Faculty & Staff

Department Chair

Jeremy N. Price
973-655-7039
University Hall 2193 
pricej@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: Ph.D., Michigan State University; H.D.E. (Sec)., H.DJourn., B.Comm., Rhodes University, South Africa
Research/Interests: Teacher education for social justice; action research, youth identities and schooling, transformative pedagogies, educational policy and teaching

 Staff

Susan Hagen
Department Administrator
973-655-6908
University Hall 2125
hagens@mail.montclair.edu

 

Maggie Leckey headshot

Maggie Leckey
Program Advisor
973-655-3295
University Hall 2128A 
leckeym@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: MA, Fairleigh Dickinson University; BA, Rutgers University

 

Deanna Wolowitz
Program Assistant
973-655-5187
University Hall 2128 
wolowitzd@mail.montclair.edu

 

Faculty

Susan Baglieri
973-655-3297
University Hall 2169 
baglieris@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: PhD, Teachers College, Columbia University; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; BA, William Paterson University of NJ
Research/Interests: Teacher preparation, development of inclusive curriculum and practices, under-served communities/urban education

 

Vanessa Domine headshot

Vanessa Domine
973-655-5187
University Hall 2127 
dominev@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, New York University; MA, BA, San Jose State University
Research/Interests: Educational technology, media literacy, and uses of technology for educational renewal

 

Jennifer L. Goeke
973-655-6943
University Hall 2119 
goekej@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University at Albany; EdM, Rutgers University; BA, New York University
Research/Interests: Teacher education pedagogy, development of special educators; reasoning and instructional thought; conceptions of students with disabilities

 

Rebecca Goldstein
973-655-5191
University Hall 2180 
goldsteinr@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, MS, University of Rochester; BA, Bucknell University
Research/Interests: Urban education, school reform, and teacher identity development in multicultural context and power in education

 

David Lee Keiser
973-655-7199
University Hall 2117 
keiserd@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of California at Berkeley; MA, San Francisco State University; BA, University of Michigan
Research/Interests: Mindfulness and contemplative pedagogy; culturally responsive teaching; school-university partnerships

 

Emily J. Klein
973-655-3454
University Hall 2123 
kleine@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, New York University; MA, Stanford University; BA, Barnard College
Research/Interests: Professional development, school reform, professional communities of practice

 

Douglas Larkin headshot

Douglas B. Larkin
973-655-3124
University Hall 2167 
larkind@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison; MS, University of Wisconsin-Madison; BS, Trenton State College, NJ

 

Fernando Naiditch headshot

Fernando Naiditch
973-655-5477
University Hall 2163
naiditchf@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, New York University; MA, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil; BA, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Research/Interests: Second language acquisition, multicultural/bilingual education, cross-cultural communication, teaching english language learners, interlanguage pragmatics

 

Francine Peterman
973-655-5342
University Hall 2114
petermanf@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: Ph.D., University of Arizona; M.S., Nova University; B.Ed, University of Miami
Research/Interests: Urban teacher preparation and assessment, social justice, education standards, and creativity

 

Jennifer Robinson
973-655-7691
University Hall 1191 
robinsonj@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, MA, MEd, Columbia University; BA, Northwestern University
Research/Interests: Strategies for increasing the diversity of the teaching force, pre-service teacher education, school/university partnerships

 

David Schwarzer
973-655-5187
University Hall 2199 
schwarzerd@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Arizona; MA, Tel-Aviv University; BA, Tel-Aviv University
Research/Interests: Emergent literacy development in multilingual settings; Research as a tool for empowerment and innovative methodologies in second/foreign language education

 

Talida State
973-655-6709
University Hall 2176
statet@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: PhD, Lehigh University; MEd, Lehigh University; BS, Babes-Bolyai University
Research/Interests: High school students at-risk for school failure, improving the outcomes of students with social, emotional, and behavioral needs

 

Monica Taylor headshot

Monica Taylor
973-655-6952
University Hall 2142 
taylorm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, University of Arizona; MS, City College of New York; BA, University of Pennsylvania
Research/Interests: Self-study, action research and co/auotethnography, inquiry and teaching for social justice, adolescent language, literacy, and culture, teacher leadership

 

Nancy Tumposky headshot

Nancy Rennau Tumposky
973-655-7127
University Hall 2144 
tumposkyn@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, MEd, SUNY at Albany; BA, Manhattanville College
Research/Interests: Second language learning and teaching, and teaching for critical thinking

 

Ana Maria Villegas headshot

Ana Maria Villegas
973-655-7937
University Hall 2116 
villegasa@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, New York University; MS, Hunter College, CUNY; BA, St. Peter's College
Research/Interests: Preparing culturally responsive teachers, teacher education policy, teacher diversity

 

Vincent J. Walencik
973-655-5174
University Hall 2172
walencikv@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: EdD, Rutgers, The State University; MA, BS, Montclair State College
Research/Interests: Distance learning; children engineering, critical thinking/problem solving, technology education, changing teacher/student behavior, and preparing the workforce for the 21st century

 

Richard Wolfson
973-655-7126
University Hall 2165
wolfsonr@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD, MA, The Ohio State University; BS, The City College of New York
Research/Interests: Emerging trends in educational technology, and university governance

 

Mayida Zaal headshot

Mayida Zaal
973-655-7683
University Hall 2146
zaalm@mail.montclair.edu
Profile Page

  Education: PhD Graduate Center, City University of New York; MSEd Bank Street College Graduate School of Education; BA Rutgers University
Research/Interests: Education of immigrant youth, preparation of teachers working in diverse settings, youth participatory action research, and issues of social justice and equity in education

 

Specialists

Zulejka Baharev
973-655-5187
University Hall 2174 
baharevz@mail.montclair.edu

  Education: MEd, Rutgers University