Intramural Basketball Playoffs - Semi Finals

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

It’s Spring A playoff time in Intramural Sports and the March Madness is in full swing! The schedule is packed tonight with nail-biting semi-final action. In our first game we have the Football Squad going up against The Ivy League. The Ivy League cruised to the number 2 seed in this year’s Men’s A bracket led by Michael Lewis and the sharp-shooting Dung Le Danh. The Football Squad has quietly put together an impressive season under Captain Joe LaSala and recorded a 4-1 record during the season and pose a viable threat to the favored Ivy League. The winner of this game will go on to play to Raw Dogs, who earned the right to play for the Men’s A championship this Monday against the Hawks. The Raw Dogs got it done with a balanced attack led by Xavier Warner scoring 10 points. Close behind were Justin McGhee, Shaun Bach, Kevin Boehler, and Billy Rooney, all with 9 points. Tyler McKinnon led the way for the Hawks with 14 in the loss.

In other action we have the AIX Coyotes taking on the Commanders in our Women’s semi-final game. The Commanders Sheneya Murphy looks to continue her domination of the Women’s league and carry her team to the finals. The evenly matched teams both struggled this season to identical 1-3 records, but still find themselves with a great opportunity to advance to take on the Lady Agents led by Devin McNamara and Jessica Horan.

Also playing out tonight will be our Men’s B semi-finals with the Score-gazims taking on perennial powerhouses, the Lansers. After an improbable short-handed win in the quarterfinals, the Score-gazims upset a Beat Lab team that has looked strong all season. Leading the way for them was Pat Tynion with 16 and Lou Cautero netting 13. Brian Rock put up 21 in a losing effort for the Beat Lab.

The Lansers advanced to the semi-finals defeating Pippin Ain’t Easy and the Hotas comfortably this past Monday. As usual the Lansers got it done with a little help from the entire team and an outstanding 21 point performance from Will O’Connor in the quarterfinals.

On the other side of the Men’s B bracket we have the Condors and Waste Management battling for their spot in the title game. Waste Management upset the Free Ballers in blowout fashion to advance with a 14 point performance from CJ Adams and 13 for Salim Laib. The Free Ballers put together a stellar season to earn the 3 seed, but were outmatched by Waste Management.

The Condors opened up their playoffs with a blowout win versus Balls Big, led by 15 points from Dan Watts. Matthew Stauder of Balls Big was the game’s leading scorer with 18, but received little help. Next on the schedule the Condors had a veteran Broadstreet Bullies team. Dan Watts again carried the way with an inspiring performance putting in 25 points in a narrow victory for the Condors. The Bullies fought hard the entire way,  but Watts was too much in the end.

In our Co-ed semi-final game the Funky Techno Giraffe will look to knock off the powerhouse 40/40 Club. The 40/40 Club took the regular season matchup 61-17 and hope to do the same to earn the right to take on a Ball ‘Til We Fall team led by Donovan Bembridge. The 40/40 Club boasts Intramural stars such as Justin McGhee, Kevin Boehler, Lauri Sarni, Devin McNamara, and Men’s A rivals Xavier Warner and Mike Lewis. Funky Techno Giraffe is led by the speedy, sharpshooter Adrian Perry.

In our final game of the night we have Greek rivals Sigma Pi and Pike batting for the right to take on Tau Phi Beta in the Greek Championship game. Sigma Pi settled for the 2 seed this season after suffering a heart-breaking loss late in the season to Tau Phi Beta. Pike suffered their only loss of the season to the tough Sigma Pi team in their regular season matchup. Tau Phi Beta Captain Justin Pitman and leading scored Mike Forsthoff will eagerly be awaiting the winner.

Winners of tonight’s games will all play in the Championship games talking place this Sunday. Greek will open up the night at 6 PM, with Women’s and Men’s B following. Our Coed Championship will take place at 9PM, followed by Men’s A at 10.