exterior of Dickson Hall
News and Announcements

Sal M. Anderton ’95

Political Science, Philosophy

Posted in: Alumni Stories

Sal M. Anderton graduated from Montclair State University in 1995. He was a double major in Political Science and Philosophy and graduated from the University’s Honors Program. While at Montclair, Sal was elected as the Student Representative to the Board of Trustees and also served as SGA President from 1994-1995. He spent one summer abroad at St. Anne’s College, Oxford, England. He received invaluable pre-law advisement and mentoring while at Montclair State. Sal continues his connection with the University as a member of the newly formed Attorney Alumni Network, which works to mentor students and provides a platform for fellow Montclair State graduates who have become attorneys to network.

Following Montclair, Sal attended Seton Hall University School of Law where he graduated with a Juris Doctor degree in 1998.  While at Seton Hall Law he served as Student Bar Association Treasurer and as a Property Law tutor for first year students.  His law journal note entitled “Putting a Premium on Premiums: The High Cost of Auto Insurance and the 1997 Gubernatorial Campaign” was published in the Seton Hall Legislative Law Journal.  As a member of the Legislative Law Journal, he was a legal intern during his third year of law school with the State Senate Minority.  In 1999, he co-authored a law review article “Protecting the Passaic: A Call to Citizen Action” which was published in the Seton Hall Law Review.

Sal has been an attorney in private practice, specializing in personal injury, real estate and labor and employment law.  Additionally, he is a registered government affairs agent and represents various clients – including banking, insurance, health care and other diverse interests – on legislative and regulatory matters of concern before state agencies and the New Jersey State Legislature.

In 2008 Sal was elected to serve on the Township Council in his home town of West Orange.  He served as Township Council President in 2010.