Student with a dragnet walking in lake.

EAES Faculty and Staff

Acting Chairperson

Huan Feng profile photo

Huan Feng

Chairperson (Acting)

Phone
973-655-7549
Email
fengh@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 422
Research Interests
Natural radionuclides as tracers for trace metal biogeochemical cycle
Riverine, estuarine and marine environmental pollution and assessment
Land-sea trace element transport
Laboratory QA/QC procedures
Applying synchrotron technology in the micro-scale study of chemical speciation and concentrations of trace elements, and structural character and visualization of geological materials
Sediment decontamination technology development.

Staff

NameTitleLocationPhoneEmail
Patti FlatleySecretarial Assistant III/Non-StenoCenter for Environmental & Life Sciences, 220973-655-4448flatleyp@montclair.edu
Xiaona LiAnalytical Instrumentation SpecialistCenter for Environmental & Life Sciences, 316973-655-3613lix@montclair.edu
Yoko SatoLaboratory SpecialistCenter for Environmental & Life Sciences, 220B973-655-4418satoyo@montclair.edu

Faculty

Clement Alo profile photo

Clement Alo

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-7579
Email
aloc@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 402

Advisor: BS Sustainability Science
Coordinator: MS in Sustainability Science (Online Only)

Research Interests
Regional Climate and Ecosystem Modeling
Coupled Surface Water-Groundwater Modeling
Land-Atmosphere Interactions
Surface Hydrology
Hydroclimatology
Ecohydrological Impacts of Climate Variability and Change
Stefanie Brachfeld profile photo

Stefanie Brachfeld

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Research

Phone
973-655-5129
Email
brachfelds@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 206A
Research Interests
Global climate change, paleoclimatology, marine geology and geophysics, paleomagnetism, environmental change in Antarctica and the Arctic Ocean, Earth systems science, planetary magnetism, geochemistry, and light and electron microscopy
Mark Chopping profile photo

Mark Chopping

Professor

Phone
973-655-7384
Email
choppingm@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 312

Also Director of the Environmental Science and Management PhD

Research Interests
Remote Sensing
BRDF and Canopy Reflectance Modeling
Terrestrial Ecology/Carbon Cycle Science
Geographical Information Systems
Ying Cui profile photo

Ying Cui

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-7273
Email
cuiy@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 418
Research Interests
Time intervals in the geologic past when the rate of greenhouse gas release is faster than the background rate, for example, mass extinction events and extreme global warming events.
Yang Deng profile photo

Yang Deng

Professor

Phone
973-655-6678
Email
dengy@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 424

Coordinator: MS in Earth and Environmental Science

Research Interests
Physicochemical Processes for Water Treatment/Water Reuse
Green Urban Stormwater Treatment
Aquatic Chemistry
Sustainable Management of Landfill Leachate
Josh Galster profile photo

Josh Galster

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-4123
Email
galsterj@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 320

Advisor: BS Earth and Environmental Science

Research Interests
Rivers, watersheds, and how we interact with them.
Projects including flood mitigation, river surveys, and watershed-scale GIS projects.
Matthew Gorring profile photo

Matthew Gorring

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-5409
Email
gorringm@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 318

Advisor: BS Earth and Environmental Science AdvisorWater Resource Management Minor Advisor

Pankaj Lal profile photo

Pankaj Lal

Professor

Phone
973-655-3137
Email
lalp@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 426

Advisor: BA Geography

Research Interests
Environmental Economics and Policy
Energy Geography
Climate Change
Economic Modeling and Impact Analysis
Resource Management and Conservation
Jorge Lorenzo Trueba profile photo

Jorge Lorenzo Trueba

Associate Professor

Phone
973-655-5320
Email
lorenzotruej@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 302
Research Interests
Mathematical Modeling of Earth’s Dynamical Systems
Linkages between coastal geomorphology, ecology, and human activities
Linkages between coastal geomorphology and stratigraphy
Jessica Miller profile photo

Jessica Miller

Assistant Professor

Phone
973-655-4500
Email
miller1j@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 412
Research Interests
Environmental and human geography
Sustainability policy
Urban political ecology
Environmental inequity, perception, health, and planning
Water contamination and resources
Environmental gentrification and displacement
Brownfields
Waterfront redevelopment
Duke Ophori profile photo

Duke Ophori

Professor

Phone
973-655-7558
Email
ophorid@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 310

Advisor: BS Earth and Environmental Science

Research Interests
Hydrogeology
Regional Groundwater Flow
Numerical Modeling of Groundwater Flow
Mathematical Modeling of Contaminant Transport in Groundwater
Sandra Passchier profile photo

Sandra Passchier

Professor

Phone
973-655-3185
Email
passchiers@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 324
Research Interests
Sedimentary Geology
Ocean Drilling
Paleoclimatology
Continental Margins
Polar Science
Glacial Processes
Seafloor Processes

Visit me in the Sedimentology Laboratory, CELS 305G.

Greg Pope profile photo

Greg Pope

Professor

Phone
973-655-7569
Email
popeg@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 220C
Research Interests
Earth surface processes, physical geography, environmental change, and geoarchaeology. Specifically:

  1. Rock weathering and soil formation processes. Applications toward paleoclimate interpretation, landscape evolution, and extreme event impacts (such as forest fires).
  2. Stone conservation. Deterioration of ancient and historic stone monuments and architecture. Deterioration of archaeological objects. Impacts of acid precipitation.
  3. Climatic and weather hazards, such as severe storms, global warming, and air pollution.
  4. Environmental change evident in soil and sedimentary record, particularly in New Jersey.
Harbans Singh profile photo

Harbans Singh

Professor

Phone
973-655-7383
Email
singhh@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 416
Robert Taylor profile photo

Robert Taylor

Professor

Phone
973-655-4129
Email
taylorr@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 414

Coordinator: MS Sustainability Science

Research Interests
Urban environmental management
Sustainability planning for global cities
Environmental policy
Sustainability science
Environmental communications
Amy Tuininga profile photo

Amy Tuininga

Director, PSEG Institute for Sustainability Studies

Phone
973-655-3667
Email
tuiningaa@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 100G
Danlin Yu profile photo

Danlin Yu

Professor

Phone
973-655-4313
Email
yud@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 314

Advisor: GIS Minor and GIS Certificate

Research Interests
Geographic Information Science / Spatial Data Analysis
Urban Geography / Regional Geography
Regional Development / Planning
China

Emeritus Faculty

Michael Kruge

Michael A. Kruge

Professor Emeritus

Email
krugem@montclair.edu
Research Interests
Environmental Geochemistry
Organic Geochemistry
Environmental Forensics
Energy and the Environment

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct offices are located in CELS 232.

NameEmail
Michael Ayersayersm@montclair.edu
Anthony Bonassisa IIIbonassisaa@montclair.edu
Joseph J Di Giannidigiannij@montclair.edu
Paul Erricoerricop@montclair.edu
Melissa Hansenhansenm@montclair.edu
Jesse Kolodinkolodinj@montclair.edu
Edward Konsevickkonsevicke@montclair.edu
Sarah Nassenasses@montclair.edu
Aditi Ranjanranjana@montclair.edu
Gary Schwartzschwartzg@montclair.edu
Eric Sternsterne@montclair.edu
Christine Valentivalentic@montclair.edu