ergonomics in HRI
Smart Manufacturing and Remanufacturing
Distributed Robotics and Control Systems
Multimodal Sensing
Hongbo Zhou profile photo

Hongbo Zhou

Instructional Specialist

Phone
973-655-7257
Email
zhouh@montclair.edu
Some topics he has contributed include recognition of human faces, sports recognition, and open-environment continuous activities recognition, fast subspace and manifold embedding, concurrent features selection, structure from motion, mechanisms about brain’s response to excitements, theoretical explorations, machine perception based trading and investment, data driven asset management in global markets, etc. Some of his publications appeared in premium venues such as TPAMI, TNNLS, CVPR, NIPS, etc.
Michelle Zhu profile photo

Michelle Zhu

Professor

Phone
973-655-4289
Email
zhumi@montclair.edu
Parallel and Distributed Computing, Distributed Systems and Big Data.

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct offices are located in the Center for Computing and Information Science rooms 239 and 339.

NameEmail
Olaide Agboolaagboolao@montclair.edu
Yuksel Aslandoganaslandogany@montclair.edu
Edward Bandukbanduke@montclair.edu
Harika Boddubodduh@montclair.edu
Gary Buhlerbuhlerg@montclair.edu
Michael Connellconnellmi@montclair.edu
Stella Coutrascoutrass@montclair.edu
Nanying Jiajian@montclair.edu
Katrina Kaokaok@montclair.edu
Igor Kaplunkapluni@montclair.edu
Minas Kousouliskousoulism@montclair.edu
Chon Lintakoonlintakoonc@montclair.edu
Keith Lisalisak@montclair.edu
Luke Maciakmaciakl@montclair.edu
Abdou Mbowmbowa@montclair.edu
Richard Myersmyersr@montclair.edu
Kei Larkinngk@montclair.edu
Farshad Ravanshadravanshadf@montclair.edu
Sotiris Skevoulisskevouliss@montclair.edu
Maggie Zhangzhangmi@montclair.edu
Wei Zhangzhangw@montclair.edu
Tamer Avcilaravcilart@montclair.edu
Charles Njogunjoguc@montclair.edu