Two students studying together.

Workshops

The Center for Academic Success & Tutoring offers workshops on topics related to academic success. All students are encouraged to attend. Workshops are offered both in person and virtually throughout the fall and spring semesters.

If you are an instructor or campus partner looking to have CAST staff present to your students, please complete this google form.

Fall 2022 Workshop Schedule

Virtual meetings can be joined by clicking on the Workshop Title link.  In-person locations are listed under the location column.  Still have questions? Contact us at cast@montclair.edu. We’re happy to help!

September
Date Day Time Workshop Title
(click title for virtual meeting link)
Presenter Location
9/6/22 Tuesday 9:00 AM Focusing on Your Goals
Students learn the importance of setting goals
Zach Cole 340
9/7/22 Wednesday 12:00 PM Being an Organized Student
Students learn the importance of organization and how to be more organized in their academic life
Jason Cole 340
9/9/22 Friday 2:00 PM Creating Healthy Study Habits
Students identify the keys to studying better
Olivia Cole 340
9/12/22 Monday 5:00 PM Falling in Love With Your Major
Students identify the reasons they chose their major and learn the importance of loving what you do
Olivia Cole 340
9/13/22 Tuesday 2:00 PM Library 101 Catherine Baird
9/14/22 Wednesday 11:00 AM Maintaining a Healthy College Lifestyle
Student learn the value of good physical and mental health while in college.
Jahniya Cole 340
9/16/22 Friday 1:00 PM How Can My Advisor Help Me?
Learn how to find out who your advisor is, where you can schedule meetings and how to utilize their skills.
Jason Cole 340
9/19/22 Monday 10:00 AM Patterns of Academic Success
Learn the secrets to getting good grades and not stressing yourself out at finals.
Jason Cole 340
9/20/22 Tuesday 12:00 PM Why Get Involved in Clubs and Organizations?
Students learn the importance of being engaging with the campus community.
CSI/Alessandra Cole 340
9/21/22 Wednesday 12:00 PM Library 101 Erika Dragonetti Sprague Library 203
9/22/22 Thursday 6:00 PM Student Etiquette: Engaging with Faculty
Students learn the best form of communication when addressing faculty.
Jordan Cole 340
9/27/22 Tuesday 9:00 AM The Benefits of Tutoring
Students learn the value of utilizing the tutoring center.
Kobe
9/28/22 Wednesday 11:00 AM Time Management Tips
Students learn how to effectively utiize their time when it comes to academics
Jahniya Cole 340
9/29/22 Thursday 1:00 PM A Guide to Memorization
Students learn strategies to memorize more effectively and practice these skills with an activity.
Olivia Cole 340
October
Date Day Time Workshop Title
(click title for virtual meeting link)
Presenter Location
10/3/22 Monday 6:00 PM Avoiding Distractions
Students will understand where distractions are and how to break away and focus when needed.
Olivia Cole 340
10/6/22 Thursday 4:00 PM Telecommunication: How to Successfully Communicate Online
Students learn the best form of communication in a virtual environment.
Jahniya Cole 340
10/6/22 Thursday 11:00 AM Library 101 Justin Savage Sprague Library 110
10/7/22 Friday 10:00 AM Overcoming Adversity and Becoming More Confident in Yourself
Students learn to stay positive and take steps to succeed even when difficulties occur.
Jason
10/10/22 Monday 4:00 PM Why Get Involved in Clubs and Organizations? CSI/Olivia Cole 340
10/11/22 Tuesday 9:00 AM General Test Taking Strategies
Student learn how to prepare for an upcoming exam.
Zach Cole 340
10/12/22 Wednesday 3:00 PM De-Stress Techniques
Students learn to keep calm and avoid stress.
CAPS/Jason
10/13/22 Thursday 11:00 AM Understanding Testing Anxiety
Students learn what constitutes testing anxiety and how to overcome it.
Olivia Cole 340
10/14/22 Friday 10:00 AM Library 101 Drew Wallace
10/17/22 Monday 3:00 PM Improving Your Study Skills Olivia Cole 340
10/19/22 Wednesday 12:00 PM Why Participation Matters Jahniya
10/21/22 Friday 2:00 PM Note Taking for College Students Olivia Cole 340
10/25/22 Tuesday 5:00 PM How to Work in Groups Jason Cole 340
10/27/22 Thursday 9:00 AM How Can My Advisor Help Me?
Learn how to find out who your advisor is, where you can schedule meetings and how to utilize their skills.
Zach Cole 340
10/28/22 Friday 11:00 AM Creating Healthy Study Habits
Students identify the keys to studying better.
Jason
10/31/22 Monday 1:00 PM Focusing on Your Goals
Students learn the importance of setting goals.
Jason
November
Date Day Time Workshop Title
(click title for virtual meeting link)
Presenter Location
11/2/22 Wednesday 4:00 PM The Benefits of Tutoring
Students learn the value of utilizing the tutoring center.
Jason Cole 340
11/3/22 Thursday 10:00 AM Patterns of Academic Success
Learn the secrets to getting good grades and not stressing yourself out at finals.
Alessandra Cole 340
11/7/22 Monday 12:00 PM Maintaining a Healthy College Lifestyle
Student learn the value of good physical and mental health while in college.
Jason Cole 340
11/9/22 Wednesday 9:00 AM Why Get Involved in Clubs and Organizations?
Students learn the importance of being engaging with the campus community.
CSI/Zach Cole 340
11/10/22 Thursday 11:00 AM Falling in Love with Your Major
Students identify the reasons they chose their major and learn the importance of loving what you do.
Alessandra Cole 340
11/15/22 Tuesday 10:00 AM Being an Organized Student
Students learn the importance of organization and how to be more organized in their academic life.
Olivia
11/17/22 Thursday 12:00 PM Student Etiquette: Engaging with Faculty
Students learn the best form of communication when addressing faculty.
Alessandra Cole 340
11/18/22 Friday 1:00 PM Telecommunication: How to Successfully Communicate Online
Students learn the best form of communication in a virtual environment.
Jason Cole 340
11/21/22 Monday 9:00 AM Overcoming Adversity and Becoming More Confident in Yourself
Students learn to stay positive and take steps to succeed even when difficulties occur.
Zach
11/22/22 Tuesday 11:00 AM Time Management Tips
Students learn how to effectively utilize their time when it comes to academics.
Olivia Cole 340
11/30/22 Wednesday 1:00 PM General Test Taking Strategies
Student learn how to prepare for an upcoming exam.
Jason Cole 340
December
Date Day Time Workshop Title
(click title for virtual meeting link)
Presenter Location
12/1/22 Thursday 11:30 AM De-Stress Techniques
Students learn to keep calm and avoid stress.
CAPS/Alessandra Cole 340
12/2/22 Friday 10:00 AM Improving Your Study Skills Jason
12/5/22 Monday 12:00 PM Best Ways to Finish Out the Semester Jordan Cole 340
12/6/22 Tuesday 3:00 PM Fall-ing Into Good Habits Maritza Lazo/Olivia
12/6/22 Tuesday 4:00 PM Why Get Involved in Clubs and Organizations? CSI/Jason
12/7/22 Wednesday 3:00 PM Understanding Testing Anxiety
Students learn what constitutes testing anxiety and how to overcome it.
Jason
12/8/22 Thursday 11:00 AM A Guide to Memorization Olivia Cole 340
12/13/22 Tuesday 6:00 PM Avoiding Distractions Jason Cole 340
12/15/22 Thursday 9:00 AM Self-Reflection: What Did You Learn This Semester? Zach Cole 340
12/16/22 Friday 1:00 PM Next Steps After the Semester Olivia Cole 340