Student with a dragnet walking in lake.

EAES Faculty and Staff

Chairperson

Greg Pope

Greg Pope
Interim Chair; BA Geography Advisor
CELS 220C
popeg@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7569

Research Interests

Earth surface processes, physical geography, environmental change, and geoarchaeology.; Specifically:; 1) Rock weathering and soil formation processes. Applications toward paleoclimate interpretation, landscape evolution, and extreme event impacts (such as forest fires).; 2) Stone conservation. Deterioration of ancient and historic stone monuments and architecture. Deterioration of archaeological objects. Impacts of acid precipitation.; 3) Climatic and weather hazards, such as severe storms, global warming, and air pollution.; 4) Environmental change evident in soil and sedimentary record, particularly in New Jersey.

Faculty and Staff

Clement Alo

Clement Alo
Associate Professor; BS Sustainability Science Advisor
CELS 402
aloc@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7579

Research Interests

Regional Climate and Ecosystem Modeling; Coupled Surface Water-Groundwater Modeling; Land-Atmosphere Interactions; Surface Hydrology; Hydroclimatology; Ecohydrological Impacts of Climate Variability and Change

Stefanie Brachfeld

Stefanie Brachfeld
Acting Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
CELS 206A
brachfelds@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-5129

Research Interests

Global climate change, paleoclimatology, marine geology and geophysics, paleomagnetism, environmental change in Antarctica and the Arctic Ocean, Earth systems science, planetary magnetism, geochemistry, and light and electron microscopy

Mark Chopping

Mark Chopping
Professor; Director, PhD in Environmental Management
CELS 312
choppingm@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7384

Research Interests

Remote Sensing ; BRDF and Canopy Reflectance Modeling; Terrestrial Ecology/Carbon Cycle Science; Geographical Information Systems

Yang Deng

Yang Deng
Associate Professor
CELS 352A
dengy@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-6678

Research Interests

Physicochemical Processes for Water Treatment/Water Reuse; Green Urban Stormwater Treatment; Aquatic Chemistry; Sustainable Management of Landfill Leachate; (Please see detail in my CV below);

Huan Feng

Huan Feng
Professor
CELS 422
fengh@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7549

Research Interests

Natural radionuclides as tracers for trace metal biogeochemical cycle; Riverine, estuarine and marine environmental pollution and assessment; land-sea trace element transport; laboratory QA/QC procedures; application of synchrotron-based technology in micro-scale study of chemical speciation and concentrations of trace elements, and structural characterization and visualization of geological materials; sediment decontamination technology development.

Josh Galster

Joshua Galster
Associate Professor; BS Earth and Environmental Science Advisor
CELS 320
galsterj@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4123

Research Interests

I work on rivers, watersheds, and how we interact with them. Projects including flood mitigation, river surveys, and watershed-scale GIS projects.;

Matt Gorring

Matthew Gorring
Associate Professor; BS Earth and Environmental Science Advisor; Water Resource Management Minor Advisor
CELS 318
gorringm@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-5409

Michael Kruge

Michael Kruge
Professor; Environmental Forensics Cert Advisor
CELS 322
krugem@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7902

Research Interests

Environmental geochemistry and forensics of organic contaminants in sediments; Marine, estuarine and lacustrine biogeochemistry. Geochemistry of peat; Fossil organic matter as indicator of environmental change; Applications of analytical pyrolysis-gas chromatography/mass spectrometry; Biological marker compounds and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons in, petroleum, petroleum source rocks, oil shales, coal and sediments.; Nature of organic sulfur in fossil fuels, a precursor of acid rain.

Pankaj Lal

Pankaj Lal
Associate Professor; BA Geography Advisor
CELS 426
lalp@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-3137

Research Interests

Environmental Economics and Policy; Energy Geography; Climate Change ; Economic Modeling and Impact Analysis ; Resource Management and Conservation;

Jorge Lorenzo Trueba

Jorge Lorenzo Trueba
Assistant Professor
CELS 302
lorenzotruej@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-5320

Research Interests

Mathematical Modeling of Earth’s Dynamical Systems; Linkages between coastal geomorphology, ecology, and human activities; Linkages between coastal geomorphology and stratigraphy;

Xiaona Li

Xiaona Li
Analytical Instrumentation Specialist
CELS 316
lix@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-3613

Research Interests

element geochemical cycling in the water, sediment, soil and geological rocks

Jessica Miller

Jessica Miller
Assistant Professor of Earth and Environmental Studies
miller1j@mail.montclair.edu

Research Interests

Environmental and human geography; sustainability policy; urban political ecology; environmental inequity, perception, health, and planning; water contamination and resources; environmental gentrification and displacement; brownfields; waterfront redevelopment

Duke Ophori

Duke Ophori
Professor; BS Earth and Environmental Science Advisor
CELS 310
ophorid@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-7558

Research Interests

Hydrogeology, Regional Groundwater Flow, Numerical Modeling of Groundwater Flow, Mathematical Modeling of Contaminant Transport in Groundwater

Sandra Passchier

Sandra Passchier
Professor; MS in Earth and Environmental Science Coordinator
CELS 324
passchiers@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-3185

Research Interests

Sedimentary Geology; Ocean Drilling; Paleoclimatology; Continental Margins; Polar Science; Glacial Processes; Seafloor Processes. I run the Sedimentology Laboratory, now located in CELS 305G.

Yoko Sato

Yoko Sato
Laboratory Specialist
CELS 220B
satoyo@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4418

Robert Taylor

Robert Taylor
Professor; MS Sustainability Science Coordinator
CELS 414
taylorr@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4129

Research Interests

Specialties are in: urban environmental management;sustainability planning for global cities; environmental policy; sustainability science; and environmental communications.

Danlin Yu

Danlin Yu
Associate Professor, GIS Minor and GIS Certificate Advisor
CELS 314
yud@mail.montclair.edu
973-655-4313

Research Interests

Geographic Information Science / Spatial Data Analysis; Urban Geography / Regional Geography; Regional Development / Planning; China

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email Office Phone
Anthony Bonassisa III bonassisaa@mail.montclair.edu N/A 973-655-4448
James O. Brown brownj@mail.montclair.edu N/A 973-655-4448
Joseph J Di Gianni digiannij@mail.montclair.edu N/A 973-655-4448
Amy Ferdinand ferdinanda@mail.montclair.edu OVLK 973-655-4367
Melissa Hansen hansenm@mail.montclair.edu N/A
Jesse Kolodin kolodinj@mail.montclair.edu N/A 973-655-4448
Edward Konsevick konsevicke@mail.montclair.edu N/A 973-655-4448
Sarah Nasse nasses@mail.montclair.edu N/A 973-655-4448
Christine Valenti valentic@mail.montclair.edu N/A 973-655-4448