Faculty & Staff

Tina Jacobowitz

Chair
 
Tina Jacobowitzt headshot Education — PhD, New York University; MA, University of Wisconsin; BA, Brooklyn College
Research/Interests — Literacy, critical thinking, social justice, democratic practice
Office — University Hall 3163
Phone — (973) 655-5407
Emailjacobowitzt@mail.montclair.edu

Patricia Anne Watson

Department Administrator
 
Patricia Anne Watson headshot
Office — University Hall 3167
Phone — (973) 655-7360
Emailwatsonp@mail.montclair.edu

Felicia Moore-Hines

Secretary
 
Felicia Moore-Hines headshot
Office — University Hall 3162
Phone — (973) 655-5407
Emailhinesf@mail.montclair.edu

Elizabeth Kendall
Program Coordinator, P-3 Modified Alternate Route Program
 
Elizabeth Kendall headshot Education — MTS, Drew University; BA, Glassboro College
Research/Interests — Early childhood curriculum, urban communities
Office — University Hall 2155
Phone — (973) 655-7101
Emailkendalle@mail.montclair.edu

Nancy Rosario-Layne

Assistant Coordinator, P-3 Modified Alternate Route Program
 
Nancy Rosario-Layne headshot
Office — University Hall 2157
Phone — (973) 655-6909
Emailrosariolaynn@mail.montclair.edu

Kelly Stern

Program Assistant, P-3 Modified Alternate Route Program
 
No Photo Available
Office — University Hall 2154
Phone — (973) 655-7490
Emailsternk@mail.montclair.edu

Tina Seaboch

Coordinator, Literacy and Assessment Centers
 
No Photo Available
Office — University Hall 3124
Phone — (973) 655-4247
Emailseabocht@mail.montclair.edu

Faculty

Alicia Broderick

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Syracuse University; MS, Syracuse University; BPhil, Western College, Miami University
Research/Interests — Disability studies in education; inclusive schooling reform; cultural representations of autism.
Office — University Hall
Phone — (973) 655-5407
Emailbrodericka@mail.montclair.edu

Danne E. Davis

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Boston College; MEd Wheelock College; BS Northeastern University
Research/Interests — Curriculum, critical pedagogy, elementary instruction, multiculturalism, teacher education, urban schooling
Office — University Hall 3237
Phone — (973) 655-5183
Emaildavisd@mail.montclair.edu

Elizabeth J. Erwin

 
Elizabeth Erwin headshot Education — EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; BS, Syracuse University
Research/Interests — Inclusive early childhood education, family-professional partnerships, self-determination in young children with disabilities, issues of membership and belonging
Office — University Hall 3241
Phone — (973) 655-6843
Emailerwine@mail.montclair.edu

Margaret Freedson

 
Margaret Freedson photo Education — EdD, Harvard University; MEd, Harvard University; BA, University of California, Berkeley
Research/Interests — Early literacy development and bilingualism, literacy instruction, teacher preparation
Office — University Hall 3220
Phone — (973) 655-5411
Emailfreedsonm@mail.montclair.edu

Fran Greb

 
Fran Greb headshot Education — EdD, St. John's University; MA, Newark State College; BS, Boston University
Research/Interests — Elementary education, special education, professional development schools
Office — University Hall 3181
Phone — (973) 655-7487
Emailgrebf@mail.montclair.edu

Sumi Hagiwara

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, MPhil, Teachers College, Columbia University; MS, New York University; BA, Baruch College, City University of New York
Research/Interests — Critical pedagogy, inner-city/urban elementary and middle school science education, immigrant students and families, multicultural education, emergent science education for the learning disabled
Office — University Hall 3179
Phone — (973) 655-6848
Emailhagiwaras@mail.montclair.edu

Erik Jacobson

 
Erik Jacobson headshot Education — EdD, Harvard University; EdM, Harvard University; BA, Wesleyan University
Research/Interests — Adult literacy practice and instruction, cultural variations in the definition of literacy, literacies in creole speech communities, critical pedagogy and learner leadership
Office — University Hall 3233
Phone — (973) 655-3471
Emailjacobsone@mail.montclair.edu

Michele Knobel

 
Michele Knobel picture Education — PhD, Queensland University of Technology; MEd, Queensland University of Technology; MEd, BEd, University College of Southern Queensland
Research/Interests — New technologies, in-school and out-of-school practices, classroom teaching
Office — University Hall 3232
Phone — (973) 655-5405
Emailknobelm@mail.montclair.edu

Priya Lalvani

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, The Graduate Center, CUNY; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; MS, University of Bridgeport; BA St. Xaviers' College, Mumbai
Research/Interests — Social construction of disability; families of children with disabilities; teachers' beliefs about epistemology; inclusive education
Office — University Hall 3200
Phone — (973) 655-5372
Emaillalvanip@mail.montclair.edu

Dierdre Glenn Paul

 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MED, Lehman College, CUNY; BA, University of Alabama
Research/Interests — Issues pertaining to literacy, education of U.S. blacks
Office — University Hall 3224
Phone — (973) 655-7183
Emailpauld@mail.montclair.edu

Bree Picower

 
Bree Picower headshot Education — PhD New York University; BA, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Research/Interests — Social justice education, teacher activism, race and racism in education, teacher education, elementary social studies education
Office — University Hall 3198
Phone — (973) 655-4465
Emailpicowerb@mail.montclair.edu

