Illustration of tablet, laptop, and mobile devices.

Change Create Transform honors Montclair State

Posted in: Events, Uncategorized

Young woman at front of room with microphone.
Olivia Hettman speaks at the annual summit.

The Change Create Transform Foundation honored Montclair State and its Feliciano Center for Entrepreneurship during an annual summit in July 2018. The award for “highest honors for excellence in education” recognized the university’s partnership with Change Create Transform. Montclair State is one of several universities in the U.S. that has been selected to award the Promise Prize award each year.

Glass award
The award.

Vikki Pryor, the founder of Change Create Transform, presented the award to Dennis Bone, founding director of the Feliciano Center. Bone was the keynote speaker at the annual summit, and spoke about his journey from humble roots in West Virginia to highly respected business leader in New Jersey.

Bone speaks to the crowd.
Bone speaks to the crowd.

Montclair State attendees at the summit included the university’s Promise Prize winners: Olivia Hettman (2018), Kishawn Jean-Pierre (2017), Dana LaCondre-Nugent (2015) and Alanda Alexandre (2014). Stanley Fils is the 2016 winner. Also present at the summit were faculty advisor Agatha Jeffers and Feliciano Center program manager Sharon Waters.

Entrepreneurship students with Dennis Bone and Sharon Waters
From left: Bone, LaCondre-Nugent, Hettman, Jean-Pierre, Alexandre, Jeffers and Waters.

The foundation, and Promise Prize award, was created by Vikki Pryor to honor her grandmother Marie Nesbitt, who was a great-granddaughter of slaves and held jobs ranging from domestic worker to welder.