Student with a dragnet walking in lake.

EAES Faculty and Staff

Chairperson

Clement Alo profile photo

Clement Alo

Chairperson

Phone
973-655-7579
Email
aloc@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 402
Regional Climate and Ecosystem Modeling
Coupled Surface Water-Groundwater Modeling
Land-Atmosphere Interactions
Surface Hydrology
Hydroclimatology
Ecohydrological Impacts of Climate Variability and Change

Staff

NameTitleLocationPhoneEmail
Patti FlatleySecretarial Assistant I/Non-StenoCenter for Environmental & Life Sciences, 220973-655-4448flatleyp@montclair.edu
Xiaona LiAnalytical Instrumentation SpecialistCenter for Environmental & Life Sciences, 316973-655-3613lix@montclair.edu
Yoko SatoLaboratory SpecialistCenter for Environmental & Life Sciences, 220B973-655-4418satoyo@montclair.edu

Faculty

Stefanie Brachfeld profile photo

Stefanie Brachfeld

Acting Vice Provost for Research

Phone
973-655-5129
Email
brachfelds@montclair.edu
Location
The School of Nursing and The Graduate School, 487B
Global climate change, paleoclimatology, marine geology and geophysics, paleomagnetism, environmental change in Antarctica and the Arctic Ocean, Earth systems science, planetary magnetism, geochemistry, and light and electron microscopy
Mark Chopping profile photo

Mark Chopping

Professor

Phone
973-655-7384
Email
choppingm@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 312
Remote Sensing
BRDF and Canopy Reflectance Modeling
Terrestrial Ecology/Carbon Cycle Science
Geographical Information Systems
Ying Cui profile photo

Ying Cui

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-7273
Email
cuiy@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 418
Time intervals in the geologic past when the rate of greenhouse gas release is faster than the background rate, for example, mass extinction events and extreme global warming events.
Yang Deng profile photo

Yang Deng

Professor

Phone
973-655-6678
Email
dengy@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 424
SELECTED AWARDS:
2022, Project Innovation Award (Gold Winner), International Water Association (IWA)
2020, University Distinguished Scholar, MSU
2019, Superior Achievement Award, American Academy of Environmental Engineers & Scientists (AAEES)
2018, Nanova Frontier Research Award, hinese-American Professors in Environmental Engineering and Science (CAPEES) Society
2017, Johnson A. Edosomwan Outstanding Publication Award, Y. Deng and J. Englehardt (2007) “Electrochemical Oxidation for Landfill Leachate Treatment,” Waste Management, 27(3), 380-388 (College of Engineering, the University of Miami)
2016, Best Alumni Achievement Award Over the Past Fifteen Years (2001-2016) (School of Environmental Engineering and Science, Tongji University, Shanghai, China)
2016, Faculty Award for Excellence in Research, College of Science and Mathematics, MSU
2014, Johnson A. Edosomwan Outstanding Publication Award, Y. Deng and J. Englehardt (2006)“Treatment of Landfill Leachate by the Fenton Process,” Water Research, 40 (20), 3683-3694 (College of Engineering, University of Miami)
2010, Outstanding Professor Award, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Puerto Rico – Mayaguez

External Grants: $4.7+ million

PUBLICATIONS: 150 (139 peer-reviewed articles, 4 editorials, 2 viewpoint papers, and 5 book chapters)

Citations (11,500+; h-index = 50) (https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=MXiF1xkAAAAJ&hl=en&oi=ao)

Top 2% of scientists and engineers (arranged by c-scores) in the subfields of Environmental Engineering and Environmental Science as listed by Stanford University in 2021


Huan Feng profile photo

Huan Feng

Professor

Phone
973-655-7549
Email
fengh@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 422
Natural radionuclides as tracers for trace metal biogeochemical cycle; Riverine, estuarine and marine environmental pollution and assessment; land-sea trace element transport; laboratory QA/QC procedures; application of synchrotron-based technology in micro-scale study of chemical speciation and concentrations of trace elements, and structural characterization and visualization of geological materials; sediment decontamination technology development.
Josh Galster profile photo

Josh Galster

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-4123
Email
galsterj@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 320
I work on rivers, watersheds, and how we interact with them. Projects including flood mitigation, river surveys, and watershed-scale GIS projects.

