Students programming in Scratch

Staff Directory and Research Interests

Constantine Coutras profile photo

Constantine Coutras

Chairperson

Phone
973-655-7239
Email
coutrasc@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327Q
Computer Networking
Performance evaluation of Computer Communication protocols
Wireless Networks
Network Security
Computer Science Education

Staff

NameTitleLocationPhoneEmail
Klodiana ShkembiProgram AssociateConrad J. Schmitt Hall, 320973-655-7796shkembik@montclair.edu
George GroverDepartment AdministratorCenter for Computing and Information Science, 425N973-655-7349groverg@montclair.edu

Full Time Faculty

George Antoniou profile photo

George Antoniou

Professor

Phone
973-655-4250
Email
antonioug@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327N
Electrical and Computer Engineering (Digital Signal and Image Processing, Control Systems, Digital Systems)
Vaibhav Anu profile photo

Vaibhav Anu

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-4362
Email
anuv@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327D
Dr. Anu is interested in software development planning, analysis, and management, and particularly in improving software quality by improving the processes and practices involved in software development.

The primary focus of Dr. Anu's research is on development and empirical validation of effective methods for verification and validation (V&V) of software artifacts.

Dr. Anu's Research Interests include:
Software Engineering, Requirements Engineering, Human Error in Software Engineering, Software Inspections, Software Quality Improvement, Empirical Software Engineering, Software Engineering Education, Human Factors in Cybersecurity
Boxiang Dong profile photo

Boxiang Dong

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-4093
Email
dongb@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227E
Machine learning and cybersecurity
Anna Feldman profile photo

Anna Feldman

Chairperson

Phone
973-655-7500
Email
feldmana@montclair.edu
Location
Conrad J. Schmitt Hall, 240B
Computational linguistics; Natural Language Processing; Corpus Linguistics.

Katherine Herbert profile photo

Katherine Herbert

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-5398
Email
herbertk@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227H
Data Sciences in Scientific Data Sets
Bioinformatics,
Data Quality,
Data Cleaning,
Data Integration,
Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery,
Jerry Illanovsky profile photo

Jerry Illanovsky

Instructional Specialist

Email
illanovskyj@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science
MS Information Management from Stevens Institute of Technology, NJ graduated May 2003.
BS Computer Science from Monmouth University, NJ graduated January 1985.
John Jenq profile photo

John Jenq

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-7237
Email
jenqj@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327J
Parallel processing
Computational finance
Intelligent web-base systems
Scientific computation with AI approaches
Hubert Johnson profile photo

Hubert Johnson

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-7238
Email
johnsonh@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227J
Software Engineering
Daeyoung Kim profile photo

Daeyoung Kim

Assistant Professor

Email
kimda@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227G
Cybersecurity
Mobile systems and applications
Christopher Leberknight profile photo

Christopher Leberknight

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-3204
Email
leberknightc@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327L
Digital democracy (online censorship), Cyber Security, Modeling and Analysis of Technological and Social Networks
Rui Li profile photo

Rui Li

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-7248
Email
liru@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327F
1. Multimodal Human-Computer Interaction: Machine Perception, Sensor Fusion, Interactive Autonomous Systems, Affective Computing.
2. Multimedia Computing: Augmented/Virtual Reality, 3D Interaction, 3D Dynamic Visualization, 3D Game Development.
Shafika Showkat Moni profile photo

Shafika Showkat Moni

Assistant Professor

Email
monis@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327H
Jing Peng profile photo

Jing Peng

Professor

Phone
973-655-7975
Email
pengj@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227B
Reinforcement learning and its applications to control and multi-agent systems where my doctoral studies originated. In general terms, reinforcement learning is concerned with computational approaches to learning from reward. Here I consider how a learning agent can learn as quickly as possible from limited interaction with other agents and its environment.

Image retrieval, in particular content-based retrieval where I consider indexing schemes that allow flexible retrieval metrics to be created on the fly so that very large databases can be accessed efficiently and accurately.

Classification and data mining, where I am particularly interested in adaptive metric nearest-neighbor techniques and compact subspace representation for building robust classifiers from limited training data.
Stefan Robila profile photo

Stefan Robila

Professor

Phone
973-655-4230
Email
robilas@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327K
Remote Sensing
Hyperspectral Sensors and Data
Computer Security
Distributed Processing of Remote Sensed Data
Information Hiding in Images
Information Assurance
Energy Efficiency in Data Centers
Computational Sensing
Computer Science Education
Bharath Kumar Samanthula profile photo

Bharath Kumar Samanthula

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-5161
Email
samanthulab@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227F
Information Security
Personal Privacy
Applied Cryptography
Cloud Computing
Big Data Analytics and Management
Wireless Sensor Networks
Online Social Networks
Cyber-Physical Systems
Jiacheng Shang profile photo

Jiacheng Shang

Assistant Professor

Email
shangj@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327E
Cybersecurity, mobile sensing, and cyber-physical systems
Kazi Zakia Sultana profile photo

Kazi Zakia Sultana

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-4363
Email
sultanak@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327C
Empirical Software Engineering
Software Metrics
Software Quality
Software Security
Graph Algorithms
Software Vulnerability Prediction
Aparna Varde profile photo

Aparna Varde

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-4292
Email
vardea@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227A
Artificial Intelligence - Commonsense Knowledge, Smart Cities, App Development with HCI & IoT, Implicit Requirements in Software Engineering, Collaborative Robotics, Expert Systems, Information Retrieval

Machine Learning and Data Mining - Predictive Analytics, Decision Support Systems, Domain-Specific Knowledge Discovery, Text Mining and Linguistics Issues, Scientific Data Analysis

Database Systems - Big Data Management, Cloud Computing, Web Databases, XML and DSML

