Faculty & Staff

Tina Jacobowitz
Chair
973-655-5407
University Hall 3163 
jacobowitzt@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, New York University; MA, University of Wisconsin; BA, Brooklyn College
Research/Interests: Literacy, critical thinking, social justice, democratic practice

 

Patricia Anne Watson headshot

Patricia Anne Watson
Department Administrator
973-655-7360
University Hall 3167
watsonp@mail.montclair.edu

 

Felicia Moore-Hines headshot

Felicia Moore-Hines
Secretary
973-655-5407
University Hall 3162 
hinesf@mail.montclair.edu

 

Elizabeth Kendall headshot

Elizabeth Kendall
Program Coordinator, P-3 Modified Alternate Route Program
973-655-7101
University Hall 2155
kendalle@mail.montclair.edu

Education: MTS, Drew University; BA, Glassboro College
Research/Interests: Early childhood curriculum, urban communities

 

Nancy Rosario-Layne headshot

Nancy Rosario-Layne
Assistant Coordinator, P-3 Modified Alternate Route Program
973-655-6909
University Hall 2157
rosariolaynn@mail.montclair.edu

 

Kelly Stern
Program Assistant, P-3 Modified Alternate Route Program
973-655-7490
University Hall 2154 
sternk@mail.montclair.edu

 

Tina Seaboch
Coordinator, Literacy and Assessment Centers
973-655-4247
University Hall 3124 
seabocht@mail.montclair.edu

 

Faculty

Alicia Broderick
973-655-5407
University Hall
brodericka@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Syracuse University; MS, Syracuse University; BPhil, Western College, Miami University
Research/Interests: Disability studies in education; inclusive schooling reform; cultural representations of autism.

 

Danne E. Davis
973-655-5183
University Hall 3237 
davisd@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Boston College; MEd Wheelock College; BS Northeastern University
Research/Interests: Curriculum, critical pedagogy, elementary instruction, multiculturalism, teacher education, urban schooling

 

Elizabeth Erwin headshot

Elizabeth J. Erwin
973-655-6843
University Hall 3241
erwine@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; BS, Syracuse University
Research/Interests: Inclusive early childhood education, family-professional partnerships, self-determination in young children with disabilities, issues of membership and belonging

 

Margaret Freedson
973-655-5411
University Hall 3220 
freedsonm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Harvard University; MEd, Harvard University; BA, University of California, Berkeley
Research/Interests: Early literacy development and bilingualism, literacy instruction, teacher preparation

 

Fran Greb headshot

Fran Greb
973-655-7487
University Hall 3181 
grebf@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, St. John's University; MA, Newark State College; BS, Boston University
Research/Interests: Elementary education, special education, professional development schools

 

Sumi Hagiwara
973-655-6848
University Hall 3179 
hagiwaras@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, MPhil, Teachers College, Columbia University; MS, New York University; BA, Baruch College, City University of New York
Research/Interests: Critical pedagogy, inner-city/urban elementary and middle school science education, immigrant students and families, multicultural education, emergent science education for the learning disabled

 

Erik Jacobson headshot

Erik Jacobson
973-655-3471
University Hall 3233
jacobsone@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Harvard University; EdM, Harvard University; BA, Wesleyan University
Research/Interests: Adult literacy practice and instruction, cultural variations in the definition of literacy, literacies in creole speech communities, critical pedagogy and learner leadership

 

Michele Knobel
973-655-5405
University Hall 3232 
knobelm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Queensland University of Technology; MEd, Queensland University of Technology; MEd, BEd, University College of Southern Queensland
Research/Interests: New technologies, in-school and out-of-school practices, classroom teaching

 

Pirya Lalvani
973-655-5372
University Hall 3200
lalvanip@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, The Graduate Center, CUNY; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; MS, University of Bridgeport; BA St. Xaviers' College, Mumbai
Research/Interests: Social construction of disability; families of children with disabilities; teachers' beliefs about epistemology; inclusive education

 

Deirdre Glenn Paul
973-655-7183
University Hall 3224 
pauld@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MED, Lehman College, CUNY; BA, University of Alabama
Research/Interests: Issues pertaining to literacy, education of U.S. blacks

 

Bree Picower headshot

Bree Picower
973-655-4465
University Hall 3198 
picowerb@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD New York University; BA, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Research/Interests: Social justice education, teacher activism, race and racism in education, teacher education, elementary social studies education

 

Victoria Puig headshot

Victoria I. Puig
973-655-7159
University Hall 3235 
puigv@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; Bilingual Cert., CUNY; MA, MED, Teachers College, Columbia University; BA, Ithaca College
Research/Interests: Early childhood special education, cultural and linguistic diversity, partnering with families of young children with special needs, mentoring new teachers

 

