Student Advisement

Prior to the start of your studies, students will be assigned to an advisor who will guide you in your academic programming and mentor you throughout your program. Students can check NEST for their faculty and staff advisor assignment. Students meet with their advisor prior to registration every semester in order to ensure appropriate enrollment in courses leading to timely program completion.

Undergraduate Students:

Undergraduate students will receive advisement from their major department. For example, if a student chooses to major in Sociology and complete the K-6 Teacher Education Sequence, they will receive advisement from a faculty/staff member in the Sociology department.

Questions regarding their certification should be addressed toTEAdvisement@montclair.edu or 973-655-7976.

Graduate Students:

Graduate students working towards initial certification either at the Post-Baccalaureate or Masters of Arts in Teaching level will receive their advisement from the Teaching and Learning Department.

Student Advisement Program Advisors:

Masters of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in Fine Arts, English, World Languages, Mathematics, Music, Health and Physical Education, Science, Social Studies, TESL and Advanced Programs

Rebecca Goldstein

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-5191
Email
goldsteinr@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 2180

Patricia Anne Watson

Department Administrator, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-7360
Email
watsonp@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3163

Masters of Education in Special Education and Additional Certification in Teacher of Students with Disabilities

Priya Lalvani

Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-5372
Email
lalvanip@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3163

Talida State

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-6709
Email
statet@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 2176

Master of Arts in Reading and Additional Reading Certification

Erik Jacobson

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-3471
Email
jacobsone@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3233

Bilingual Bicultural Education Endorsement Program

Margaret Freedson

Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

Phone
973-655-5411
Email
freedsonm@montclair.edu
Location
University Hall, 3163