Environmental Computing (Env. Sc. & Mgmt. PhD Program) - Green IT, Urban Policy, Geo-informatics

HIGHLIGHTS
Best Paper Award, IT Track (Short Paper), IEEE IEMTRONICS, Toronto, Canada, Apr 2021 -
https://www.montclair.edu/computer-science/2021/05/03/student-faculty-awarded-for-covid-information-research/

Information to Wisdom: Commonsense Knowledge Extraction and Compilation, Research Tutorial at ACM WSDM, Israel (Online Conference) Mar 2021 -
https://dl.acm.org/doi/10.1145/3437963.3441664

Best Paper Award, Robotics Track, IEEE IEMTRONICS, Vancouver Canada, Sep 2020 - https://www.montclair.edu/csam/2020/09/14/computer-science-student-and-faculty-receive-best-paper-award-at-ieee-iemtronics-2020/

Meeting Turing Awardees Yann LeCun, Geoffrey Hinton, Yoshua Bengio; Nobel Laureate Daniel Kahneman; Chess Grand Master Garry Kasparov; AI Book Author Stuart Russell at AAAI:2020 -
https://twitter.com/lab_nlp/status/1227785956016693249

Best Paper Award, IoT Track, IEEE UEMCON, Columbia University, NY, Oct 2019 -
https://www.montclair.edu/computer-science/2019/12/04/best-paper-uemcon-2019/

Mention in NJ Newspaper, w.r.t. discussing Robotics and "Wave of the Future", Jun 2018 -
https://www.montclair.edu/computer-science/2018/06/18/professor-discusses-robotics-and-our-future/

Meeting Sir Tim Berners Lee, Turing Award Winner and Inventor of the World Wide Web, Apr 2018 -
https://www.montclair.edu/computer-science/2018/10/09/professor-presents-at-www-conference/

Commonsense for Machine Intelligence: Text to Knowledge and Knowledge to Text, Research Tutorial in ACM CIKM, Singapore, Nov 2017 -
http://people.mpi-inf.mpg.de/~ntandon/presentations/cikm-2017-tutorial-commonsense/

Best Graduate Research Presentation Award, Montclair State Univ. Research Symposium, Apr 2017 -
https://www.facebook.com/msucomputerscience/photos/a.861972677151272/1851150778233452/?type=3&theater

Best Paper Award, Big Data Track, IEEE UEMCON, Columbia University, NY, Oct 2016 -
https://www.montclair.edu/computer-science/2016/12/14/faculty-earns-best-paper-recognition/

Founder and Chair of PIKM: PhD Workshops in ACM CIKM (Conference on Information and Knowledge Management) - PIKM 2014: Shanghai, China, Nov 2014 -
https://dl.acm.org/doi/proceedings/10.1145/2663714
Dajin Wang profile photo

Dajin Wang

Professor

Phone
973-655-7615
Email
wangd@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327M
Interconnection Networks
Fault-tolerant Computing
Parallel and Distributed Computing
Wireless Mobile and Sensor Networks
Algorithmic Robotics
Jiayin Wang profile photo

Jiayin Wang

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-3330
Email
wangji@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227D
Her research interests include big data, cloud computing, mobile computing, and wireless networks. She is working on resource management scheduling and performance evaluation in big data computing systems.
Weitian Wang profile photo

Weitian Wang

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-5269
Email
wangw@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 227C
Collaborative Robotics
Human-Robot Interaction
Smart Cyber-Physical Systems
Human Factors and Cognitive Ergonomics in HRI
Distributed Robotics and Control Systems
Artificial Intelligence
Multimodal Sensing
Hongbo Zhou profile photo

Hongbo Zhou

Instructional Specialist

Phone
973-655-7257
Email
zhouh@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327G
Some topics he has contributed include recognition of human faces, sports recognition, and open-environment continuous activities recognition, fast subspace and manifold embedding, concurrent features selection, structure from motion, mechanisms about brain’s response to excitements, theoretical explorations, machine perception based trading and investment, data driven asset management in global markets, etc. Some of his publications appeared in premium venues such as TPAMI, TNNLS, CVPR, NIPS, etc.
Michelle Zhu profile photo

Michelle Zhu

Professor

Phone
973-655-4289
Email
zhumi@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Computing and Information Science, 327B
Parallel and Distributed Computing, Distributed Systems and Big Data.

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct offices are located in the Center for Computing and Information Science rooms 239 and 339.

NameEmail
Olaide Agboolaagboolao@montclair.edu
Yuksel Aslandoganaslandogany@montclair.edu
Edward Bandukbanduke@montclair.edu
Harika Boddubodduh@montclair.edu
Gary Buhlerbuhlerg@montclair.edu
Michael Connellconnellmi@montclair.edu
Stella Coutrascoutrass@montclair.edu
Nanying Jiajian@montclair.edu
Katrina Kaokaok@montclair.edu
Igor Kaplunkapluni@montclair.edu
Minas Kousouliskousoulism@montclair.edu
Chon Lintakoonlintakoonc@montclair.edu
Keith Lisalisak@montclair.edu
Luke Maciakmaciakl@montclair.edu
Abdou Mbowmbowa@montclair.edu
Richard Myersmyersr@montclair.edu
Kei Larkinngk@montclair.edu
Farshad Ravanshadravanshadf@montclair.edu
Sotiris Skevoulisskevouliss@montclair.edu
Maggie Zhangzhangmi@montclair.edu
Wei Zhangzhangw@montclair.edu
Michael Zobbizobbim@montclair.edu
Tamer Avcilaravcilart@montclair.edu
Charles Njogunjoguc@montclair.edu
Daqing Yunyund@montclair.edu