Victoria I. Puig

 
Victoria Puig headshot Education — EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; Bilingual Cert., CUNY; MA, MED, Teachers College, Columbia University; BA, Ithaca College
Research/Interests — Early childhood special education, cultural and linguistic diversity, partnering with families of young children with special needs, mentoring new teachers
Office — University Hall 3235
Phone — (973) 655-7159
Emailpuigv@mail.montclair.edu

Minsun Shin

 
Minsun Shin headshot Education — EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; BA, Fairleigh Dickinson University
Research/Interests — Young children's social and emotional development, teacher's role in young children's development, teacher training and professionalism, parent involvement
Office — University Hall 3228
Phone — (973) 655-6961
Emailshinm@mail.montclair.edu

Tamara Spencer

 
Tamara Spencer headshot Education — EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, University of Pennsylvania; BA, Colorado College
Research/Interests — Early childhood literacy, urban education, literacy curriculum, diverse school settings
Office — University Hall 3173
Phone — (973) 655-4255
Emailspencert@mail.montclair.edu

Sarah Wasserman

 
No Photo Available Education — MS, Bank Street College of Education; BA, Jewish Theological Seminary; BA, Columbia University
Research/Interests — Preparing teachers to teach students with disabilities in psychology, early childhood education, post-secondary education, and special education
Office — University Hall 3226
Phone — (973) 655-5407
Emailwassermans@mail.montclair.edu

Eric J. Weiner

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Pennsylvania State University; MA, University of Massachusetts; BA, University of Massachusetts
Research/Interests — Critical literacy, cultural studies, critical pedagogy, social theory
Office — University Hall 3222
Phone — (973) 655-5177
Emailweinerer@mail.montclair.edu

Linda L. Wise

 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MS, Ed, Lehman College, CUNY; BA, Syracuse University
Research/Interests — Social context issues in literacy development, teacher education
Office — University Hall 3231
Phone — (973) 655-4436
Emailwisel@mail.montclair.edu

Susan Wray

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, University of Wisconsin; MS, University of Wisconsin; BS, Northern Arizona University
Research/Interests — Teacher learning communities, teacher learning and professional development, social justice education, constructivist teaching and learning practices, teaching portfolios
Office — University Hall 3177
Phone — (973) 655-6902
Emailwrays@mail.montclair.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Courses Email
Maria Aielo ECEL maiello@montville.net
Gail Ahnemann ECEL ahnemann@verizon.net
Janet Armstrong ECEL rockserene@aol.com
Grace Bourbon ECEL bourbong@mail.montclair.edu
Joanne Cooney ECEL cooneyj@mail.montclair.edu
Rosemary Clerico ECEL rclerico@nutleyschools.org
Lynn DiMatteo ECEL DiMatteo.Lynn@cedargrove.k12.nj.us
Carla Engstrom READ engstromc@mail.montclair.edu
Rosa Espinal-Perez ECEL espinalperezr@mail.montclair.edu
Nicole Fiore-Levy ECEL nlevy@unigene.com
Kelli A. Fitzgibbons ECEL fitzgibbonsk@mail.montclair.edu
Heather Frank ECEL frankh@mail.montclair.edu
Sigrid Frawley ECEL sfrawley@tenafly.k12.nj.us
Kristin Freeh ECEL freehk@mail.montclair.edu
Michele Granger ECEL grangerm@mail.montclair.edu
Laurence Greenberg ECEL laurencedgreenberg@yahoo.com
Lynn Harvey ECEL harveyl@mail.montclair.edu
Kevin Heller ECEL khellr@newarkmuseum.org
Gwen Jackson ECEL Jgjacson_5@msn.com
Jeffrey Keith ECEL gpa88@comcast.net
Naomi Kirkman ECEL kirkmann@mail.montclair.edu
Jay Klausner ECEL klausnerj@mail.montclair.edu
Priva Lalvani ECEL lalvanip@mail.montclair.edu
Anthony Lanzo READ alanzo@veronaschools.org
Susan Latino ECEL latinos@mail.montclair.edu
Carol Lewis ECEL lewisc@mail.montclair.edu
Theresa Mangravite ECEL mangravitet@mail.montclair.edu
Jeffrey Monacelli ECEL Jmonacelli@comcast.net
Kenneth J. Monaco ECEL kjmonaco@opnonline.net
Susan Monfet ECEL susanmnft@yahoo.com
Melissa Montanez ECEL mmontanez@woboe.org
Leslie Mozulay ECEL llmoz55@aol.com
Lorraine O'Neill-Nardi ECEL flnardi@aol.com
Cherylyn Paredes ECEL paredesc@mail.montclair.edu
Arleen Perkins ECEL paredesc@mail.montclair.edu
Beverly Plein ECEL bplein@bellatlantic.net
Robert Price ECEL price@nvnet.org
Wayne Rush MEDI rushw@mail.montclair.edu
Carol Sadler READ csadler@woboe.org
Sonia Santos ECEL sonia@thelearningnook.net
Marilyn Shapiro ECEL shapirom@mail.montclair.edu
Courtney St. Prix ECEL stprixc@mail.montclair.edu
Kimberly Smith ECEL smithk@mail.montclair.edu