Faculty & Staff

Vanessa Domine

Chair
 
Vanessa Domine headshot Education — PhD, New York University; MA, BA, San Jose State University
Research/Interests — Educational technology, media literacy, and uses of technology for educational renewal
Office — University Hall 2127
Phone — (973) 655-5187
Emaildominev@mail.montclair.edu

Susan Hagen

Department Administrator
 
No Photo Available

Education — MA, University of Central Florida; BA, West Chester University

Office — University Hall 2125
Phone — (973) 655-6908
Emailhagens@mail.montclair.edu

Maggie Leckey

Program Advisor
 
Maggie Leckey headshot

Education — MA, Fairleigh Dickinson University; BA, Rutgers University

Office — University Hall 2128A
Phone — (973) 655-3295
Emailleckeym@mail.montclair.edu

Deanna Wolowitz

Program Assistant
 
No Photo Available
Office — University Hall 2128
Phone — (973) 655-5187
Emailwolowitzd@mail.montclair.edu

Faculty

Susan Baglieri

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; BA, William Paterson University of NJ
Research/Interests — Teacher preparation, development of inclusive curriculum and practices, under-served communities/urban education
Office — University Hall 2169
Phone — (973) 655-3297
Emailbaglieris@mail.montclair.edu

Zulejika Baharev
 
No Photo Available Education — B.Ed, Peto Andras Teachers Training College & Educational Institute for the Physically Handicapped, Budapest, Hungary; M.Ed., Rutgers University
Research/Interests — Assessment and analysis of students’ academic performance and learning characteristics, and the recommendation of appropriate instructional interventions.
Office — University Hall 2174
Phone — (973) 655-5187
Emailbaharevz@mail.montclair.edu

Jennifer L. Goeke

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, University at Albany; EdM, Rutgers University; BA, New York University
Research/Interests — Teacher education pedagogy, development of special educators; reasoning and instructional thought; conceptions of students with disabilities
Office — University Hall 2119
Phone — (973) 655-6943
Emailgoekej@mail.montclair.edu

Rebecca Goldstein

 
No Photo Available Education — PhD, MS, University of Rochester; BA, Bucknell University
Research/Interests — Urban education, school reform, and teacher identity development in multicultural context and power in education
Office — University Hall 2180
Phone — (973) 655-5191
Emailgoldsteinr@mail.montclair.edu

David Lee Keiser

 
David Lee Keiser headshot Education — PhD, University of California at Berkeley; MA, San Francisco State University; BA, University of Michigan
Research/Interests — Mindfulness and contemplative pedagogy; culturally responsive teaching; school-university partnerships
Office — University Hall 2117
Phone — (973) 655-7199
Emailkeiserd@mail.montclair.edu

Emily J. Klein

 
Emily Klein headshot Education — PhD, New York University; MA, Stanford University; BA, Barnard College
Research/Interests — Professional development, school reform, professional communities of practice
Office — University Hall 2123
Phone — (973) 655-3454
Emailkleine@mail.montclair.edu

Douglas B. Larkin

 
Doug Larkin new

Education — PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison; MS, University of Wisconsin-Madison; BS, Trenton State College, NJ

Office — University Hall 2167
Phone — (973) 655-3124
Emaillarkind@mail.montclair.edu

Fernando Naiditch

 
Fernando Naiditch headshot Education — PhD, New York University; MA, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil; BA, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Research/Interests — Second language acquisition, multicultural/bilingual education, cross-cultural communication, teaching english language learners, interlanguage pragmatics
Office — University Hall 2163
Phone — (973) 655-5477
Emailnaiditchf@mail.montclair.edu

Jennifer Robinson

 
Jennifer Robinson headshot Education — EdD, MA, MEd, Columbia University; BA, Northwestern University
Research/Interests — Strategies for increasing the diversity of the teaching force, pre-service teacher education, school/university partnerships
Office — University Hall 1191
Phone — (973) 655-7691
Emailrobinsonj@mail.montclair.edu

David Schwarzer

 
David Schwarzer headshot Education — PhD, University of Arizona; MA, Tel-Aviv University; BA, Tel-Aviv University
Research/Interests — Emergent literacy development in multilingual settings; Research as a tool for empowerment and innovative methodologies in second/foreign language education
Office — University Hall 2199
Phone — (973) 655-5187
Emailschwarzerd@mail.montclair.edu

Talida State

 
Talia State Faculty Profile Picture Education — PhD, Lehigh University; MEd, Lehigh University; BS, Babes-Bolyai University
Research/Interests — High school students at-risk for school failure, improving the outcomes of students with social, emotional, and behavioral needs
Office — University Hall 2176
Phone — (973) 655-6709
Emailstatet@mail.montclair.edu

Monica Taylor

 
Monica Taylor headshot Education — PhD, University of Arizona; MS, City College of New York; BA, University of Pennsylvania
Research/Interests — Self-study, action research and co/auotethnography, inquiry and teaching for social justice, adolescent language, literacy, and culture, teacher leadership
Office — University Hall 2142
Phone — (973) 655-6952
Emailtaylorm@mail.montclair.edu

Nancy Rennau Tumposky

 
Nancy Tumposky headshot Education — EdD, MEd, SUNY at Albany; BA, Manhattanville College
Research/Interests — Second language learning and teaching, and teaching for critical thinking
Office — University Hall 2144
Phone — (973) 655-7127
Emailtumposkyn@mail.montclair.edu

Ana Maria Villegas

 
Ana Maria Villegas headshot Education — PhD, New York University; MS, Hunter College, CUNY; BA, St. Peter's College
Research/Interests — Preparing culturally responsive teachers, teacher education policy, teacher diversity
Office — University Hall 2116
Phone — (973) 655-7937
Emailvillegasa@mail.montclair.edu

Vincent J. Walencik

 
No Photo Available Education — EdD, Rutgers, The State University; MA, BS, Montclair State College
Research/Interests — Distance learning; children engineering, critical thinking/problem solving, technology education, changing teacher/student behavior, and preparing the workforce for the 21st century
Office — University Hall 2172
Phone — (973) 655-5174
Emailwalencikv@mail.montclair.edu

Richard Wolfson

 
Richard Wolfson headshot Education — PhD, MA, The Ohio State University; BS, The City College of New York
Research/Interests — Emerging trends in educational technology, and university governance
Office — University Hall 2165
Phone — (973) 655-7126
Emailwolfsonr@mail.montclair.edu

Mayida Zaal

 
Mayida Zaal headshot Education — PhD Graduate Center, City University of New York; MSEd Bank Street College Graduate School of Education; BA Rutgers University
Research/Interests — Education of immigrant youth, preparation of teachers working in diverse settings, youth participatory action research, and issues of social justice and equity in education
Office — University Hall 2146
Phone — (973) 655-7683
Emailzaalm@mail.montclair.edu