Photo of University Hall
Office of Sponsored Programs

3rd Annual Grant Recognition Reception

Posted in: Grant Recognition Reception, OSP Announcements

On April 14, the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP) and University Advancement jointly hosted ƒ

Montclair State University’s Third Annual Grant Recognition Reception. Nearly one hundred University faculty and staff were in attendance, joined by the Deans of each College, Provost Willard Gingerich, and Vice President for University Advancement Jack Shannon. The event spotlighted the efforts of Montclair State’s faculty and staff in securing external sponsorship for their research and other service and scholarly programs in 2014.

The event, jointly organized by ORSP and University Advancement and in its third year, was held in the Periodicals Reading Room of the Harry A. Sprague Library. Representatives from across the University were on-hand to recognize a strong year of grants and gifts: over 95 awards were received, totaling more than $9.7 million.

Grant Recognition Awards

The Provost’s 2015 Grant Recognition Award went to Bryan Murdock, Director of the Center for Community Engagement, in recognition of his success in securing nearly $1.7 million in ongoing funding since 2012, including a recent $2.5 million, five-year U.S. Department of Education award. The Provost also commended Bryan for his efforts in leading Montclair State University’s application and selection as a Community Engaged Campus by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. He was joined by CCE staff and Dr. Frederick Bonato, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs.
Bryan Murdock receiving award

‌Dennis Bone (Director, Mimi & Edwin Feliciano Center for Entrepreneurship) received recognition for the project “Pitch Competition,” which was awarded $120,000 by the TeleBrands Corporation. He was joined by Kimberly Hollister, Acting Dean of the School of Business.
Dennis Bone receiving award

Julian Brash (Anthropology, CHSS) was recognized for “Research at Undergraduate Institutions: The High Line: Public Space in the Contemporary City,” which has been funded by the National Science Foundation for two years for a total of $250,000. He was joined by Luis Montesinos, Acting Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Julian Brash recieving award

‌Jason Dickinson (Director, Robert D. McCormick Center for Child Advocacy and Policy) was recognized for a $700,000 subaward from Rutgers University in support of the “NJ Child Welfare Training Partnership 2014-2015,” sponsored by the NJ Department of Children and Families. Dr. Dickinson accepted his award along with staff members Gloria Rodriguez and Adrienne Millican. They were joined by Luis Montesinos, Acting Dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Jason Dickinson receiving award

Deborah Galant and Ju-Don Marshall Roberts (School of Communication and Media, CART) received recognition for their $125,000 award from the Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation, Inc., in support of the “New Jersey Commons 2014.” Their award was accepted on their behalf by Joe Amditis, Coordinator of the Center for Cooperative Media.
Deborah Galant and Ju-Don Marshall Roberts receiving award

Jennifer Robinson (Director, Center of Pedagogy) and Susan Wrey (Early Childhood, Elementary Education, and Literacy Education, CEHS) were recognized for “Newark Montclair Urban Teacher Residency,” which was awarded $937,381 by the U.S. Department of Education, and is expected to total $6.2 million over the next five years. They are joined by Tamara Lucas, Acting Dean of the College of Education and Human Services.
Jennifer Robinson and Susan Wrey receieving awards

David Rotella and John Siekierka (Chemistry & Biochemistry, CSAM) were recognized for “Development of Medical Countermeasures for Botulinum Neurotoxin Intoxication Focused on Therapeutics and Neuroregenerative Medicines,” which was awarded Year 1 funding of $423,000 of a five-year, $2.5 million contract from the U.S. Defense Threat Reduction Agency. Robert Prezant, Dean of the College of Science and Mathematics, accepted Dr. Rotella’s award on his behalf.
David Rotella and John Siekierka receiving an award