exterior of Dickson Hall
News and Announcements

Christa Akers, PhD Student in Communication Sciences and Disorders, Awarded Saffran Student Scholar Award

Posted in: CHSS News, Communication Sciences Disorders, Homepage News and Events

Photo of Mary Boyle, Christa Akers, Roberta J. Elman
Left to right: Mary Boyle, Christa Akers, Roberta J. Elman

Christa Akers, Ph.D. student in Communication Sciences and Disorders, was awarded a Saffran Student Scholar Award for her poster, Evaluating the Reliability and Sensitivity to Change of Complete Utterances in Structured Discourse, co-authored by Mary Boyle, Ph.D. of Montclair State University and Roberta J. Elman, Ph.D. of the Aphasia Center of California.

The Saffran Student Scholar Award is a competitive award funded by a grant from the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIH-NIDCD). It includes funding for attendance at the annual Eleanor M. Saffran Conference on Cognitive Neuroscience and Rehabilitation of Communication Disorders, dinner with the conference speakers, and lunch with Judith Cooper, Deputy Director of NIDCD and Director of the NIDCD Division of Scientific Programs. The conference was held on September 20 and 21, 2019 in Philadelphia, PA.