Photo of University Hall
Office of Sponsored Programs

2nd Annual Grant Recognition Reception Celebrates University Faculty and Staff

Posted in: Grant Recognition Reception, OSP Announcements

On Tuesday, April 15, 2014, the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP) and University Advancement jointly hosted the 2nd Annual Grant Recognition Reception in the Sprague Library, in recognition of University faculty and staff who pursue external sponsorship in support of their research, scholarly, and service activities. The event was well attended by faculty and staff from across the university.
In addition, a number of faculty and staff were recognized for their outstanding achievements in calendar year 2013. In their opening remarks, Willard Gingerich, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and Vice President for University Advancement, Jack Shannon recognized all University faculty and staff for their dedication and commitment to research, scholarship and service in 2013 and their efforts in pursuing external sponsorship. After these opening remarks, individual recognition awards were presented to several distinguished faculty and staff.
2nd Annual Grant Recognition Reception Booklet (PDF)

Grant Recognition Awards

Gerard Costa (Director, Center for Autism and Early Childhood Mental Health, CEHS) received the Provost’s Grant Recognition award for “Sustained External Sponsorship in Support of Research, Scholarship and Service Activities” at Montclair State University.  Since 2012, Dr. Costa has received over $2.2M from the New Jersey Governor’s Council for Medical Research and Treatment of Autism, in carrying out the Center’s state designated New Jersey Autism Center of Excellence (ACE) Coordinating Center, overseeing several clinical research sites in the state of New Jersey.  In addition, in 2013, Dr. Costa and CAECMH also received Year 1 funding of $360,000 from the New Jersey Department of Children and Families for a two-year project entitled “Promoting Early Childhood Mental Health in Counties Affected by Superstorm Sandy.”
Gerard Costa receiving award

On behalf of the late Dr. Robert McCormick (Robert D. McCormick Center for Child Advocacy, CHSS), Hunter Jones (Library Public Services, Harry A. Sprague Library) accepted a Special Grant Recognition for “Sustained External Sponsorship in Support of Research, Scholarship and Service Activities” at Montclair State University. Since 2003, Dr. McCormick and the Center have received over $11.3M from several state and local agencies and entities.  Joining Provost Gingerich and Vice-President Shannon is Associate Dean of CHSS, Luis Montesinos.
Hunter Jones accepting award

Sandra Adams (Biology and Molecular Biology, CSAM) and Douglas Larkin (Secondary and Special Education, CEHS) were recognized for their $1.44M project “Montclair State University Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program,” awarded by the National Science Foundation. They were joined by Dean Robert Prezant (CSAM) and Associate Dean Tamara Lucas (CEHS).
Sandra Adams and Douglas Larkin accepting award

Anna Feldman (Linguistics, CHSS) and Jing Peng (not pictured, Computer Science, CSAM) were recognized for their $177,000 National Science Foundation award “Research at Undergraduate Institutions: Automatic Idiom Recognition.” They were accompanied by Dean Robert Prezant (CSAM) and Associate Dean Luis Montesinos.
Anna Feldman receiving award

Jennifer Robison (not pictured, Center of Pedagogy, CEHS) was recognized for her project “Teacher Quality Partnership Grant Competition. Year 5 funding of $860,289 was awarded by the U.S. Department of Education. The award was accepted on behalf of Dr. Robinson by Joanne Matkowski, Assistant Director of Grants Administration and Special Projects, Center of Pedagogy (CEHS), and was joined by Associate Dean Tamara Lucas (CEHS).
Joanne Matkowski accepting award

Jedediah Wheeler (Executive Director, Arts and Cultural Programming, CART) was recognized for his $450,000 project “Dance for Film on Location at Montclair State University,” awarded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Dean Daniel Gurskis (CART) was on-hand to celebrate this achievement.
Jedediah Wheeler receiving award

Bryan Murdock (Director, Service-Learning and Community Engagement, Academic Affairs) was recognized for a $260,347 award entitled “EECO AmeriCorps Program,” awarded by the Corporation for National and Community Service.
Bryan Murdock receiving award