photo of students sitting outside working on laptops

First-year Writing Program

Important Information About Writing Studies Remote Hours 


In the wake of the Covid-19 quarantine, The Department of Writing Studies is currently utilizing remote working hours. 


If you need immediate assistance between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:30 pm, email Crystal Smith ( or send a text to 551-245-7087 and the department will assist you. 


If you have questions about the major or minor or need to talk to the Chair, email Ron Brooks (


Questions about first year writing should be directed to Caroline Dadas ( or Jennifer Holly-Wells (


Writing satisfies a human need for expression and communication, and also for problem-solving, as anyone who has used writing to reflect on a vexing personal or professional problem knows. Writing is a meaning-making activity, one that nourishes and enriches people for the rest of their lives. The First Year Writing Program presents a range of courses and opportunities to engage, showcase, and support the writing development of the members of our academic community. The First-Year Writing Program at Montclair State University is a national award-winning program that provides undergraduate students with coursework required to fulfill the University General Education Communication requirements in Writing. These courses introduce students to the academic discourse of the university community and include College Writing I (WRIT105) and College Writing II (WRIT106).

Students and faculty have opportunities to experience Live Lit, readings by creative writers and performers of all genres. We welcome students, faculty, and community members to browse this site for resources and opportunities in support of writing and the teaching of writing and to also visit the Deep Down in the Classroom Blog and The Write Mode podcast for community discussion of all things writing.

First-Year Writing FacultyTeach for us!Learn about transferring credits

Exemplary Essay Awards

Congratulations to our most recent winners, Alexa Gallardo, Doha Elsayed, Natalie Angulo, and Mike Wasik.

Read the Winning Essays

Schmitt Hall 138

Director: Caroline Dadas
Associate Director: Jennifer Holly-Wells
Program Assistant: Crystal Smith