Faculty & Research

Faculty in the Marine Biology and Coastal Sciences program engage students in research and educational opportunities spanning the world. As a student, you have the opportunity to pursue marine biology and marine biological research. Dr. Bologna has been leading research and educational trips to St. Johns Island (US Virgin Islands) since 2003. This work has yielded three papers published with students and over 12 scientific presentations. Drs. Brachfeld and Passchier have traveled to Antarctica to investigate polar sediments and students have traveled with them to pursue research. Additionally, the University has a vibrant Study Abroad Program and opportunities such as Operation Wallacea, Three Seas Program, Semester at Sea, and courses and research through the New Jersey Marine Science Consortium.

Students in the program engage in both undergraduate and graduate research. Research opportunities abound in marine biology, aquatic ecology, geosciences, and environmental sciences for students in the program. Many student research projects are presented at regional and national meetings and many have been published in research journals.

Click on the Faculty members name to view their profile where you can find information regarding their research interests.

Paul Bologna profile photo

Paul Bologna

Professor, Biology

Phone
973-655-4112
Email
bolognap@montclair.edu
Location
Science Hall, 112
Stefanie Brachfeld profile photo

Stefanie Brachfeld

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Research, College of Science and Mathematics

Phone
973-655-5129
Email
brachfelds@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 206A
Mark Chopping profile photo

Mark Chopping

Professor, Earth and Environmental Studies

Phone
973-655-7384
Email
choppingm@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 312
Huan Feng profile photo

Huan Feng

Professor, Earth and Environmental Studies

Phone
973-655-7549
Email
fengh@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 422
Lisa Hazard profile photo

Lisa Hazard

Associate Professor, Biology

Phone
973-655-3418
Email
hazardl@montclair.edu
Location
Science Hall, 121
Scott Kight profile photo

Scott Kight

Associate Dean for Student Affairs, College of Science and Mathematics

Phone
973-655-5426
Email
kights@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 206C
Lee Lee profile photo

Lee Lee

Professor, Biology

Phone
973-655-7164
Email
leel@montclair.edu
Location
Science Hall, 108
Kirsten Monsen profile photo

Kirsten Monsen

Associate Professor, Biology

Phone
973-655-7788
Email
monsenk@montclair.edu
Location
Science Hall, 135
Kevin Olsen profile photo

Kevin Olsen

Chemistry Instrument/Research Technician, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Phone
973-655-4076
Email
olsenk@montclair.edu
Location
Richardson Hall, 340
Duke Ophori profile photo

Duke Ophori

Professor, Earth and Environmental Studies

Phone
973-655-7558
Email
ophorid@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 310
Sandra Passchier profile photo

Sandra Passchier

Professor, Earth and Environmental Studies

Phone
973-655-3185
Email
passchiers@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 324
Greg Pope profile photo

Greg Pope

Chairperson, Earth and Environmental Studies

Phone
973-655-7569
Email
popeg@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 220C
Neeraj Vedwan profile photo

Neeraj Vedwan

Associate Professor, Anthropology

Phone
973-655-7503
Email
vedwann@montclair.edu
Location
Dickson Hall, 141
Danlin Yu profile photo

Danlin Yu

Professor, Earth and Environmental Studies

Phone
973-655-4313
Email
yud@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 314
Meiyin Wu profile photo

Meiyin Wu

Professor, Biology

Phone
973-655-7117
Email
wum@montclair.edu
Location
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 100D