Photo of University Hall
Office of Sponsored Programs

Celebrating Research, Scholarship and Service at the Annual Grant Recognition Reception

Posted in: Grant Recognition Reception, OSP Announcements

The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs and University Advancement jointly hosted the Fifth Annual Grant Recognition Reception on April 24, 2017. Over one hundred faculty and staff were in attendance at the Conference Center in University Hall to honor those who secured external sponsorship for their research and other service and scholarly programs in 2016.
Joined by CSAM Dean Robert Prezant, CEHS Dean Tamara Lucas, CHSS Dean Robert Friedman, Provost Willard Gingerich, Associate Provost Frederick Bonato, Vice President for University Advancement Jack Shannon, and ORSP Director Ted Russo, the event celebrated an impressive year of grants and gifts that totaled over $11.6 million, representing an 8.4 percent increase over 2015’s total. This significant achievement was just one of the year’s outstanding accomplishments, which also included a Research Doctoral University 3 designation from the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education and Dr. Pankaj Lal of Earth and Environmental Studies being named a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)–the most prestigious U.S. government prize for young scientists.
More than seventy awardees from across the colleges, centers, and department of the University were called to the stage to receive certificates of recognition and the congratulations of Provost Gingerich, Associate Provost Bonato, and Vice President Shannon.
5th Annual Grant Recognition Reception Booklet (PDF)

College of Science and Mathematics

CSAM recipients

College of Education and Human Services

CEHS Recipients

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

CHSS Recipients

College of the Arts

CART Recipients

Center for Community Engagement

CCE Recipients

Research Academy for University Learning

RAUL Recipients

Health Promotion

Health Promotion Recipients

Provost Gingerich provided special recognition to two faculty members this year, honoring their singular efforts in maintaining consecutive funding. Dr. Stefanie Brachfeld of Earth and Environmental Studies was recognized for her fourteen years of uninterrupted funding from organizations including the National Science Foundation and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration for a total of more than $2.5 million.
Stefanie Brachfeld receiving award

The Provost Award was also given to Dr. Jennifer Robinson of the Center of Pedagogy for her fifteen years of continuous funding. To date, Dr. Robinson has received almost $15 million in awards from US Department of Education, the New Jersey Department of Education, the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education, and the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development.
Joanne Matkowski accepting award

Photos: Mike Peters