Minsun Shin headshot

Minsun Shin
973-655-6961
University Hall 3228
shinm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; BA, Fairleigh Dickinson University
Research/Interests: Young children's social and emotional development, teacher's role in young children's development, teacher training and professionalism, parent involvement

 

Tamara Spencer headshot

Tamara Spencer
973-655-4255
University Hall 3173 
spencert@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, University of Pennsylvania; BA, Colorado College
Research/Interests: Early childhood literacy, urban education, literacy curriculum, diverse school settings

 

Sarah Wasserman
973-655-5407
University Hall 3226 
wassermans@mail.montclair.edu

Education: MS, Bank Street College of Education; BA, Jewish Theological Seminary; BA, Columbia University
Research/Interests: Preparing teachers to teach students with disabilities in psychology, early childhood education, post-secondary education, and special education

 

Eric J. Weiner
973-655-5177
University Hall 3222
weinerer@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, Pennsylvania State University; MA, University of Massachusetts; BA, University of Massachusetts
Research/Interests: Critical literacy, cultural studies, critical pedagogy, social theory

 

Linda L. Wise
973-655-4436
University Hall 3231 
wisel@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: EdD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MS, Ed, Lehman College, CUNY; BA, Syracuse University
Research/Interests: Social context issues in literacy development, teacher education

 

Susan Wray
973-655-6902
University Hall 3177 
wrays@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin; MS, University of Wisconsin; BS, Northern Arizona University
Research/Interests: Teacher learning communities, teacher learning and professional development, social justice education, constructivist teaching and learning practices, teaching portfolios

 

Specialists

Sara Jill Wasserman
Instructional Specialist
973-655-4469
University Hall 3226 
wassermans@mail.montclair.edu

Education: PhD, Montclair State University; MSEd, Bank Street College of Education; BA, Columbia University/Jewish Theological Seminary

Adjunct Faculty

Name Courses Email
Maria Aielo ECEL maiello@montville.net
Gail Ahnemann ECEL ahnemann@verizon.net
Janet Armstrong ECEL rockserene@aol.com
Grace Bourbon ECEL bourbong@mail.montclair.edu
Joanne Cooney ECEL cooneyj@mail.montclair.edu
Rosemary Clerico ECEL rclerico@nutleyschools.org
Lynn DiMatteo ECEL DiMatteo.Lynn@cedargrove.k12.nj.us
Carla Engstrom READ engstromc@mail.montclair.edu
Rosa Espinal-Perez ECEL espinalperezr@mail.montclair.edu
Nicole Fiore-Levy ECEL nlevy@unigene.com
Kelli A. Fitzgibbons ECEL fitzgibbonsk@mail.montclair.edu
Heather Frank ECEL frankh@mail.montclair.edu
Sigrid Frawley ECEL sfrawley@tenafly.k12.nj.us
Kristin Freeh ECEL freehk@mail.montclair.edu
Michele Granger ECEL grangerm@mail.montclair.edu
Laurence Greenberg ECEL laurencedgreenberg@yahoo.com
Lynn Harvey ECEL harveyl@mail.montclair.edu
Kevin Heller ECEL khellr@newarkmuseum.org
Gwen Jackson ECEL Jgjacson_5@msn.com
Jeffrey Keith ECEL gpa88@comcast.net
Naomi Kirkman ECEL kirkmann@mail.montclair.edu
Jay Klausner ECEL klausnerj@mail.montclair.edu
Priva Lalvani ECEL lalvanip@mail.montclair.edu
Anthony Lanzo READ alanzo@veronaschools.org
Susan Latino ECEL latinos@mail.montclair.edu
Carol Lewis ECEL lewisc@mail.montclair.edu
Theresa Mangravite ECEL mangravitet@mail.montclair.edu
Jeffrey Monacelli ECEL Jmonacelli@comcast.net
Kenneth J. Monaco ECEL kjmonaco@opnonline.net
Susan Monfet ECEL susanmnft@yahoo.com
Melissa Montanez ECEL mmontanez@woboe.org
Leslie Mozulay ECEL llmoz55@aol.com
Lorraine O'Neill-Nardi ECEL flnardi@aol.com
Cherylyn Paredes ECEL paredesc@mail.montclair.edu
Arleen Perkins ECEL paredesc@mail.montclair.edu
Beverly Plein ECEL bplein@bellatlantic.net
Robert Price ECEL price@nvnet.org
Wayne Rush MEDI rushw@mail.montclair.edu
Carol Sadler READ csadler@woboe.org
Sonia Santos ECEL sonia@thelearningnook.net
Marilyn Shapiro ECEL shapirom@mail.montclair.edu
Courtney St. Prix ECEL stprixc@mail.montclair.edu
Kimberly Smith ECEL smithk@mail.montclair.edu