Matthew Gorring profile photo

Matthew Gorring

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-5409
Email
gorringm@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 318
Pankaj Lal profile photo

Pankaj Lal

Professor

Phone
973-655-3137
Email
lalp@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 426
Environmental Policy and Economics
Energy Geography
Climate Change
Resource Management and Conservation
Jorge Lorenzo Trueba profile photo

Jorge Lorenzo Trueba

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-5320
Email
lorenzotruej@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 302
Mathematical Modeling of Earth’s Dynamical Systems
Linkages between coastal geomorphology, ecology, and human activities
Linkages between coastal geomorphology and stratigraphy
Duke Ophori profile photo

Duke Ophori

Professor

Phone
973-655-7558
Email
ophorid@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 310
Hydrogeology, Regional Groundwater Flow, Numerical Modeling of Groundwater Flow, Mathematical Modeling of Contaminant Transport in Groundwater
Sandra Passchier profile photo

Sandra Passchier

Professor

Phone
973-655-3185
Email
passchiers@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 324
The ice and ocean sediment group analyses geological archives to determine the effects of ice-sheet change on sea level and ocean circulation. Sedimentological and geochemical laboratory methods are employed to inform reconstructions of weathering, provenance (igneous and metamorphic source rocks), depositional environments, and the energy of currents through time. Grain-size distributions, mineralogy and major and trace element composition of the detrital fraction of sediment samples are collected along depth transects exposed in outcrops and drillcores. Furthermore, time series are analyzed to assess variability in the drivers and rates of ice sheet, ocean, and sea level change.
Greg Pope profile photo

Greg Pope

Professor

Phone
973-655-7569
Email
popeg@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 220C
Earth surface processes, physical geography, environmental change, and geoarchaeology.

Teaching:
1) Soil science
2) Geomorphology
3) Research methods
4) Weather and climate
5) Geoarchaeology
6) General physical geography and Earth science

Research topics:
1) Rock weathering and soil formation processes. Applications toward paleoclimate interpretation, landscape evolution, and extreme event impacts (such as forest fires).

2) Stone conservation. Deterioration of ancient and historic stone monuments and architecture. Deterioration of archaeological objects. Impacts of acid precipitation.

3) Climatic and weather hazards, such as severe storms, global warming, and air pollution.

4) Environmental change evident in soil and sedimentary record, particularly in New Jersey.
Robert Taylor profile photo

Robert Taylor

Professor

Phone
973-655-4129
Email
taylorr@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 414
Specialties are in: urban environmental management;sustainability planning for global cities; environmental policy; sustainability science; and environmental communications.

Current Position:

Coordinator, Professional Science Master of Science in Sustainability Science at Montclair State University

Professor, Organizational and Urban Sustainability in the Department of Earth & Environmental Studies, Montclair State University – Montclair, New Jersey USA.

Graduate Faculty, PhD Program in Environmental Management at Montclair State University

Teaching Specialties: Responsible for teaching both graduate and undergraduate courses in the following specialties:

Urban Sustainability - Best Practices for Sustainable Management of Cities.

Organizational Sustainability – Best Practices for Business Sustainable Management.

Environmental Policy and Communications - Sustainability Reporting; Conflict Resolution

Courses Offered:

Current Issues in Sustainability Science (Graduate)
Organizational Environmental Management (Graduate)
Environmental Change & Communications (Graduate)
Sustainability Science Seminar (Undergraduate)
Sustainability Science Capstone Internship Project (Graduate)
The Human Environment/Sustainability (Undergraduate)
Introduction to Sustainability Science (Undergraduate)


Danlin Yu profile photo

Danlin Yu

Professor

Phone
973-655-4313
Email
yud@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 314
Geographic Information Science / Spatial Data Analysis
Urban Geography / Regional Geography
Regional Development / Planning
China

Emeritus Faculty

Michael Kruge

Michael A. Kruge

Professor Emeritus

Email
krugem@montclair.edu
Research Interests
Environmental Geochemistry
Organic Geochemistry
Environmental Forensics
Energy and the Environment
Dr. Harbans Singh

Harbans Singh

Professor Emeritus

Email
singhh@montclair.edu
Research Interests
Regional Demography
Natural Resources
Agriculture

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct offices are located in CELS 232.

NameEmail
Michael Ayersayersm@montclair.edu
Anthony Bonassisa IIIbonassisaa@montclair.edu
Rae Cadecader@montclair.edu
Joseph J Di Giannidigiannij@montclair.edu
William Haineshainesw@montclair.edu
Melissa Hansenhansenm@montclair.edu
Lisa Johnsonjohnsonl@montclair.edu
Jesse Kolodinkolodinj@montclair.edu
Edward Konsevickkonsevicke@montclair.edu
Sana Mirzamirzas@montclair.edu
Sarah Nassenasses@montclair.edu
Jing Nieniej@montclair.edu
Felix Otengotengf@montclair.edu
Aditi Ranjanranjana@montclair.edu
Christine Valentivalentic@montclair.edu
Michael Viterittoviterittom@montclair.edu
Anvy Vuvua@montclair.edu
Melissa Chamberschambersm@montclair.edu
Diane Hagmannhagmannd@montclair.edu
Nicole Provostprovostn@montclair.edu
Gary Schwartzschwartzg@montclair.edu
Eric Sternsterne@montclair.edu