flowering trees

Awards and Scholarships

2020 English Department Scholarships and Awards

The English Department warmly congratulates the winners of this year’s awards.

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

The Frank G. and Nicole McGuire Scholarship for a full-time undergraduate English major with at least 3.2 cumulative GPA.

Winner:  John O’Brien
Honorable Mention:  Derek Jacobson

The Vivien L. Kwiatek Scholarship for an outstanding undergraduate English major or graduate student. This scholarship is determined based on both a student’s academic achievement and financial need.

Winners:  Asma Dalia, Sidra Habal, Magdaleen Nasser, Justine Prusiensky, Sarah Sturm, Luke Winnicki

The Bessie Saslaw Solomon Memorial Scholarship for an English major who has shown a commitment to making a difference in the lives of people in the community. Possible activities could include, but are not limited to, tutoring those who cannot read or who are learning English as a second language; bringing the beauty of the English language to the community in some way; organizing others to do these or other projects. Particular consideration is given to students interested in teaching. Students must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and 3.5 in the major.

Winner:  Veronica Pantrantolfi
Honorable Mention:  Bernadette Basca

The Shari Kandell Scholarship for an undergraduate English major who is employed while pursuing their studies.  Preference is given to part-time students employed at least 20 hours per week. Must have at least a 3.0 GPA.

Winner: Hope Ortiz

The W. Leonard Newman Award for excellence in writing about film

Winner:  William Noon
Honorable Mention:  Chris Condon

English Department Teacher Education Award for an outstanding undergraduate English Education student who has met all requirements for acceptance into the English Education Program.

Winner:  Malik Naloev
Honorable Mention:  Erica Russelman

W. Bernard Fleischmann Memorial Award for an English major who has shown excellence in the study of the humanities.

Winner:  Sierra Javras
Honorable Mention:  Luke Winnicki

The Anthony Lovasco Shakespeare Award for an English major who has shown excellence in Shakespeare studies. 

Winner: Nina Stupar
Honorable Mention: John O’Brien

Elizabeth Dean Eler Memorial Award for an outstanding essay by an undergraduate student focusing on poetry. This award was created by Barbara Eler in celebration of her mother, Elizabeth Dean Eler, a graduate of Montclair State in 1940, a dedicated high school teacher and poetry enthusiast. Recipient must have a minimum GPA of 3.2 or above.

Winner:  Evan Dekens
Honorable Mention:  Sierra Javras

Creative Writing Awards

–  The Johnny Muller Memorial Scholarship in Fiction.

Winner: Nelson Vazquez
Honorable Mention: Nina Stupar

The Tom Benediktsson Award for Poetry

Winner:  Sarah Sturm
Honorable Mention: Charlie Hilifiker

The Carter Ross Flash Fiction Award

Winner:  Willow Bryar
Honorable Mention: Nathalie Vallovera

The English Department Award for Creative Nonfiction

Winner: Kaleigh Nye
Honorable Mention: Nathalie Vallovera

Graduate Scholarships and Awards

These awards are granted to students enrolled in the Montclair State University English MA program who are in the advanced stages of study but still have at least one semester of full-time enrollment remaining.

The Mary Bondon Graduate Scholarship for an outstanding graduate student who intends to pursue a career in teaching English at the high school or college level.

Winner: Eman Halimeh
Honorable Mention: Brielle Babiar

The Lawrence H. Conrad Memorial Scholarship for an outstanding student who is writing a thesis in American Literature.

Winner:  Jessica Schwartz
Honorable Mention:  Elizabeth Hook