Student Advisement

Prior to the start of your studies, students will be assigned to an advisor who will guide you in your academic programming and mentor you throughout your program. Students can check NEST for their faculty and staff advisor assignment. Students meet with their advisor prior to registration every semester in order to ensure appropriate enrollment in courses leading to timely program completion.

Undergraduate Students:

Students will receive advisement on graduation requirements through their major and the Student Success Center. Upon acceptance to the teacher education program, students will be assigned an additional advisor to support progression through teacher certification requirements.

Questions regarding their certification should be addressed toTEAdvisement@montclair.edu or 973-655-7976.

Graduate Students:

Graduate students working towards initial certification either at the Post-Baccalaureate or Masters of Arts in Teaching level will receive their advisement from the Teaching and Learning Department. Students can check NEST for their assigned advisor(s).

Student Advisement Program Advisors:

Masters of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in P-12 and Dual Cert (TSD): English, Art, World Languages, Mathematics, Music, Health and Physical Education, Sciences, Social Studies, TESL, Early Childhood (P-3) and Elementary (K-6)

Jennifer Goeke

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-6943
Email
goekej@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3185
Minsun Shin profile photo

Minsun Shin

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-6961
Email
shinm@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3163
Danne Davis profile photo

Danne Davis

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-5183
Email
davisd@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3163
Samita Mezger profile photo

Samita Mezger

Graduate Program Administrator, Teaching and Learning

Email
mezgers@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3169

Masters of Education in Inclusive Education and Additional Certification in Teacher of Students with Disabilities: P-3 and K-6

Priya Lalvani

Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-5372
Email
lalvanip@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3163

Masters of Education in Inclusive Education and Additional Certification in Teacher of Students with Disabilities: P-12

Talida State profile photo

Talida State

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-6709
Email
statet@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3190

Master of Arts in Reading and Additional Reading Certification

Erik Jacobson profile photo

Erik Jacobson

Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-3471
Email
jacobsone@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3233

Bilingual Bicultural Education Endorsement Program and Teaching English Language Learners (TELL) Minor

Margaret Freedson profile photo

Margaret Freedson

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-5411
Email
freedsonm@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3163