Animation / Illustration

Department of Art and Design Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty | Part-time/Adjuncts/Visiting Specialists


Full Time Faculty


  Lauren Carr, MFA
Assistant Professor
Courses Taught: Animation/Illustration
973-655-7281
carrl@mail.montclair.edu

Lauren Carr joins the Department of Art and Design as an Assistant Professor in the Animation/Illustration program. She has worked professionally for Disney Feature Animation, Cinesite, Sony Pictures Imageworks, and Dreamworks Animation. Some of her film projects include Tangled, Meet the Robinsons, Chicken Little, X-Men United, Rio, and Ice Age 4. Prof. Carr was the character simulation technical director at Blue Sky Studios and, prior to coming to Montclair State University, had taught for the School of Visual Arts in the Department of Computer Art, Computer Animation & Visual Effects. 


Scott Gordley

Scott Gordley, MFA
Associate Professor
Program Director: BFA in Animation/Illustration
Courses Taught: Final Project I and II
973-655-7295
gordleys@mail.montclair.edu

Scott Gordley graduated with an MFA from Tufts University. He is currently chair of the Department of Art and Design at Montclair State University. He began his career in New York illustrating for clients including Time, Esquire, Reader’s Digest, Newsday and the London Times. His work appears in many public and private collections and has been exhibited in solo and group shows throughout the United States and Europe. Gordley had two exhibitions open in New York City in the summer of 2004 and was recently honored by inclusion in both The Society of Illustrators’ 48th Annual American Illustration Exhibition and in the American Illustration anthology: Best Of American Illustration. In addition to his art, Gordley is a jazz saxophonist, having appeared on numerous recordings with national jazz and blues artists including Little Anthony, Johnny MacLeod and the Gamma Rays. Gordley’s exhibition at the famed Apollo Theatre in New York City in the summer of 2008 was a tribute to the history of jazz. He presented his lecture, The World Family, at the American University in Paris in the summer of 2007, lectured at the International Conference on the Humanities at Fatih University in Istanbul, Turkey, in July of 2008, the Arts In Society Conference, Venice, Italy, and the International Conference on Learning, Barcelona, Spain, in 2009, and the sixth International Conference on Education, Samos, Greece, 2010.

| Back to top |


Part-time/Adjuncts/Visiting Specialists

Christopher Gash, BFA
Visiting Specialist
Animation/Illustration
973-655-7295
gashc@mail.montclair.edu

Ashley Gerst, MFA
Adjunct Instructor
Animation/Illustration
973-655-7295
gersta@mail.montclair.edu

Daniel Hertzberg, BFA
Adjunct Instructor
Animation/Illustration
973-655-7295
hertzbergd@mail.montclair.edu

Lynne Foster, MFA
Adjunct Instructor
Animation/Illustration
973-655-7295
fosterb@mail.montclair.edu

Wobbe Koning, MFA
Assistant Professor (Half-time)
Animation/Illustration
973-655-4140
koningw@mail.montclair.edu

Edward Murr, MA
Adjunct Instructor
Animation/Illustration
973-655-7295
murre@mail.montclair.edu

Jon Weiman, BFA
Adjunct Instructor
Animation/Illustration
973-655-7295
weimanj@mail.montclair.edu

Christopher Weyant, BA
Adjunct Instructor
Animation/Illustration
973-655-7295
weyantc@mail.montclair.edu

Back to top |